Doom 3 Benchmarks

Discussion in 'AMD Graphics Cards' started by Chilljf, Aug 2, 2004.

  1. Chilljf

    Chilljf New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    After getting to play the game all weekend, thank u best buy :) I decided to get down to biz & run some benchmarks. Let me start out by saying the game is everything I expected it to be & more. It is def living it to its hype for me & amazed by it scalibilty. It runs great on my system & upgrade is not needed. Here is my work in progress
    My System:
    All Default Voltage
    Mobile 2600 Barton @ 2.2Ghz
    NF7-S 200x11
    Radeon 9800 NP 325/290
    2x512 Hyper-X pc3500 2-2-3-11-1T
    WD Raptor 36g
    Audigy 2
    Windows XP Pro SP2 RC2 (2612)

    To benchmark D3, bring down the console by pressing CTRL + ALT + ~. Then type timedemo demo1.demo You should run the test atleast twice as the second score will be higher since it gets cached in the memory.

    All benchmarks were run with all advanced options checked & vsync checked, AA disabled. Drive CP settings were High Quality for both, Vsync always On, Truform Off. I ran each benchmark 3 times & then would defrag & reboot. Used driver cleaner & ghost image for driver changes. agp is agp latency. I found setting my agp latency to 32 (same as bios pci clks) helped solved some stuttering issues for me with games/movies. It did not affect any synth/game benchmark scores, just solved stuttering problem. I found some very intersting results & have more drivers to test. Here are my results so far:

    1st test.. compare High Detail vs Medium Detail w/ 8pAF
    4.8 Beta
    32 agp 1024x768 No AA/AF High Detail Triple Buff On = 36.1/39.8/39.9
    64 agp 1024x768 No AA/AF High Detail Triple Buff Off = 30.6/32.4/32.4
    128 agp 1024x768 No AA/AF High Detail Triple Buff On = 37.3/39.8/39.9

    32 agp 1024x768 No AA/8pAF Medium Detail Triple Buff Off = 26.6/27.7/27.7
    64 agp 1024x768 No AA/8pAF Medium Detail Triple Buff Off = 27.0/27.7/27.7
    64 agp 1024x768 No AA/8pAF Medium Detail Triple Buff On = 32.1/33.0/33.0

    Very suprised by this test here. I found High Detail to look alot better & scores were higher (5.2 fps :)). I wonder what kind of AF D3 uses on High Detail? You also get better textures on High Detail, so I recommend using High Detail over Medium w/ 8pAF. Test also shows Triple Buffering gave me a 7.4 fps gain on High Detail & a 5.3 gain on Medium w/ 8pAF :). So I will now keep that on for the rest of my benchmarks. I also found when the timedemo runs the 1st time, It slows down very badly & almost pauses on certain spots like when gettings hit with the 1st fireball & switching to your flashlight goin around the corner to kill 2 zombie soldiers. I only have the slowdown with the 1st benchmark for each as I read after 1st benchmark, it becomes cached in the memory. This would explain why 2nd & 3rd benchmark scores are higher. I found as I increased the agp latency, it would help fix the slowdowns in the 1st benchmark & also scored higher. Once it was cached in memory, it didnt affect scores. I will now try raising the agp latency higher & compare more results. (btw.. agp lat default is 255)
    -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    2nd test... Overclock 2.2ghz vs 2.5 ghz
    4,8 Beta

    200x11 1.575v VCore
    32 agp 800x600 No AA/AF High Detail Triple Buff On = 47.4/54.2/54.1
    128 agp 800x600 No AA/AF High Detail Triple Buff On = 49.7/54.2/54.2
    255 agp 800x600 No AA/AF High Detail Triple Buff On = 49.7/54.3/54.1

    32 agp 1024x768 No AA/8pAF Medium Detail Triple Buff Off = 26.6/27.7/27.7
    64 agp 1024x768 No AA/8pAF Medium Detail Triple Buff On = 32.1/33.0/33.0

    200x12.5 1.675v VCore
    32 agp 800x600 No AA/AF High Detail Triple Buff On = 48.4/55.3/55.3
    255 agp 800x600 No AA/AF High Detail Triple Buff On = 51.1/55.3/55.3

    32 agp 1024x768 No AA/8pAF Medium Detail Triple Buff On = 31.7/33.1/33.1
    255 agp 1024x768 No AA/8pAF Medium Detail Triple Buff On = 32.2/33.0/33.0

