Futuremark Respond to Driverheavens Geforce 6800 IQ issues.

Discussion in 'Industry News' started by Stuart_Davidson, May 3, 2004.

  1. Dom

    Dom New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2002
    Messages:
    12,940
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    :lol:
     
  2. Turtle

    Turtle Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2004
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I say ban SJae ;)


    PS: the original article was just stating his findings, didnt seem to me like there was anything unprofessional or inflammatory in it.
     
  3. SJae

    SJae Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2004
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ban me for voicing my opinion? You serious? :confused:
     
  4. Turtle

    Turtle Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2004
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    I was kidding did you not see --->;)
     
  5. war59312

    war59312 God Bless The U.S.A

    Joined:
    May 9, 2002
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Some people are blind and take this way to seriously.

    :duh:
     
  6. Turtle

    Turtle Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2004
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    true
     
  7. Dom

    Dom New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2002
    Messages:
    12,940
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Everybody just settle down. This thread is about Futuremark's response, not SJae's.
     
  8. dsdsdk

    dsdsdk New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2003
    Messages:
    586
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    0
    jonis, a P4 3.4GHz was used for that test. dont you think the score ratio looks just a tad odd?
     
  9. highpingdrifter

    highpingdrifter Truth will set you free

    Joined:
    May 9, 2002
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i think ati are with futuremark dev program also, please correct me if i am wrong, so ati must cheat in hardware also ?
    fair response from futuremark which prooves the article was a little hasty to say the least or is it a conspiracy again.

    PS why is it that on most forums people are screaming for others to be banned ???
     
  10. BWX

    BWX get out and ride

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2002
    Messages:
    19,684
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    73
    Well I would respond but everytime I try to post, the forum tells me I'm not logged in, then I log in and it says "invalid thread" -- so for get it.
     
  11. MagamiEiko

    MagamiEiko New Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2004
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    May I ask where the ATI image is on this? I would like to see how ATI does it.
     
  12. Falkentyne

    Falkentyne New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2002
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Um, no. it doesn't.

    Far Cry HOGS CPU power. It even hogs up my P4 3.4 @ 3.9 ghz.
    Turning water on "ultra high" drops the framerate even more. (though I don't know if this setting is cpu related or not); same as turning up shadows to high, eats up horsepower.

    You're not going to see 80+ constant (meaning: no dips under) fps in far cry, with max details, until you get cpu's faster than 4 ghz.

    You want an older example of this?
    Take wheel of time.

    With a P3 600e coppermine @ 900 mhz, and Wheel of time running on a Geforce2 Ultra (actually an overclocked Pro), compared to running it on Voodoo2 SLI @ 640x480, the framerates were almost identical on both cards! (acutally the V2 beat the GF2U, by a small amount at 640x480 due to glide being a much better API); yet the GF2U was at least 2.5 times as fast as 2 V2's

    Yet the framerates were almost the same?
    Why? Because that game was the biggest CPU hog out of any game, when it was released.

    In most areas of the game, the framerates with one Voodoo2 were identical to 2 Voodoo2's in SLI mode (both at 640x480), because even 1 V2 was being bogged down by the CPU.

    So now you have the same thing with Far Cry.


    Note: Unreal (1) was the exact same. (piss poor slow on a P2-233 and a voodoo1, but same FPS on 1 V2 and 2 V2's because the CPU was too slow, and Unreal was as groundbreaking as Far Cry.....

    And, 3dmark 2003 is a VIDEO CARD BENCH, not a CPU bench, so of course the scores will almost double, what do you expact? @_@
     
  13. jonis

    jonis Alien mindbender

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2002
    Messages:
    539
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well put Falkentyne. And yes, Glide was an outstanding API. ;)
     

Share This Page

visited