How much hard drive storage have you at home?

Discussion in 'Polls' started by HardwareHeaven, Jan 1, 2005.

?

How much hard drive storage do you have at home?

  1. under 1 gigabyte

    2 vote(s)
    0.3%
  2. 1-10 gigabyte

    1 vote(s)
    0.1%
  3. 11-30 gigabyte

    10 vote(s)
    1.5%
  4. 31-50 gigabyte

    24 vote(s)
    3.5%
  5. 51-100 gigabyte

    106 vote(s)
    15.6%
  6. 101-200 gigabyte

    226 vote(s)
    33.3%
  7. 201-300 gigabyte

    114 vote(s)
    16.8%
  8. 301-500 gigabyte

    117 vote(s)
    17.2%
  9. 501 gigabyte - 1 terrabyte

    57 vote(s)
    8.4%
  10. more than 1 terrabyte

    22 vote(s)
    3.2%
  1. CDsDontBurn

    CDsDontBurn AMD & Petrol Heads Mod

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    25,596
    Likes Received:
    476
    Trophy Points:
    123
    i want to get more HDDs. 1 more raptor for RAID 0, and replace my 60Gb WD w/a 200Gb SATA drive. IDE cables are just so bulky now adays.
     
  2. Blazer

    Blazer Tweeker

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Messages:
    605
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    28
    I curently have 2 maxtor 40 gig ata 133 setup as raid 0 for my os, and 2 maxtor 80 gig sata for the rest of my files for a total of 220 gb and it isn't enough. :sigh:
     
  3. Dyre Straits

    Dyre Straits 10 Grandkids -2 Great-grandsons

    Joined:
    May 13, 2002
    Messages:
    19,426
    Likes Received:
    2,349
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Between my networked computers I have a total of 330 GB of HD storage.

    Configured as:

    XP HOME: 80 GB Maxtor; 80 GB Seagate; 30 GB Samsung.
    98SE: 2 x 40; 2 x 30; All Maxtor Drives
     
  4. Rayder

    Rayder Mostly lurking lately....

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2002
    Messages:
    2,304
    Likes Received:
    68
    Trophy Points:
    58
    One 200 is my main. I like having lots of games installed.
    The other 200 contains my MP3 library. 'Nuff said.
    The 60 contains patches, updates, utilities and drivers. We've ALWAYS had a minimum of two harddrives in a system. It makes formatting the main much easier.
     
  5. dj_stick

    dj_stick Apple Fanboy?

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2003
    Messages:
    17,575
    Likes Received:
    204
    Trophy Points:
    88
    that'd be about 400 here in aus, i don;t have enough for that atm
     
  6. KOLE

    KOLE New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have 800MB on 486DX 66MHz and 1.3GB on P1 133MHz :D :D .
    On Celeron 2000MHz - 80GB WD
     
  7. NuTz

    NuTz New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2004
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    1 x 36Gb Raptor
    1 x 80Gb Maxtor (SATA)
     
  8. tastyweat

    tastyweat Lurking

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2003
    Messages:
    4,924
    Likes Received:
    116
    Trophy Points:
    73
    Around the 950GB mark including both laptops:

    Laptop 1 - 60GB
    Laptop 2 - 30GB
    2x raptors - 83.4GB (not in use atm but still there)
    120GB Maxtor (in usb bay)
    300GB Maxtor 16MB (in usb bay)
    300GB Maxtor 16MB (in usb bay)
    60GB Seagte
     
  9. The_Neon_Cowboy

    The_Neon_Cowboy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2002
    Messages:
    16,076
    Likes Received:
    28
    Trophy Points:
    73
    WD 20GB 5400rpm ata 66
    Segate 120mb 7200.7 8mb cace ata 100

    right now? 140gb
    but soon add another 250-300gb+ to that
    will be a maxtor w 16mb cache
     
  10. groovyjoker

    groovyjoker New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have a computer with two 180s in a zero configuration, but with that setup, little did I know it would be difficult to use Norton Ghost for backups (or other software). Most have a limit of 150 GB....

    So I went out and bought a 180 GB external and hooked it up, and use that for backups.

    Wish these backup programs would catch up with the times and create software for larger hard drives.
     
  11. snake

    snake Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2002
    Messages:
    423
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    43
    3 Maxtor DM+9 7200rpm with one of 8Mb cache ;)
     
  12. Dom

    Dom New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2002
    Messages:
    12,940
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    WD SE 120GB [master] (45% used) + Maxtor ATA133 40GB [slave] (66% used) = 160GB
     
  13. arestavo

    arestavo New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2002
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Sigh... I can never get enough:

    Main Rig
    2X 300 GB Maxtors w/ NCQ and 16 meg cache (SATA) 7200 RPM
    3X 200 GB Western Digital and 8 meg cache (PATA) in RAID 5 7200 RPM
    2X 74 GB Western Digital Raptors with 8 meg cache (SATA) 10,000 RPM
    Total: 1348 GB

    Server
    1X 80 GB Western Digital and 8 meg cache (PATA) 7200 RPM
    2X 200 GB Western Digital and 8 meg cache (PATA) in RAID 0 7200 RPM
    Total: 480 GB

    Laptop
    1X 100 GB Seagate and 8 meg cache (PATA 2.5 inch) 5400 RPM
    1X 80 GB Fujitsu and 8 meg cache (in external USB enclosure 2.5 inch) 5400 RPM
    Total: 180 GB

    Insane...but I use a lot of space.

    EDIT: 2.008 TB effective.
     
    Last edited: Jan 3, 2005
  14. MythicaL

    MythicaL I like computers.

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2004
    Messages:
    3,390
    Likes Received:
    34
    Trophy Points:
    0
    One Seagate 160GB @ 7.2K RPM
    One Western Digital 120GB @ 7.2K RPM
     
  15. scobywhru

    scobywhru DriverHeaven Senile Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2002
    Messages:
    619
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I've got
    120gb and 200gb HD in my machine
    74gb and 250gb on my friends
    200gb on my friends Other machine
    4 X 250gb RAID 5 in my server about 700gb usable
    120gb drive sitting around just replaced by the RAID
    13gb HD in my Family's PC
    80gb On someone who rents a room from us
    60gb on my laptop
    120gb on my GFs PC

    which all Equals
    1.817 TB readily accessable
    2.237 TB Either laying around or eaten up by the RAID
     
  16. classic_leon

    classic_leon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2004
    Messages:
    1,238
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Total 470GB
     
  17. TJ-

    TJ- New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2004
    Messages:
    3,679
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    160 gig 7200rpm jb

    lappy 40 gig...
     
  18. Frodo301

    Frodo301 Outraged

    Joined:
    May 10, 2002
    Messages:
    584
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    A 200 gig, 60 gig, and soon to be added another 200 gig. The 60 gig will go into a hd case w/ usb 2.0 hookup for backups. As far as the question of of why so much space, I've ripped most of my cd collection, backed up my movies, and recently started to convert my aging vhs collection to dvd. This all takes space, never say blank amount is enough. I've found I can always find use for a little more. Oh yeah, 500 posts after all these years.
     
  19. krazy1

    krazy1 Live from the Dungeon

    Joined:
    May 13, 2003
    Messages:
    1,395
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Never enough

    I have 2.8 TB of storage in my home network and no it isn't all full...;)
     
  20. hasher

    hasher if u got some ,pass it around

    Joined:
    May 13, 2002
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ok just got my new for hard drives in waiting on cpu and mb should be in by friday. 2 74gig raptors in raid sata installing windows on that then 2 250 maxtor sata 16mb cache as my store drive. i cant wait till see how it works.
     

Share This Page

visited