Help me select an Intel CPU and motherboard

Discussion in 'Hardware Discussion & Support' started by cctaylor88, Feb 7, 2013.

1. cctaylor88

cctaylor88 New Member

Ever since I built my current computer I have yet to upgrade anything and have always went with AMD in terms of my processor. I am now looking into investing some money into upgrades and am heavily favoring an Intel CPU. I don't do any serious gaming lately as I am a full time student but I play the occasional game (SCII, Withcher 2, etc). I mainly use my PC to surf multiple multiple tabs in Firefox, downloading w/ uTorrent, playing videos on my second monitor, etc..

If I were to buy an Intel CPU will it be compatible with the rest of my components (GPU, Ram, etc)? Basically I just need to switch the CPU (obviously) and buy a compatible motherboard correct?

If I were to buy a new CPU I'm currently looking most likely to buying an Intel i5 or i7 but wouldn't know which one to select or what exactly to look for.

What would you recommend for a new Intel CPU and compatible motherboard? I will definitely be over clocking as well and don't want my motherboard to hold me back (for instance my current motherboard doesn't have "vrm cooling")

Current Setup is below:
    Ram: Ripjaws 8gb
    CPU: AMD Phenom II x4 955 BE
    Motherboard: ASUS M4A87TD/USB3
    Power: 600w OCz

GPU: NVIDIA GTX 460

2. Judas

Judas Obvious Closet Brony Pony

The only thing i was worried about was the Ram (as you didn't state the type...)

but the board is a DDR3 model..... I just didn't want to make the assumption that it was indeed ddr3.

So yes... replace the motherboard and cpu.. and the rest of it all will work great.

Mind you, i'd recommend doing a complete Re-install of windows ... a major switch chipset/cpu wise won't likely allow you to just boot up windows willy nilly.. AND if it does.... the conflicting drivers and components and such are not going to make life easy.