Gigabyte I-Ram

Discussion in 'Industry News' started by daRk_heLmet, Jul 10, 2005.

  1. daRk_heLmet

    daRk_heLmet Keep firing, assholes!

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    1,072
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    1GB PC3200 Ram is being used as a SATA drive. Some pretty impressive results in there with lots of photos. Language is not english though.

    Gigabyte i-RAM

    HDD Score - 57699
    XP Startup - 102.193 MB/.s
    Application Loading - 100.503 MB/s
    File Copying - 118.981 MB/s
    General HDD Usage - 90.620 MB/s

    VS

    Seagate 80GB 7200rpm 8MB Cache

    HDD Score - 4122
    XP Startup - 7.348 MB/s
    Application Loading - 5.918 MB/s
    File Copying - 31.152 MB/s
    General HDD Usage - 4.915 MB/s

    HKEPC
     
    Last edited: Jul 10, 2005
  2. nitrousoxide52

    nitrousoxide52 Driverheaven.com err .net

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2005
    Messages:
    1,719
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Can you tell me the results, I don't feel like installing the language pack lol [​IMG]
     
  3. daRk_heLmet

    daRk_heLmet Keep firing, assholes!

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    1,072
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    [font=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]Gigabyte i-RAM [/font][font=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]Seagate 80GB 7200rpm 8MB Cache[/font]​
    [font=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]HDD Score [/font][font=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]57699 [/font][font=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]4122[/font]​
    [font=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]XP Startup [/font][font=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]102.193 MB/.s [/font][font=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]7.348 MB/s [/font]​
    [font=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]Application Loading [/font][font=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]100.503 MB/s [/font][font=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]5.918 MB/s [/font]​
    [font=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]File Copying [/font][font=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]118.981 MB/s [/font][font=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]31.152 MB/s [/font]​
    [font=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]General HDD Usage [/font][font=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]90.620 MB/s [/font][font=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]4.915 MB/s[/font]​












     
    Last edited: Jul 10, 2005
  4. nitrousoxide52

    nitrousoxide52 Driverheaven.com err .net

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2005
    Messages:
    1,719
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    :eek:, It's like 10 times better than the real HD holy crap, they should pit it up against a 15k RPM HD instead though.
     
  5. CDsDontBurn

    CDsDontBurn AMD & Petrol Heads Mod

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    25,596
    Likes Received:
    476
    Trophy Points:
    123
    Holy crap! that's insane!!! :eek:
     
  6. Geminiwave

    Geminiwave I Have lovely Breasts

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2004
    Messages:
    5,334
    Likes Received:
    50
    Trophy Points:
    0
    thats crazy but does the data actually stay on the bloody thing? How can it keep the OS loaded on it?

    MAN that would be great to have a ram drive like that. You could run XP off of it and then have everything else on your regular hard drive.

    OR BETTER YET!!! You could totally like have games on it (albiet not many) and they'd run freakin fast too.

    man the possibilites.

    Too bad RAM is so bloody expensive.
     
  7. Sandok

    Sandok New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2004
    Messages:
    9,259
    Likes Received:
    46
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Oh... My... God...
     
  8. El Kapitano

    El Kapitano Most of the 7 dwarfs in 1

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2002
    Messages:
    947
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The black package on the left hand side of the PCB is a rechargeable battery package. That should do the job nicely.
     
  9. eggs420

    eggs420 my bud > yours

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2004
    Messages:
    399
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    That's cool! I wouldn't trust my OS to it, but game data files and other things that tend to flog (and are easily replaced) would be so freaking sweet to stick on that once they do larger than 1gb. Even 1gb could be pretty handy though..And ram isn't really expensive? Compared to HDD's sure, but that's apples to oranges.
     
  10. Duranix

    Duranix New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2005
    Messages:
    614
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Mwahahha!!! Phear the $55 AUS for a 512mb stick!!

    this isnt really news for me, ive been running a ram-drive for a few months now ;)
     
  11. El Kapitano

    El Kapitano Most of the 7 dwarfs in 1

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2002
    Messages:
    947
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Duranix- how's that work?
     
  12. Iria

    Iria New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Messages:
    7,250
    Likes Received:
    51
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Battery's only good for 12 hours. To maintain it for longer you have to keep the residual power that runs through the PC unless the power is REALLY shut off (power strip, switch on back) going.
     
  13. CDsDontBurn

    CDsDontBurn AMD & Petrol Heads Mod

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    25,596
    Likes Received:
    476
    Trophy Points:
    123
    now you could just get some cheapy CL3 ram and place it in that. I don't think that memory timings would really much matter as data storage as opposed to data transfer.

    and if you want to compare apples to oranges, HDDs are MUCH cheaper than RAM any day of the week....think about it....how much would it cost to have 80Gb of ram vs. one 80Gb HDD. It would be ALOT cheaper to purchase the HDD. But like i said, that's if you want to compare apples to oranges :p.
     
  14. Iria

    Iria New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Messages:
    7,250
    Likes Received:
    51
    Trophy Points:
    0
  15. k_away

    k_away New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Last edited: Jul 10, 2005
  16. Necrosis

    Necrosis Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2002
    Messages:
    8,794
    Likes Received:
    111
    Trophy Points:
    73
    I think the best application for this would be for swap files!
     
  17. Iria

    Iria New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Messages:
    7,250
    Likes Received:
    51
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Necrosis, I think you're right.

    I kinda have a problem w/ having to leave residual power in the thing all the time (since the battery only lasts 12 hrs) to maintain the "image", but I would def. be interested in seeing if putting the swap file on it would speed things up, and how much.
     
  18. mike2h

    mike2h New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    6,359
    Likes Received:
    69
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i agree! while you would not get as big a boost for a specific like a game install(&that might be debatable) it boost the speed of everything. this would give you the most bang for the $$ & negate the worry of possible data loss.
     
  19. Necrosis

    Necrosis Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2002
    Messages:
    8,794
    Likes Received:
    111
    Trophy Points:
    73
    Now we just need to pony up our bets on who gets one first?

    Zardon or Hawgshead?
     
  20. mike2h

    mike2h New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    6,359
    Likes Received:
    69
    Trophy Points:
    0
    if i had an extra sata connect...:tears:

    depends on wether you count zardon getting it for testing or zardon actually getting it.;) though i gues that could be one & the same.:eek:
     

Share This Page

visited