Have you moved to Vista yet?

Discussion in 'Polls' started by Stuart_Davidson, Apr 24, 2008.

?

Have you moved from XP to Vista?

  1. Yes

    127 vote(s)
    39.7%
  2. No

    177 vote(s)
    55.3%
  3. Will move in the next 3 months

    16 vote(s)
    5.0%
  1. Stuart_Davidson

    Stuart_Davidson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Messages:
    5,843
    Likes Received:
    188
    Trophy Points:
    73
    So Sp1 is now on automatic updates, and its been available elsewhere for a while. Have you made the move from XP yet?
     
  2. Zelig

    Zelig Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Messages:
    3,185
    Likes Received:
    45
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Going on 14 months since making the switch on my main rig.
     
  3. glaurung

    glaurung New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2003
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It's been a month already using Vista with quite a good experience but I'm actually thinking on moving back to XP 'cause of some compatibility issues, I'm waiting for SP3 first impressions.
     
    BWX likes this.
  4. MIG-31

    MIG-31 Old time Member.. Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2002
    Messages:
    75,925
    Likes Received:
    2,655
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Been using Vista Ultimate for the last 6 months or so....

    defiantly more stable since sp1 was released.
     
  5. craig5320

    craig5320 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2002
    Messages:
    9,682
    Likes Received:
    226
    Trophy Points:
    88
    Moved over at launch, never looked back :)
     
  6. RoyBatty

    RoyBatty Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2006
    Messages:
    1,992
    Likes Received:
    115
    Trophy Points:
    73
    I haven't moved yet and I won't anytime soon unless I buy a new computer.
     
  7. Gizmo[5h1t3]

    Gizmo[5h1t3] New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2003
    Messages:
    176
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    been on vista for a good while now, using Ultimate 32bit.
    gotta say ive not had ANY compatibility issues at all driver wise, or software to be honest.
    once u disable the stuff that blocks most of it, its a crackin OS
     
  8. caqde

    caqde Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2002
    Messages:
    507
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    28
    I'm dual booting... XP Pro 32-bit and Vista Business 64-bit, but I usually use XP so I voted No. I have Vista and use Vista, but I haven't really moved to Vista and I doubt I will anytime soon.
     
  9. Lelisevis

    Lelisevis Howlin at the moon

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2003
    Messages:
    1,629
    Likes Received:
    49
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Used Vista Home Premium 32-bit since launch and within the last fortnight moved to home premium 64-bit. Barely had a problem since day one and can hand on heart say XP caused me more problems.

    On a separate note I now see that the top 3dmark 06 record is set on a vista system.
     
  10. Judas

    Judas Obvious Closet Brony Pony

    Joined:
    May 13, 2002
    Messages:
    39,694
    Likes Received:
    1,540
    Trophy Points:
    138
    using vista pretty much as my main since Pre RC1
     
    BWX likes this.
  11. HardwareHeaven

    HardwareHeaven Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2002
    Messages:
    32,274
    Likes Received:
    163
    Trophy Points:
    88
    Have XP running on several machines, Vista X64 on the others.

    Vista x64 is superior in almost all regards. I will keep saying it till im blue in the face.
     
  12. CDsDontBurn

    CDsDontBurn AMD & Petrol Heads Mod

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    25,596
    Likes Received:
    476
    Trophy Points:
    123
    i'm still running winXP sp2. i will be waiting for sp3 and see how that goes.

    however, i have decided that whenever i build my next rig, it will have vista x64 sp1 :).
     
    BWX likes this.
  13. dj_stick

    dj_stick Apple Fanboy?

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2003
    Messages:
    17,575
    Likes Received:
    204
    Trophy Points:
    88
    was stuck with XP for my Music apps until i got Mac OSX as my secondary OS in Nov, replaced XP with Vista Home Premium 32 pretty much as soon as OSX was stable
     
  14. Dark Lord

    Dark Lord Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2004
    Messages:
    5,910
    Likes Received:
    89
    Trophy Points:
    58
    wont move over to vista till i build a new system, which probably wont be for at least another 2 years.
     
    BWX likes this.
  15. Iria

    Iria New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Messages:
    7,250
    Likes Received:
    51
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I've got XP on some boxes, but I have bought some new PCs and they all had Vista on them.
     
  16. swimtech

    swimtech Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2002
    Messages:
    3,994
    Likes Received:
    87
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Voted moving to Vista in the next three months. XP stays on the Athlon 1.2 system. Vista Ultimate (32 or 64 bit, with Ubuntu 64 bit I think...) on the new machine.
     
    BWX likes this.
  17. Markius

    Markius New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2003
    Messages:
    2,350
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i voted that i use XP as its whats on my gaming rig
    although i have vista on my laptop im not sure how much longer i will own the thing :p
     
  18. Mourgolikos

    Mourgolikos Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2008
    Messages:
    330
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    28
    I have both Xp 32bit and Vista Ult. 64bit but i mostly prefer Xp because of their better compatibility with applacations and old games :)
     
  19. BWX

    BWX get out and ride

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2002
    Messages:
    19,684
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    73
    Still using XP SP2. Will probably go to Vista when I build a new machine, but that might not happen for a while. In fact I might just wait until whatever comes after Vista, "Windows 7" or whatever the codename is... when is that- 2010(ish)?? Who knows.
     
  20. OldBuzzard

    OldBuzzard DH's oldest Geek

    Joined:
    May 25, 2003
    Messages:
    2,777
    Likes Received:
    145
    Trophy Points:
    88
    I'm running a multi-boot system with XP Pro SP3, XP Pro x64, and Vista Ultimate 64. I'll soon be adding Server 2008 Beta.

    I am having a bit of a problem with both 64 bit OS's, but that has only surfaced when I went to 8GB of RAM. With 4GB, all of them are rock solid.

    I prefer Vista to either of the XP versions.
     

Share This Page

visited