    I only seem to gain 1fps from 300 mhz oc. I think I will chose to run it @ 2.2ghz as D3 engine is sensitive like nothing we have seen b4. I did not notice any graphical probs @ 2.5 but why even risk for 1fps. I found I could not overclock my vcard at all (white dots & weird textures). I normally run it 380/325 w/ no problems in any other game. Now I really can't wait to get my new card :)
    -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    3rd test.. 4.7 Omega vs 4.8 Beta ( all test are back to 2.2ghz, 200x11 1.575v Vcore)
    4.7 Omega
    32 agp 800x600 No AA/AF High Detail Triple Buff On = 40.1/44.0/44.3
    255 agp 800x600 No AA/AF High Detail Triple Buff On = 37.6/43.4/43.5

    32 agp 1024x768 No AA/AF High Detail Triple Buff On = 28.1/30.1/30.3
    255 agp 1024x768 No AA/AF High Detail Triple Buff On = 27.2/30.0/30.2

    4.8 Beta
    32 agp 800x600 No AA/AF High Detail Triple Buff On = 47.4/54.2/54.1
    255 agp 800x600 No AA/AF High Detail Triple Buff On = 49.7/54.3/54.1

    32 agp 1024x768 No AA/AF High Detail Triple Buff On = 36.1/39.8/39.9
    128 agp 1024x768 No AA/AF High Detail Triple Buff On = 37.3/39.8/39.9

    WOW... I had a 10.2 fps drop at 800x600 & 9.6 fps drop at 1024x768. I did not notice dif in image quality, but did not take screenshots to compare. But nietherless, I will not be using the 4.7 Cats w/ D3. I have always used omega drivers over original catalyst, so I will not be tesing those. I also found that lower agp latency seems to scores higher on 1st benchmark w/4.7. Opposite of the 4.8 Beta.

    I am going to do some more testing with older sets, but I need to get some sleep. I will post some more results later.
     
    Last edited: Aug 2, 2004
  2. Bart1987

    Bart1987 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2003
    Messages:
    634
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Maybe you should turn Vsync off and run the benches again. I think it might affet the results that it somehow ran at 60Hz with medium and 75Hz with high. Maybe you will get different scores then.
     
  3. tek

    tek New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2003
    Messages:
    2,103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hey, I got a question for ya... how do you change your AGP Latency? Cause I'm experiencing a lot of stuttering in a lot of my games.
    Thanks buddy, and sweet benchies.
     
  4. Chilljf

    Chilljf New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My refresh rate is 85hz & Doom 3 is capped at 60 fps. You can uncap by typing r_displayrefresh 85 in console, then vid_restart. I did not want to uncap it because I want it to be accurate to gameplay. I play with Vsync on & Tripple Buffering gives 7fps + gain, so u need Vsync on (also if u use temp aa).

    AGP Latency..
    use wpcredit to change
    BUS#2 DEV#0 FUN#0

    Offset: 0D
    Default data: FF (248clk)

    Change to:
    32clk: 20
    64clk: 40
    128clk: 80
    160clk : A0
    192clk : C0
    224clk : E0
    255clk : FF

    http://www.driverheaven.net/showthread.php?s=&threadid=51186
     
  5. tek

    tek New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2003
    Messages:
    2,103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks brotha you rule
     
  6. Chilljf

    Chilljf New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    np :) anytime....

    Here is 4.6 Omega.. 200x11 2.2Ghz 2-2-3-11-1T
    32 agp 800x600 No AA/AF High Detail Triple Buff On = 44.3/47.6/47.7
    255 agp 800x600 No AA/AF High Detail Triple Buff Off = 36.0/40.1/40.2
    255 agp 800x600 No AA/AF High Detail Triple Buff On = 44.2/47.6/47.7

    32 agp 1024x768 No AA/AF High Detail Triple Buff Off = 29.0/30.6/30.6
    32 agp 1024x768 No AA/AF High Detail Triple Buff On = 34.9/37.1/37.3
    255 agp 1024x768 No AA/AF High Detail Triple Buff On = 33.8/37.2/37.2

