How much have you spent this year on tech hardware?

Discussion in 'Polls' started by HardwareHeaven, May 24, 2009.

?

How much have you spent this year on tech hardware?

  1. over 5000

    4 vote(s)
    7.8%
  2. between 1000 and 5000

    7 vote(s)
    13.7%
  3. between 500 and 1000

    13 vote(s)
    25.5%
  4. under 500

    17 vote(s)
    33.3%
  5. nothing

    10 vote(s)
    19.6%
  1. Judas

    Judas Obvious Closet Brony Pony

    Joined:
    May 13, 2002
    Messages:
    39,847
    Likes Received:
    1,757
    Trophy Points:
    138
  2. niceguyrichy

    niceguyrichy c c c COFFEE

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2005
    Messages:
    9,548
    Likes Received:
    1,037
    Trophy Points:
    138
    couple of hdd's , X-Fi , new DVD writer , some memory, well under 500 so far.
    looking at maybe a new gfx card for one of my comps later this month, and maybe a new cpu sometime soon, but that'll be it for this year unless something goes pop :lol:
     
  3. ET3D

    ET3D Hopeless Dreamer

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2003
    Messages:
    3,086
    Likes Received:
    90
    Trophy Points:
    58
    I spent about $600 on my new PC.
     
  4. buburuza76

    buburuza76 HH member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    261
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Guys you are really spending a lot.I could use some money for some new hardware, someone from DH needs a hardwork young man? :)
     
  5. Lowfat

    Lowfat Xtreme

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2003
    Messages:
    4,246
    Likes Received:
    72
    Trophy Points:
    0
    In just storage (HDD's, RAID cards, SSD's) alone I spent just shy of $5K. Although likely over half of it I have sold while upgrading.
     
  6. procupine14

    procupine14 Why is it Beeping!?!?!

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,396
    Likes Received:
    39
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Well, including in my estimate only parts for my three systems, thus far this year I've spent:
    $10 new watercooling tubing (yet to be installed)
    $19 new liquid cooling fluid (also waiting for the move to new apartment to get done)
    $50 for RAM etc for HTPC
    $20 bluetooth adapter for my PC to Phone stuff
    $38 new OCZ water block
    $51 OCZ RAM
    $160 HIS 4850
    $170 Hanns.G monitor
    $40 Kingston laptop RAM
    and another $70 on a new pair of headphones and a seperate mic

    So, I haven't dropped a lot of cash this year as compared to last year which I haven't added up but minus shipping I'm sure was around $1500 easily.

    phew! at least you sold some of it off in the process
     
    Last edited: Jun 4, 2009
  7. Neshi

    Neshi HH's cuddly Blue Bear

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2005
    Messages:
    5,225
    Likes Received:
    441
    Trophy Points:
    108
    just 60 euro's for a 4850, and that's it. I am really contemplating about getting a bigger screen as I watch alot of movies and this 17" doesn't really cut it... But I am hesitant with dishing out €250+ in one go. Maybe when I have moved to New Zealand I will get a new screen..
     
  8. gamerguy127

    gamerguy127 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i just built my new system this year, after saving for ages total costs including the screen and a few extras, are about £900 or so maybe slightly more, but have just ran into £60 to do something else with my computer, anyone suggest anything extra i can get for around £60?? i was thinking about getting another 2GB of ram for £41 but i'm not sure, anyone got any ideas?:D
     
  9. Tyrsonswood

    Tyrsonswood HH's curmudgeon

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2008
    Messages:
    13,806
    Likes Received:
    1,613
    Trophy Points:
    138
    go for the ram
     
  10. gamerguy127

    gamerguy127 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    kl will that improve my performance much?
     
  11. Tyrsonswood

    Tyrsonswood HH's curmudgeon

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2008
    Messages:
    13,806
    Likes Received:
    1,613
    Trophy Points:
    138
    I never ran Vista, but I hear it screams for a lot of ram....... 2 sounds minimal to me and 4 would be the max for 32 bit, so you would be at the top of the performance curve for a 32bit system, ram wise that is.

    I can't give you numbers of improvement you would see, just my gut response to your question, viewing your specs.
     
  12. gamerguy127

    gamerguy127 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    thanks. i think i will go for the ram, and perhaps a new dvd drive i'm still using an old IDE drive. thanks again for the help!!
     
    Tyrsonswood likes this.
  13. Cannyone

    Cannyone New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm not sure that it will work to get 2 more sticks of the same RAM and expect it to work. I tried the same thing last year with both an Asus P5E (X38 chipset) and an MSI P7N Diamond (780i chipset). The memory in question was identically spec'd Corsair 2GB kits. They simply would not work together!
     
  14. gamerguy127

    gamerguy127 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    thats odd but if it dosnt work i can always send it back
     
  15. Stop It

    Stop It HHs' Resident Kitty Lover

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2004
    Messages:
    1,415
    Likes Received:
    34
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Add another £75 on Hardware for me this year.

    Last week I bought a Gigabyte GA-EP45-DS3P to replace my inadequately equipped GA-G31-SF2 (Which was a pure budget board, not an OC'ers board) and a 2GB stick of HyperX PC-6400 RAM to make my 4GB a proper matched pair, instead of 2 different brands.

    The Motherboard was cheap (£50 from ocUK) because it was "B" grade, it was missing the cables and stuff, but I am willing to pay £40 less than retail for that, heh.
     
  16. dawgXdenta

    dawgXdenta Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2008
    Messages:
    2,095
    Likes Received:
    182
    Trophy Points:
    73
    i bought my rig end of 2007 when the radeon 3800 series and the X64 AM2 6000 came out, i'm still happy with performance but i'll probably move on next year. If I am financially table that is
     
  17. procupine14

    procupine14 Why is it Beeping!?!?!

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,396
    Likes Received:
    39
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Hey! there is nothing wrong with IDE drives! :p

    My Northwood Micro DVD burner is still kickin' just fine :rofl:
     
    gamerguy127 likes this.
  18. gamerguy127

    gamerguy127 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    lol, theres nothing wrong with them its just there a nightmare in cable management, sata cables are much esier to manage plus its white on the front and the rest of my case is black, i want it all to look nice and go well together:D
     
    procupine14 likes this.
  19. CDsDontBurn

    CDsDontBurn AMD & Petrol Heads Mod

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    25,596
    Likes Received:
    476
    Trophy Points:
    123
    for myself or my sisters' PCs, nothing. clients of mine i'm not counting in this figure.
     
  20. kris23

    kris23 Going Insane.....

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2006
    Messages:
    5,984
    Likes Received:
    152
    Trophy Points:
    73
    i guess i spent $134 if i add in my mouse and pad.... felt like i lost an arm right there....
     

Share This Page

visited