Doom III I GOT IT !

Discussion in 'Gaming Discussion' started by ivan300, Nov 2, 2002.

  1. Erroneus

    Erroneus Get off my lawn!

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2002
    Messages:
    13,727
    Likes Received:
    101
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Doom 3 Alpha cumulative patch 1.2

    Doom 3 Alpha cumulative patch 1.2:

    Removed binary for loading intro. To watch video:type: map e3/intro at the console
    Removed flashlight3.tga and pointed the doomconfig entry to the existing flashlight2
    changed flashlight lag so it is more responsive
    added F5 and F6 keymapping for recordDemo and stoprecording
    bumped up number of speakers to 6 and enabled stereo. Conflicting stories of whether this works or not.
    changed r_useNV30 back to 0 since noone should have one of these yet
    added give_weapon_flare to F12 weapon bind. (Use 0 to pick flares)

    http://www.fileconnect.net/modules.php?name=News&file=article&sid=2799
     
  2. RIV@NVX

    RIV@NVX Freedom is a feature.

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2002
    Messages:
    4,476
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Doom III - slow, slower, the slowest.
    Even with those patches.

    Alpha is not worth downloading (I downloaded one in school, so I haven't spent any money).
     
  3. Erroneus

    Erroneus Get off my lawn!

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2002
    Messages:
    13,727
    Likes Received:
    101
    Trophy Points:
    103
    tweak it

    If you tweak it, it actually run's ok. But damn it's scary, the final gonna rock, a must buy!!
     
  4. tparker

    tparker New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    need a link

    how bout a link i would really appreciate it i have been waiting for sooooo long for this game
     
  5. DriveEuro

    DriveEuro New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2002
    Messages:
    4,677
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    how about no

    How about you use a program like Kazaa, Direct Connect, eDonkey to download it from...
     
  6. RIV@NVX

    RIV@NVX Freedom is a feature.

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2002
    Messages:
    4,476
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Re: tweak it

    Have you a good config that you can send me on mail or ICQ?

    About getting it, don't use eDonkey because it is crap.
    Try to get it on IRC or PM me if you need more info.
     
  7. reno

    reno Painlord of Ichor

    Joined:
    May 10, 2002
    Messages:
    1,606
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    48
    yre

    yeah, eDonkey sucks, but the third party eMule is great...open source, no adware, access to the WHOLE network.

    Oh, and just to let everyone know, Doom 3 shouldn't run that crappy if your system is better than mine, I mean, even on this thing I get playable (20s) framerates, download the patch!
     
  8. tparker

    tparker New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    link

    I would like a link or two meself:)
     
  9. reno

    reno Painlord of Ichor

    Joined:
    May 10, 2002
    Messages:
    1,606
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    48
    tjty

    If you have to ask, you aren't worthy of playing it.

    Repeat "filesharing or ftps"

    If you can't find it using any of these methods, your comp probably isn't powerful enough to play it.




    BTW, the bare minimum so far for a playable experience is a 750mhz P3 with 512MB of ram equipped with a Geforce 3 @ 200/460 speeds. That's what my friend runs and it's *okay*. With my config, a 1.84ghz P4 with 512mb ram and a Geforce 3 Ti500 @ 240/500, I get in the mid 20s...unless particles or sprites are displayed, in which case MAJOR slowdown. The particle engine is TOTALLY unoptimized, and is the major cause of slowdown.

    To test, use any card but a 9700 and shoot a guy up close. Major slowdown, because the particles aren't compressed. Each one is about 10kb, and it probably displays close to 2,000 particles for the muzzle smoke, fire, and blood effects (that's 20MB of ram it eats up for particles alone, on 64meg vidcards like mine, that's enough to start paging to AGP...and doom takes up about 180megs of system memory, so you better have a lot of ram!)
     
  10. tparker

    tparker New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If you can't find it using any of these methods, your comp probably isn't powerful enough to play it.
    Mine will play it
    AMD XP2000
    2001 madonion 10,670 benches
    512 Mushkin
    AsusA7V8X
    80 gig Western Digital Special Edition:)
    Lian-LI PC-65
    350 Watt Power Supply
    19 Inch Nec Diamondtron 85hertz
    Geforce Four Msi TI-4200 with 128 megs DDr
    Sony 40X12X40 CDrw
    Roadrunner 2,000 down 364 upload

    This Dog will hunt.
     
