Getting Radeon 9500 Atlantis PRO soon...

Discussion in 'AMD Graphics Cards' started by funbill, Jun 27, 2003.

  1. funbill

    funbill New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2003
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    After browsing many forums, etc. I have decided to upgrade my Geforce 2 to a Radeon 9500 Atlantis PRO. Im just wondering if anyone has any last words before I buy it, perhaps getting me to change my mind or telling me its a good idea.

    Dell Dimension 4300 POS
    512 MB SDRAM
    1.6 Ghz P4
    WinME


    I dont really know how to overclock yet, besides my BIOS is a POS anyway, devoid of 95% of the useful features for tweaking.
     
  2. Shuflie

    Shuflie Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2003
    Messages:
    270
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Just one thing, good luck getting hold of one.
     
  3. Kgentatszu]

    Kgentatszu] New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2003
    Messages:
    1,802
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    if you really don wanna OC your card, then GO FOR IT, you'll be amazed..........BUT, if you wanna get go for the best bang of the buck, then go for a radeon 9500non-pro (L-shaped memory version at something around $160-$180) which can be easily OCed into a radeon 9700 pro like Wyrethewolf did.......well, the choice is in your hands...
     
  4. Louie6666

    Louie6666 Just One Sick-Lizard

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Messages:
    501
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Most 9500Pro's are overclockable if you flash the bios.
    see here:

    http://www.hardfind.com/reviews.asp?id=3

    Non Pro 9500 with L shape Memory is increasingly harder to find, also crapshoot as to whether corruption shows up after enabling the addional 4 rendering pipelines, if anyone knows of a retailer in UK still selling these please let me know :)
     
  5. Kgentatszu]

    Kgentatszu] New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2003
    Messages:
    1,802
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  6. Kgentatszu]

    Kgentatszu] New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2003
    Messages:
    1,802
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  7. Louie6666

    Louie6666 Just One Sick-Lizard

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Messages:
    501
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Cheers for looking but I'm in the UK & unless i get a friend in USA to buy them on my behalf I get 50/50 chance being stung for Value Added TAX (17.5%) by UK customs & excise on delivery(they have to be a gift to get round this) It really sux as US prices are nice & low, where as in the UK they just change the $ for the £ sign

    ...have seen them for sale on ebay uk too, but would rather use naive retailer, that dosen't quite know what they have in there possession :)
     
    Last edited: Jun 27, 2003
  8. Kgentatszu]

    Kgentatszu] New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2003
    Messages:
    1,802
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    apart from e-bay, i cant think of other places, cause that's one f&%king rare card....production stopped.....
     
  9. Chaos

    Chaos Number Nine

    Joined:
    May 9, 2002
    Messages:
    5,260
    Likes Received:
    95
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ya it seems like the 9500 Pro from Sapphire is getting harder to find, I can get built by ATi 9500 Pro cards and Sapphire 9500 non pro but I have not seen one to say whaat memoery configuration they have
     
  10. Kgentatszu]

    Kgentatszu] New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2003
    Messages:
    1,802
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    by the way, just out of curiousity, can a modded 9500pro (to 9700pro) use the driver hack to mod it again to 9800?? (stupid question, hehehehehe:):):):))
     
  11. Louie6666

    Louie6666 Just One Sick-Lizard

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Messages:
    501
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  12. Kgentatszu]

    Kgentatszu] New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2003
    Messages:
    1,802
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    no...nonono......sorry to misead you...i mean like---> a 9500non-pro (L-shaped memory version-----modded to-----> 9700pro (like wyrethe wolf, he actually got higher!--------and mod it again to-----> 9800pro... now the question is, is this stuff possible??
     
  13. Louie6666

    Louie6666 Just One Sick-Lizard

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Messages:
    501
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I think it is, but struggling to find articals that i'm sure ! have read previously lol...brb


    Yep found a quote for you know wonder can't find anything lol:

    Catalyst 3.4 includes the 9800 optimizations (which were present in Catalyst 3.2) for all cards now - so no need for a 9800 mod :)
     
  14. Kgentatszu]

    Kgentatszu] New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2003
    Messages:
    1,802
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    you mean it is possible to mod a 9500 non-pro red PCB version) into a radeon 9800 pro??
     
  15. funbill

    funbill New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2003
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I ordered it from a website, but Ill wait until it gets here to see if its an Atlantis or just the ATI one, it SAID atlantis pro anyway.....
     
  16. eyeguy616

    eyeguy616 ZZzzzzzzzzzz...........

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2002
    Messages:
    324
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You know, newegg.com has some of those 9500 np 128 meg with L-shaped memory for $145. Here's a link, I ordered it a few weeks ago and it works wonders! All I have to do now is overclock it some for some unbeatable bang/buck. Although there's supposed be a ratio of those that work with driver hack to those that don't work, at least the 9500 np is a respectible card in its own right.

    ~eyeguy616
     

Share This Page

visited