Does anyone know how to flash Nokia phones...?

Discussion in 'Off-Topic Forum' started by GigaWatt, Jul 28, 2009.

1. GigaWatt

GigaWatt Now In Color :D

i'm sorry for putting this theread here, but hey, there is no cell phones section here on DH... LOL :D

anyway, i own a Nokia 2310 (Type RM-189) and i have (probably) a firmware problem with the phone. the phone boots up, and get's to the "shaking hands" screen, but then out of nowhere, just restarts and boots up again and again and again till the battery is completely drained.

now, since i thought this is a firmware problem (someone correct me if i'm wrong, this is my first time i've encountered a problem like this), i decided to flash the phone and change it's firmware. i really have no idea what was the verison of the previous firmware, so was googling around and found two different versions on the net, v5.90 and v6.25.

while googling (and encountering other peoples problems with this phone), i found out that this phoe is and "Asic 11" phone (really have no idea what that means, i suspect it has something to do with the chipset or something...). anyway, i thought it was relevant, so why not write it... LOL :D

now, here comes the tricky part, i really have no idea how to connect the phone to a PC... on some places i read that you're supposed to have some sor of a special hardware called "M-Box" (or something like that) to flash it, on other places i read that you're supposed to have an M/F-Bus cable and a serial port (RS-232, which i don't have on my current PC, but not a problem i have a PII and a PIII rig which both have two RS-232 ports :D). on one place i even read that you could do this with a simple data cable, the require drivers for the phone and a combination of softwares (Phoenix 2004, Phoenix 2006, etc, which i really have no idea where to find or what they do).