  11. reno

    reno Painlord of Ichor

    Joined:
    May 10, 2002
    Messages:
    1,606
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    48
    rht

    Mmm...nope, if you can't find the file, you don't have a machine that will play it.

    See the logic? Read it over a few times :)
     
  12. Kelsenellenelvian

    Kelsenellenelvian Master of my own Destiny

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2002
    Messages:
    1,394
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Man I want it but haven't found it yet..
     
  13. Dr_bologna

    Dr_bologna bolog

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2002
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Looking at your drive specs.. I would sudgest you run your own FTP server..

    I'll give you a hand filling it up.. and you could help pass it to members that are really wanting to try stuff..
    At least you'll know where the shit's comming from and it will be tested with .nfo included..
    Plus you won't have to mess with waiting to get a patch or fix or updates form some site that has like 15,000 ppl pulling from it..
    you could just keep them on a privet server..
    There would have to be rules of course, file size quota's and bandwith speed caps added..
    aswell as privet accounts only..

    ppl that host links to pre relises, Demo's or patches usually burn out fast, weather they paste the addy everywhere or some one PM's it to a few friends, who then post it to a few friends, who post it to a few FXP boards, who post it to a few elite mail groups and so on..
    Thats why it's getting hard to find stuf... It get's killed in a week with all the Unauthorised hit's and bandwidth abuse..

    to: Reno, tparker and anyone else that believes that it's the size of the box.. I'm guessing that was a joke anyway..
    It's contacts, nothing but..
    I could drop a POS linux box on my network with no GFX card, No sound card, mouse or keyboard running some dino p2-233 64 megs of pc100 and still get anything I want that you'll never get to see..
    I have to rip like crazy just to make room..
    300 gig's for my server is maxed for free space..

    I already allowed a few ppl from here to Dload doomIII alpha from my server..
    They should also be helping out with passing it to other members of this board aswell.."and I don't mean my Address"

    anyway just a thought..
     
  14. reno

    reno Painlord of Ichor

    Joined:
    May 10, 2002
    Messages:
    1,606
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    48
    bvcx

    Literally? If you don't have the file, you can't play the alpha. So...if you don't have the file, you don't have a machine that could play the alpha...because no machine can play something you don't have.

    That's what I meant.
     
  15. Dr_bologna

    Dr_bologna bolog

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2002
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Re: bvcx

    What is the file he's looking for...
    like the whole alpha, something from the alpha ?..

    My alpha was real new at the time.. so i don't know if it is even the same anymore.. this is all i had for an nfo and it was made buy me.
    -------------------------------
    Doom III - Alpha 0.02 - E3 Demo
    -------------------------------
    Instructions
    load the doom.exe
    use the ~ key to get to the console (if you choose single player, game will crash)
    you can load e3 demo maps 1-3 using one of the following commands:
    map e3/e3_1
    map e3/e3_2
    map e3/e3_3
    Drop this config file in the "base folder"..
    once in the console just type exec bolog.cfg to change to that .cfg file
    you can make one also and do it the same way..
    --------------------------------
    But if there is something you need from it let me know..
    Going to work on linking these links up later today..
    This is all i have left plus a few hidden ones for personal goodies.

    My Server list
     
    Last edited: Nov 17, 2002
  16. reno

    reno Painlord of Ichor

    Joined:
    May 10, 2002
    Messages:
    1,606
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    48
    fge

    He just wants the alpha in general, all the ones released were 0.02a, which is what he more than likely wants.

    I was just being a wise-acre :)
     
  17. Kelsenellenelvian

    Kelsenellenelvian Master of my own Destiny

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2002
    Messages:
    1,394
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ummm www.filemirrors.com (cough) MIGHT have a link to it try searching under DOOM (cough, cough).. Anyone got some cold medicine???:)
     
  18. iCzMan

    iCzMan New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2002
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i won't d/l it just because i'm afraid it's spoil the game for me.... this is a MASTERPIECE, can u guys be paitient?
     
  19. sutats

    sutats New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Official Release Date?

    When's the final version coming out?
     
  20. edperks

    edperks Life is Good

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    782
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    28
    hey,

    If you guys have a copy of the alpha version you are lucky !!

    this game will not be public untill 2003

    so why bitch about something new and good.
     

Share This Page

visited