e8200 overclocking help for a newbie

Discussion in 'Overclocking, Benching & Modding' started by AshutoshM, Apr 26, 2011.

1. AshutoshM

AshutoshM Woody Heavens

Hello! friends. I have a core 2 duo e8200 processor clocked at 2.66ghz with 1333 fsb. I want to overclock it to maximum upto 3.33ghz or may be even less upto the level at which it works perfectly cool and stable through air cooling only. I am a newbie to the overclcking of processors but I know a little bit about what it means and how to do it. But, I need your step-by-step help to do this. I have 4gb Corsair RAM havin latency 9-9-9-24 clocked at 1333mhz.
    Also, the board I'm using is Asus P5G41T-M LX which supports fsb upto 1333 only. You can see it here:
    ASUSTeK Computer Inc. - Motherboards- ASUS P5G41T-M LX

This board has a turbo button which can be used for overclocking. Should I use this feature to overclock or should I go for BIOS overclocking. Whatsoever be the method please explain it as if I am a beginner, what I have to do in BIOS, what multiplier do I need to set, what volatges should I use, etc.
    Any help is greatly appreciated. Thanks a lot!

2. Jac

Jac Well-Known Member

It's a trial and error process. I would suggest pushing up the FSB incrementally and then testing with Prime95 to test stability. If you can lock the PCIe clock to 100 do so. You will likely need to scale back your RAM clock multiplier. So if it's running at 2x now move it back to 1.5x to keep it stable. See where you can get the CPU speed to whilst still stable and then you can fine tune things like RAM multipliers and memory timings.

Last edited: Apr 26, 2011
  3. AshutoshM

AshutoshM Woody Heavens

Hello! Jac. Can you please elaborate this process i.e. how to set fsb, RAM settings, etc. as this thread is about a beginner to the oc. I would be needing much more help in this matter.

4. Jac

Jac Well-Known Member

Do you know how to get into your BIOS and look at your FSB setting?

Al

5. AshutoshM