GPU client for ATI HD cards

Discussion in 'Folding@Home' started by RoyBatty, Apr 13, 2008.

  1. RoyBatty

    RoyBatty Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2006
    Messages:
    1,992
    Likes Received:
    115
    Trophy Points:
    73
  2. Madgoat1979

    Madgoat1979 VTX NuTz!!!

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2002
    Messages:
    763
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    3870 folding at 1143ppd on my 3.1ghz Athlon 64 single core server. (running vista)

    Only using 55% of the card! Need a fast FAST proc to feed these cards!

    ~MG~
     
  3. Teme

    Teme Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2004
    Messages:
    8,496
    Likes Received:
    174
    Trophy Points:
    73
    It seems that the first gen GPU client is dropped ... :sigh:
     
  4. RoyBatty

    RoyBatty Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2006
    Messages:
    1,992
    Likes Received:
    115
    Trophy Points:
    73
    Yes, it's sad, but if this is true
    ...I think it's OK to move forward.
     
  5. Teme

    Teme Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2004
    Messages:
    8,496
    Likes Received:
    174
    Trophy Points:
    73
    yeah but I since I have X1950 Pro and the gen 2 client won't support it :(
     
  6. RoyBatty

    RoyBatty Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2006
    Messages:
    1,992
    Likes Received:
    115
    Trophy Points:
    73
    We're on the same boat, I have X1950GT. And I won't waste any more money for my current AGP system just because of FAH.
     
  7. Teme

    Teme Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2004
    Messages:
    8,496
    Likes Received:
    174
    Trophy Points:
    73
    heh, I think that my next card in from team green so hope they make the FAH client work with those too ;)
     
  8. Madgoat1979

    Madgoat1979 VTX NuTz!!!

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2002
    Messages:
    763
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0

    Dont hold your breath...


    ~MG~
     
  9. Teme

    Teme Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2004
    Messages:
    8,496
    Likes Received:
    174
    Trophy Points:
    73
    I don't .... Well you have some inside info about nvidia support for FAH?
     
  10. Madgoat1979

    Madgoat1979 VTX NuTz!!!

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2002
    Messages:
    763
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well,

    Nvidia has CUDA. And they want everything to be ported to CUDA to run on their stream platform. F@H says they want to keep their clients as diversified as possible, and by porting a client to CUDA they are saying it would be a Nvidia ONLY client.

    WELL DUH! The client they have now is ATI/AMD only! The only reason they are willing to continue with the ATI card clients is because of the help they get from the Catalyst team. Nvidia figures they have done their part by supplying CUDA.

    SO! in short... its a stalemate between F@H and Nvidia.

    (which is all very interesting seeing how the GPU client was originally intended for the nvidia GPU)...

    So until a 3rd party gets their hands on some GPU source code and gets handy with CUDA... (and has nvidia's driver knowledge in their back pocket) ... We arent going to see a Nvidia F@H Client any time soon.

    ~MG~
     
  11. The_Neon_Cowboy

    The_Neon_Cowboy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2002
    Messages:
    16,076
    Likes Received:
    28
    Trophy Points:
    73
    interesting, downloading now
     

Share This Page

visited