    So far 4.8 beta is best driver for me
    4.8 Beta 32 agp 800x600 No AA/AF HighDetail Triple Buff On = 47.4/54.2/54.1
    4.7Omega 32agp 800x600 No AA/AF HighDetail Triple Buff On= 40.1/44.0/44.3
    4.6Omega 32agp 800x600 No AA/AF HighDetail Triple Buff On= 44.3/47.6/47.7

    4.8 Beta 32 agp 1024x768 No AA/AF HighDetail Triple Buff On=36.1/39.8/39.9
    4.7Omega 32 agp 1024x768 No AA/AF HighDetail Triple BuffOn=28.1/30.1/30.3
    4.6Omega 32 agp 1024x768 No AA/AF HighDetail Triple BuffOn=34.9/37.1/37.3

    Again, I am getting a 7.5 fps + gain with Triple Buffering On 800x600.. 6.7 fps+ 1024x768 :)
     
  7. No_Style

    No_Style Styleless Wonder

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2002
    Messages:
    6,027
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    It's so great to hear..

    That they kept the commands consistent with their engines :D
     
  8. Danhill

    Danhill New Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2003
    Messages:
    4,112
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I've buyed the game today (my friend has a game store) and I'm impressed with Doom 3 as well.

    I run the game on High Quality and every slider in the Control Panel is set to best IQ, AA & AF are set to 4 & 8 Application pref.

    After runnig the timedemo 1024x768 I get 40,3 FPS in HQ and 29,6 FPS, thats with default clock on the 9800 pro, so I'm very pleased.
     
  9. MIG-31

    MIG-31 Old time Member.. Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2002
    Messages:
    75,900
    Likes Received:
    2,637
    Trophy Points:
    153
    you're all upsetting me:tears: :tears: i still have to wait till friday for my pre-order to come through.(hopefully)

    its all this talk about doom3!!
     
  10. Danhill

    Danhill New Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2003
    Messages:
    4,112
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well to be honest with you, the game is great it really is, but I'm afraid that it's going to be very linear I think, I haven't played so much though.
     
  11. ViRuS2k

    ViRuS2k Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2003
    Messages:
    8,337
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    48
    hope this game does not screwup and perform crap with my X800 Pro overclocked to 555mhz on core and 555mhz on memory :) i want to play iin 1240x768 with all options on HIGH :)
     
  12. Bart1987

    Bart1987 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2003
    Messages:
    634
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    not ultra ;)
     
  13. petri1

    petri1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    Messages:
    746
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    well tryed that tiedemo thing with medium and high
    with beta 4.8

    and got 58fps with medium 1024x768 is that a good score or ?
     
  14. WisMerHill

    WisMerHill New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2003
    Messages:
    468
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    considering the game is capped at 60fps i would say 58fps is very nice. with so close to the max you'd might consider running a higher resolution or more detail.
    or download FRAPS (1.9 is free) and check if you fps can go beyond the cap, if so you'd be crazy :duh: not to increase the detail or res.

    gl trying .
     
  15. germanjulian

    germanjulian Back in London

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2003
    Messages:
    1,797
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    the agp latency is at 255 default for ATI cards by the way. no point changing it!
     
  16. tornado=[GSW]=

    tornado=[GSW]= Compulsive HW Monger

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2003
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You can surely play at that setting, I am :) but you will have to lower the overclock else its gonna crash like crazy. Doom 3 does nt like overclocking on the x800 nor the 6800 gt got same results when trying at overclocked settings, go back to default clocks and you should be fine, great game btw
     
  17. petri1

    petri1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    Messages:
    746
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    well i did like ya said got the little program fraps here are my results


    Medium, quality 800X600

    Frames, Time (ms), Min, Max, Avg
    2205,37193,30,142,59.285


    High Quality 800X600

    Frames, Time (ms), Min, Max, Avg
    5835,111602,0,130,52.284
    these are Fraps recorded fps of timedemo on DOOM3

    i have no AA or AF enabled if ya want me to i can get you those too

    High Quality 1024x768 no AA no AF

    Frames, Time (ms), Min, Max, Avg
    2438,55158,5,103,44.200

    medium quality 1024x768 no AA no AF

    Frames, Time (ms), Min, Max, Avg
    2479,53028,4,110,46.749

    i may add i ran timdemo without fraps on

    and i got high quality 1024x768 no AA no AF
    52fps

    medium same options

    59fps

    that ain´t half bad for a R9800PRo 128mb :)
     
    Last edited: Aug 3, 2004
  18. germanjulian

    germanjulian Back in London

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2003
    Messages:
    1,797
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    cool 2nd run 40Fps first run 30Fps. at default high detail with 1024 resolution.
     
