Having a rather annoying issue

Discussion in 'Hardware Discussion & Support' started by Crash Override, Aug 8, 2006.

  1. Crash Override

    Crash Override Banned

    Joined:
    May 6, 2002
    Messages:
    2,448
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I just built a new PC and am having a really really annoying issue.

    The issue is that when I boot the PC all I get is continuous short beeps

    According to the motherboard manual the issue is power.

    However the PC starts up....it just will not post.

    I checked the memory and everything and it all seems fine.

    Any ideas other than tossing a different power supply in there?
     
  2. Randomletters

    Randomletters ))((

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Messages:
    2,435
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Disconnect the cd/dvd drives, and extra hard drives, floppy, use only 1 stick of ram then try but really even if that works itll just show you you need a stronger PSU. Ofcorse PC specs would help us further help you.

    - Zero Cool
     
    Last edited: Aug 8, 2006
  3. Crash Override

    Crash Override Banned

    Joined:
    May 6, 2002
    Messages:
    2,448
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ah thanks for reminding me.


    My brain has been a bit addled today....I've been working way too much overtime, which is why I'm thinking I'm missing something simple.

    Specs as follows:

    PSU - Enermax Liberty 500W PSU
    CPU - AMD Athlon 64 3500+ Socket AM2
    Mobo - GigaByte M59SLI-S5
    Video - Sapphire Radeon X1600 256MB O/C Edition
    RAM - 2GB Corsair PC2-6400 XMS2 Series
    Floppy - Samsung 1.44MB 3.5" Drive
    DVD-RW - BenQ DW1655 Lightscribe Burner
    Hard Drive - Western Digital 250GB SATA-II 16MB Cache

    I have the 24-pin connector connected to the motherboard just as it should be.

    I have both auxilary 12V lines hooked in providing power to the system. I have the extra hookup to the PCI-e power header on the motherboard.

    I have all the pins and everything hooked up properly.

    I've taken some of the memory out and tested it and nothing thus far.

    The only beep it gives me is a power beep, but I havent tried disconnecting a few things.

    I'm going to give that a quick try.


    Edit- So I got bored and decided to try my spare ATX v2.0 PSU that I have lying around and it also does not boot.

    I decided to listen to the length and tone of the beeps a little bit longer and I think it's stating that the memory is bad, not the PSU.

    That puts me in a quandry since it's a socket AM2. That means DDR2 memory of course.

    I tried the sticks one at a time again and still no joy.

    I'm thinking UPS might have done something to the sticks...that or it might actually just be a coincidence that both sticks are dead *sighs*

    Well no way to test it out now without taking it into a shop that has some DDR2 sticks that they can test the system with.

    I was really hoping to avoid paying anything out in building this system for my friend, but it looks like it's going to cost me tomorrow to test all this out.
     
    Last edited: Aug 8, 2006
  4. Crash Override

    Crash Override Banned

    Joined:
    May 6, 2002
    Messages:
    2,448
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ok now I'm really annoyed. Newegg sent out a new shipment of memory and it's still giving off the post beeps.

    Anyone have any ideas for anything I can do other than buying a new mobo, CPU, and the like to test out each piece one by one?

    I'm not horribly opposed to buying extra parts or anything, but my wife is :evil:
     
  5. Just Learnin'

    Just Learnin' New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2005
    Messages:
    1,414
    Likes Received:
    45
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Found this on an NCIX forum, have you tried the RAM in slots 2&4? I know it isn't OCZ RAM but it may be worth a try....
     
  6. Crash Override

    Crash Override Banned

    Joined:
    May 6, 2002
    Messages:
    2,448
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I just tried this out last night....sorry I didn't write back sooner.

    It still didn't work....so it has to be the motherboard.

    l also just noticed that the light wasn't on on the Mobo to show standby power.

    So I'm RMA'ing it in the hopes that it should be the issue.

    The only other part I haven't been able to test was the CPU due to not having a 2nd AM2 based mobo.
     
  7. Crash Override

    Crash Override Banned

    Joined:
    May 6, 2002
    Messages:
    2,448
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I know double posting is frowned upon but I just realized that I had another question in the back of my mind gnawing at me.


    The memory that I bought is DDR2-800
    It's a single core A64 AM2 chip.
    Is it possible that the memory isn't clocking down like it should automatically and is causing an issue with the CPU as well?

    I know it's a moot point as I already RMA'ed the mobo but now it's got me wondering.

    Normally I do a ton more research than what I did this time....but even with all the research I've done I can't find an answer to this question anywhere I look.
     
  8. Dyre Straits

    Dyre Straits 10 Grandkids -2 Great-grandsons

    Joined:
    May 13, 2002
    Messages:
    19,576
    Likes Received:
    2,538
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Did/Do you have any other memory that will fit that board to test that out?

    I did find that my own system was not defaulting to the correct timings for my own RAM...which is also Corsair brand. I had to do it manually, but if you're not getting a POST you can't very well do that, either.

    What about clearing the CMOS and seeing if it will boot after that?
     
  9. Crash Override

    Crash Override Banned

    Joined:
    May 6, 2002
    Messages:
    2,448
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'd tried that too....but it wouldn't even boot from the get-go.

    I'm thinking I might just buy a stick of DDR2-667 locally if the board doesn't POST when I get the new one here and seeing if that does it.

    If so I'll have to exchange the memory.

    One thing that is on my mind now though is that all of this is way more complicated than it should be.

    For the first time in a long time I would find myself disappointed with AMD or GigaByte depending on where fault lies, if its a memory compatibility issue because "it's too fast."

    I've always thought that the onboard memory controller would mean the end of these issues because the memory would only run as fast as the CPU would allow.
     
  10. Crash Override

    Crash Override Banned

    Joined:
    May 6, 2002
    Messages:
    2,448
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well it turned out to be the motherboard after all.

    Received the new Gigabyte motherboard slapped it in and poof it worked.


    The only issue it has now is if it's set to the setting that allows Cool n' Quiet to work then the PC blue screens all the time.

    The instant it's set to always on it works perfectly.

    So seems it was a dud board :(

    Just thought I'd put this in as an update to everyone who tried to help :)
     

Share This Page

visited