Finally after so many bloody hours...

Discussion in 'Gaming Discussion' started by Judas, Aug 18, 2004.

?

Which is better? Enhanced or Default?

  1. Enhanced Lighting is just outright sweet!

    61.5%
  2. Default, Don't care for enhanced lighting...

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  3. Pft, It's quake 1, Move on buddy...

    38.5%
  1. Judas

    Judas Obvious Closet Brony Pony

    Joined:
    May 13, 2002
    Messages:
    39,845
    Likes Received:
    1,754
    Trophy Points:
    138
    I've been working on my Quake 1 Prepacks for gaud knows how long...

    anyways... pretty well got every possible texture i could find REPLACED... with High Resolutions ones.... boy, that took ages to...

    anyways.... need an opinion as well.. apart from being already better then quake 3 arena or UT Classic with the HQ textures.... which is better?

    http://driverheavenuploads.co.uk/Judas/Screenshots/DarkPlaceMirrorComparison.jpg

    WARNING, 2.38MB image 2048x1536

    BTW, the following version is finished.. prepack v 3.51

    Quake 1 PrePack V3.51 - 125mb Zip (includes what the image is)

    Min system requirements: 1ghz CPU, 256mb of ram, radeon 8500le or compareable (64mb onboard local video memory)
    Recomened: 1.5ghz CPU, 512mb of ram, Radeon 9500-9800 Class or better Video card with 128mb of onboard local video memory or more...

    Quake 1 PrePack V3.51 LITE - 25mb Zip (without high res textures and Models, PrePacked with Pure Performance in mind, SLOW 200mhz Cpu systems with 64mb of ram and an openGL compliant onboard or video card, default settings make the game look like the orginal (still openGL mind you) all special settings or autoenhanced graphical settings turned completely off, but can be manually turned on again through the use of the

    Options>Video
    Options>Effects
    Options>Graphics

    Min System Requirements: 200mhz MMX Supported CPU (pentirum 1 class) with at least, 64mb of ram, OpenGL Compliant Video card with 8mb onboard local memory.

    Recommended, 400mhz Class CPU with 256mb of ram, Geforce 1/Radeon 7000/Voodoo 3 3000 or better (16mb onboard local memory)

    BTW, 2 voodoo 2's IN SLI mode runs this version pretty amazingly with very high graphics settings...

    Please.. do commment!

    BTW, the only things not replaced at the moment are Player/Enemy models and textures.. still old school... working on it though...
     
    Last edited: Aug 18, 2004
  2. mainman

    mainman Mr. Nobody

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,971
    Likes Received:
    25
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Awsome work bud!!:)
     
  3. MSX

    MSX Burning the frozen...

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2002
    Messages:
    1,165
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Looks wicked. It is amazing how older engines can really shine with a texture update.

    Are you planning on doing normal maps and "stuff" for tenebre as well?

    Ah perhaps not. The guys who have been working on it have sort of slowed down.
     
  4. Judas

    Judas Obvious Closet Brony Pony

    Joined:
    May 13, 2002
    Messages:
    39,845
    Likes Received:
    1,754
    Trophy Points:
    138
    currently Tenebrea can't handle the stuff in realtime... it's pittifully slow.. i mean 15fps at 640x480 with everything set to the lowest on my rig... 9800 pro and 3000+ barton...1gb of ram.... seriously, that's even without high res textures...

    the version above is purely DarkPlaces, with high res weapon/item models and textures and high res textures for the entire game on every map.....

    Anyone interested in this Please PM ME!
     
  5. MSX

    MSX Burning the frozen...

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2002
    Messages:
    1,165
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Uh, yeah thats what I was getting at. Right now it runs like shite.
     
  6. Dom

    Dom New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2002
    Messages:
    12,940
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Move on...
     
  7. MythicaL

    MythicaL I like computers.

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2004
    Messages:
    3,390
    Likes Received:
    34
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Looks good. Way to go Judas :w00t: :D
     
  8. Schtopper

    Schtopper New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2003
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Looks cool, out of interest as someone who just re-installed quake last night do you have this mod available for download? and if so is ti easy to update? :)
     
  9. Fatality_

    Fatality_ New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2004
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  10. Judas

    Judas Obvious Closet Brony Pony

    Joined:
    May 13, 2002
    Messages:
    39,845
    Likes Received:
    1,754
    Trophy Points:
    138
    other then dom... who else?
     
  11. Nacht

    Nacht ein Krieger

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2004
    Messages:
    3,127
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    some peeps dont have the game :(
     
  12. Judas

    Judas Obvious Closet Brony Pony

    Joined:
    May 13, 2002
    Messages:
    39,845
    Likes Received:
    1,754
    Trophy Points:
    138
    i know the feeling.... since i first laid my hands on the keyboard to play the Shareware version, i've ALWAYS wanted to full game... and since 2000 and knowing of opengl and possibility of adding in new textures.... or whathave you.... i've always wanted to create something like this.....

    I've e-mailed ID numerous times about what could be done about Quake 1... if there was some way i could get ahold of it.... not a single reply..... you can't find this anywere.....not a single orginal cd can be found.... that i have come across....
     
  13. Zelig

    Zelig Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Messages:
    3,185
    Likes Received:
    45
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Yeah, I've got Quake, but can't for the life of me find Scourge of Armagon, or Disolution of Eternity...
     
  14. eggs420

    eggs420 my bud > yours

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2004
    Messages:
    399
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  15. Judas

    Judas Obvious Closet Brony Pony

    Joined:
    May 13, 2002
    Messages:
    39,845
    Likes Received:
    1,754
    Trophy Points:
    138
    i once again, i can't get anything over the net....i've no way to pay for it... and the shipping costs are usually sky high.... i'd probably pay more for the shipping then for the game... amazon has it for 49.99? wtf? i could pick up quake 3 in the bargain bin now for 9 bucks... i just can't seem to time team arena
     
  16. Dom

    Dom New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2002
    Messages:
    12,940
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have Team Arena.
     
  17. Judas

    Judas Obvious Closet Brony Pony

    Joined:
    May 13, 2002
    Messages:
    39,845
    Likes Received:
    1,754
    Trophy Points:
    138
    Those that have "got" the game.... any more oppions?

    I think i might startup a "PrePack" Testers thread.... get suggestions/Opinion... support and overall help... i would really like to get something setup to release publically....
     
  18. Rasta Monsta

    Rasta Monsta Just an Average Joe...

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2002
    Messages:
    1,574
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Can I be a tester? Must have! I still have GLQuake on my start menu, and I have both MP discs. . .

    rasta
     
  19. Judas

    Judas Obvious Closet Brony Pony

    Joined:
    May 13, 2002
    Messages:
    39,845
    Likes Received:
    1,754
    Trophy Points:
    138
    You got quake 1?

    what i'd like to also do is setup a "self Installer" neato setup program... with options to use certain files or copy shortcuts to desktop or configure shortcuts on the fly.... with commands and scripts for dedicated server
     
  20. Rasta Monsta

    Rasta Monsta Just an Average Joe...

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2002
    Messages:
    1,574
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Oh, yeah, I still play GLQuake Pro. . .I love it!

    rasta
     

Share This Page

visited