  19. higgledyhiggles

    higgledyhiggles Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2003
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    freezes like a bugger

    getting freezes every 5/10 mins.
    i`m using omega 4.7. does d3 have a problem with these drivers.
    no other games seem to freeze.
    playing painkiller all day.

    playing high detail on radeon 9700 pro 128mb (is that it ?)
    no tricks other than omega drivers.

    anyone had the same or am i buggered.
    just read that medium setting for 128mb. true or baloney ?

    cheers
    higgles
     
  20. petri1

    petri1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    Messages:
    746
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well i ran som more Tmedemo runs and without any AA or AF (or fraps) catalyst 4.7

    i got at High Quality 800X600 51,7

    i got at med quality 800X600 54.8

    then i cranked it up to 1280x1024 stil no AA AF

    high quality 1280X1024 50.6
    med quality 1280x1024 54.3

    these are to my opinion rather good fps or what would you guys say

    i run it with my Radeon 9800PRo Gexcube extreme edition

    and here some fraps notes from yesterday:

    2004-08-03 17:41:40 - Doom3
    Frames: 2575 - Time: 64551ms - Avg: 39.891 - Min: 0 - Max: 103

    2004-08-03 17:44:54 - Doom3
    Frames: 2901 - Time: 61811ms - Avg: 46.933 - Min: 4 - Max: 110

    2004-08-03 17:53:27 - Doom3
    Frames: 5835 - Time: 111602ms - Avg: 52.284 - Min: 0 - Max: 130

    2004-08-03 17:55:22 - Doom3
    Frames: 2205 - Time: 37193ms - Avg: 59.285 - Min: 30 - Max: 142

    2004-08-03 18:01:23 - Doom3
    Frames: 3443 - Time: 72027ms - Avg: 47.802 - Min: 1 - Max: 108

    2004-08-03 18:02:37 - Doom3
    Frames: 2379 - Time: 53164ms - Avg: 44.748 - Min: 21 - Max: 106

    2004-08-03 18:05:18 - Doom3
    Frames: 1009 - Time: 26134ms - Avg: 38.609 - Min: 0 - Max: 69

    2004-08-03 18:05:45 - Doom3
    Frames: 2438 - Time: 55158ms - Avg: 44.200 - Min: 5 - Max: 103

    2004-08-03 18:08:29 - Doom3
    Frames: 2479 - Time: 53028ms - Avg: 46.749 - Min: 4 - Max: 110

    2004-08-03 18:17:15 - Doom3
    Frames: 2553 - Time: 55772ms - Avg: 45.776 - Min: 1 - Max: 106

    2004-08-03 18:19:43 - Doom3
    Frames: 2486 - Time: 55005ms - Avg: 45.196 - Min: 1 - Max: 104

    i can´t say about resolutions but around 1024x768 i think with beta 4.8 i think

    here is DOOM3 fraps resukts with everything at max IQ AA AF
    1024x768

    2004-08-04 18:51:05 - Doom3
    Frames: 1739 - Time: 77219ms - Avg: 22.520 - Min: 1 - Max: 61

    heres AA at 4x AF 8x 1280x1024

    tryed med and high q.

    2004-08-04 19:28:09 - Doom3
    Frames: 1111 - Time: 27875ms - Avg: 39.856 - Min: 3 - Max: 96

    2004-08-04 19:28:37 - Doom3
    Frames: 1668 - Time: 40250ms - Avg: 41.440 - Min: 2 - Max: 103

    2004-08-04 19:29:21 - Doom3
    Frames: 2930 - Time: 69046ms - Avg: 42.435 - Min: 1 - Max: 103

    2004-08-04 19:30:52 - Doom3
    Frames: 2568 - Time: 60437ms - Avg: 42.490 - Min: 10 - Max: 103


    i think i can run DOOM3 pretty nicely onöy need a good solid open GL driver and it would look smashing i think

    and no i have no OCéd my Machine i just changed agp aperture size to 32mb and somehow my fsb went to 2+4 and does so even at a clena installation so it is not OCéd at all

    cool huh on a R 9800Pro
     
    Last edited: Aug 4, 2004

Share This Page

visited