Hard Drive

Discussion in 'Hardware Discussion & Support' started by Amputee, Dec 23, 2010.

  1. Amputee

    Amputee New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have an Alienware Aurora desktop pc.

    I want to put in my SATA hard drive that I had in a crappy brick of an acer laptop.

    The desktop supports SATA of course but will it take a laptop HDD?

    It is a 160GB Hitachi.

    I just want all my music off of it. Thanks.
     
  2. Tyrsonswood

    Tyrsonswood HH's curmudgeon

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2008
    Messages:
    13,799
    Likes Received:
    1,598
    Trophy Points:
    138
    Should be no problem...... I imagine the laptop drive has standard power and data connectors, doesn't it?
     
  3. iPlayer

    iPlayer Filled with noobsauce

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,330
    Likes Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    0
    That's a normal 2.5" hard drive. No reason for it not to work.
     
  4. synthesis204

    synthesis204 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,181
    Likes Received:
    47
    Trophy Points:
    0
    There are IDE 2.5" HDD's. Assuming it's SATA, though, it should work fine (in the event it's IDE, just hook it up IDE-style...).
     
  5. iPlayer

    iPlayer Filled with noobsauce

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,330
    Likes Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    0
    He said it's an SATA in his first post, but guess he could be wrong.
     
    Last edited: Dec 23, 2010
  6. Judas

    Judas Obvious Closet Brony Pony

    Joined:
    May 13, 2002
    Messages:
    39,827
    Likes Received:
    1,730
    Trophy Points:
    138
    All SATA/IDE 2.5 drives are recognised and work in desktops and vice versa... mind you i've never come across a laptop with a 3.5inch desktop drive.. lol..

    ONLY the IDE 2.5 drives REQUIRE an adapter to confirst from the small laptop ide to the desktop IDE + power.... they are dirt cheap... i've one behind me...

    But sata is the simpliest... just plug em in just like a desktop drive.. all work 100%
     
  7. dltre

    dltre New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes, should definitely work, I've done that in the past.
     

Share This Page

visited