help!..azureus and the yellow smiley's!

Discussion in 'General Software Discussion' started by thingsthings, Apr 13, 2005.

  1. farkas

    farkas IT Support Specialist

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2003
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If you use DMZ, there is no need to forward any ports. DMZ is basically as close as possible to a straight connection to the internet.

    I have been using Azureus for a while, I think about 1 1/2 to 2 years but that's an estimate. I finally switched over to another client, as Azureus always did 1 of 2 things.

    1. Everything is fine, but it locks up my router in less than 10 or 20 minutes. I have the somewhat crappy Linksys wireless B model BEFW11S4 which seems to be prone to that sort of thiung with Azureus.

    2. If I try to limit my connections, I get terrible download speeds.

    I have tried using the tweaks etc... to allow more than the default outbound connections when running on SP2 with mixed results with the Azureus client. As for the java, make sure you use the latest version, and some of the tips mentionned for limiting memory, can help you out on 512 or less PC's.

    Long story short, I switched to Bit Tornado, and I have absolutely no issues. I can download 5 different files with amazing speed for hours on end, with emule running, and a wireless connection established (3 pc's on the same connection/router) and no lags etc...

    My 6.5Mbps/1mbps cable connection seemed like crap with Azureus, and with Bit tornado, i get the speed i expect. Too bad though, i loved Azureus, and when it did work fine, I was quite happy. just that recently, the latest revisions seem to be a bit more wonky.

    But that could just as well be me !

    regards
     
  2. thingsthings

    thingsthings New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2005
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks for the info. farkas. I disabled the DMZ and am just using port forwarding. I'll just let it run for a while for testing purposes and see if there are any problems, if so, I might have to consider a change.

    ChoGGI, is the download called EvID4226Patch212-en?

    TnT
     
  3. ChoGGi

    ChoGGi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2002
    Messages:
    1,208
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    48
    thats the older version above it is the newer one
    EvID4226Patch223b-en
     
  4. thingsthings

    thingsthings New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2005
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    yeh i saw that one, but it's a beta. i'm just a little worried about the stability of that version....though if you deem it safe, then i'll get it....what do you think?

    TnT
     
  5. ChoGGi

    ChoGGi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2002
    Messages:
    1,208
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    48
    good point, as long as the stable works then you might as well.
     
  6. thingsthings

    thingsthings New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2005
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    sorry, i got a little confused, as long as the stable works?...do you mean install the beta or stick with the previous version?

    TnT
     
  7. ChoGGi

    ChoGGi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2002
    Messages:
    1,208
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    48
    good point, as long as the stable works then you might as well stick with the stable.
    :cool:
     
  8. Lakevren

    Lakevren MedicalEntropy

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2004
    Messages:
    294
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You know...

    i had the same problem


    I looked in the azureus forums


    they said to update java to 1.5


    and it works.
     
  9. thingsthings

    thingsthings New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2005
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The useage is around 50,000k. It slows my computer down like crazy and at time prevents me from browsing. How do you reduce java's memory usuage. Do you type that command into 'command prompt'? Also, does it effect the performance of Azureus?

    TnT
     
  10. ChoGGi

    ChoGGi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2002
    Messages:
    1,208
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    48
  11. thingsthings

    thingsthings New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2005
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My memory is 512. I tried using the command you stated, bu tget the below output...have I missed a step. I had a look at the site link and went to memory usage. I understand what it is saying, but actually implementing that is another.

    Any suggestions?
    [​IMG]
     
  12. ChoGGi

    ChoGGi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2002
    Messages:
    1,208
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    48
    you have to run it in the azureus folder :)
     

Share This Page

visited