Games Surround -> Dolby Surround

Discussion in '3-D Audio' started by hanshans, Jan 25, 2006.

  1. hanshans

    hanshans New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi All

    I couldn't find a better place for my question:

    Is it possible to code an intermediate driver/Is there a driver, that decodes game multichannel sound and encodes dolby surround (prologic)?

    Thanks in advance
    hanshans
     
  2. dj_stick

    dj_stick Apple Fanboy?

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2003
    Messages:
    17,575
    Likes Received:
    204
    Trophy Points:
    88
    redocneXk
     
  3. hanshans

    hanshans New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm sorry, but thats not what i want. i need the opposit i think.

    I have some kind of multichannel game sound source and i want to convert it to stereo dolby surround, so my hardware decoder can give me my 4 channels :)

    thanks anyway

    hanshans
     
  4. Maddogg6

    Maddogg6 Tail Razer

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2005
    Messages:
    4,027
    Likes Received:
    26
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yup - that what redocneXk does.

    BUT: If its an EAX game - KX wont handle that part, as KX doesnt support EAX.

    'Some KIND' of surround game? - please be more specific.
     
  5. hanshans

    hanshans New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The particular game i'm interested in is splinter cell. But it uses EAX.
    Is EAX support planned?

    hanshans
     
  6. dj_stick

    dj_stick Apple Fanboy?

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2003
    Messages:
    17,575
    Likes Received:
    204
    Trophy Points:
    88
    not until CL release their specs for EAX
     
  7. mehmetk

    mehmetk New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    But doesn't redocneXk use the digital output?

    Dolby surround (pro logic 2) is a normal stereo signal. A pro logic 2 encoder encodes for example 5.1 sounds into a stereo signal. An extern dpl2 decoder will then decode the information and produce something close to surround sound.
     
  8. Maddogg6

    Maddogg6 Tail Razer

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2005
    Messages:
    4,027
    Likes Received:
    26
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes, redocne uses digital output..But KX DOESN'T DECODE the EAX for redocne to then encode to dolby digital.

    So there are 2 important elements on the OP.. Decode EAX - and ENCODE to AC3.

    A user here (Tril) made a proggie that will take ASIO (from epilog or ProFX/Kxlt)and encode to AC3 and output to a single SPDIF port. Found here:
    http://www.driverheaven.net/showthread.php?t=90887

    KX Does do A2D (Aureal) istall thi capability by the KX start menu (NOT installed by default) - which is supported by UT2004 & Dungeon Seige. Prolly others but those are the ones I have seen personally.
     
  9. mehmetk

    mehmetk New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thats the thing, dolby pro logic isnt a digital signal, its a normal stereo signal.

    My soundcard is connected to my home cinema set using its normal output (non spdif). What i would like is that the driver takes all possible 5.1 sounds and encode them to dolby pro logic II. My home cinema set has a dolby pro logic II decoder, wich can decode 5.1 surround information out of a stereo (dpl2) sound.

    I know its not perfect 5.1 sound, but its something anyway.
     
  10. Maddogg6

    Maddogg6 Tail Razer

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2005
    Messages:
    4,027
    Likes Received:
    26
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Digital and stereo are 2 terms that can be true at the same time.

    AFAIK DPL1 is stereo (2 channel) AND DPL2 is 6 channels - remember, DPL2 *could* be encoded for 6 channels and STILL ONLY USE 2 of them. AND DPL can be 'MATRIX SURROUND ENCODED'.

    If its digital or analog - all depend on if its been decoded/converted or not.

    Some DVD players will decode the DIGITAL AC3 stream on a DVD and output to 6 analog connectors - OR PASTHRU to a single SPDIF connector - to allow for a receiver to decode .

    JUST like a PC with an internal DVD player and KX drivers installed (and set up properly) for a 10K2 based cards ONLY. 10K1 based cards WILL NOT PASS-THRU AC3 (aka Mutichannel/Surround via single SPDIF line/port)

    Redocne - WILL take 6 ASIO channels fed to epilog in KX DSP screen then ENCODE AND output VIA a single SPDIF port, presumably to a receiver to decode. Again ONLY works with 10K2 based cards, as redocne is using KX AC3 passthru to function.

    Here is how I understand it:

    Ac3 - is like a compression scheme - much like MP3 is, BUT allows stuffing 6 channels of audio information in the same 'BITRATE' digital audio stream.

    DPL2 - can use this same AC3 compression, but also adds aditional specifications like EQ, speaker placements, the '.1' is the sub-woofer/LFE, etc.. Keep in mind, for AC3 - it doesnt HAVE to use the 6th ('.1') as a sub-woofer. AC3 *could* be simply 6 mono channels and totally non-related to one another. Theres and infered 5.1, because MOST are familiar with DVD audio, but AC3 doesnt HAVE to conform to DPL2 specifications.

    DPL - can be PCM (uncompressed) much like a raw wave file, but DPL adds additional specifications like 'matrix encoded surround' etc.. (WHICH is extracted from normal stereo, accomplished with Prologica and Surrounder plug-ins in KX) the matrix encoding was to ensure backward compatibility for NON DPL systems.

    I would like to see an DPL matrix encoder as a KX Plugin..?? I dont think that exists - possibly for licensing reasons (Dolby isnt cheap, any they prolly activly prosecute those in violation)
     
    Last edited: Feb 20, 2006
  11. phetamine

    phetamine New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2005
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    This thread is a couple of months old i know, but...

    I think people are being confused with the pro logic, and pro logic 2... Pro logic is the old analog way of stuffing 4 tracks into 2.

    Dolby Pro Logic
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dolby_Pro_Logic

    "Dolby Surround/Pro Logic is based on basic Matrix technology. When a Dolby Surround soundtrack is created, four channels of sound are matrix-encoded into an ordinary stereo (two channel) sound track by using phase shift techniques. A Pro Logic decoder/processor "unfolds" the sound into the original 4.0 surround—left and right, center, and a single limited frequency-range mono rear channel—while systems lacking the decoder playback the audio as standard Stereo."


    I think the original question was can KX do matrix encoding for people with a 2 channel analog pro logic system?
     
  12. Russ

    Russ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2005
    Messages:
    5,722
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Here is some info (consolidated) from Eugene about DPL 1/2 and kX:

    See the following thread for more info:
    http://www.driverheaven.net/showthread.php?t=18189
     
  13. xzero1

    xzero1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2005
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If you are still interested, I believe this thread implements exactly what you need for Dolby pro logic encoding with all processing done via kx. Search the forum for "Dolby Pro-Logic Encoder". Sorry, Firefox will not let me cut and paste the link.
     

Share This Page

visited