How to get rid of icq search in FF5?

Discussion in 'General Software Discussion' started by Liqourice, Aug 10, 2011.

  1. Liqourice

    Liqourice Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2005
    Messages:
    3,837
    Likes Received:
    339
    Trophy Points:
    93
    I don't know how it happened, I made sure to de-select everything but the ICQ app when I installed it, but somehow icq search got hardcoded into Firefox.

    I don't want it but I can't get rid of it. Everytime I type something in the URL field that isn't a complete link I end up at the ICQ search page..

    Also, normally when I used to startup FF I had the default startpage with a google logo, I still do on my laptop where I haven't installed ICQ, but now it's not there and if I search for anything in there I also end up at ICQ search.

    There is no addon for it, I've checked multiple times. I've removed it from the search tools but that didn't make any difference. It's like it's become hardcoded into the browser.

    I'm lost now, don't know what else to do...
     
  2. Teme

    Teme Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2004
    Messages:
    8,496
    Likes Received:
    175
    Trophy Points:
    73
    about:config and then reseting all parts that ICQ infected ;)
     
  3. Liqourice

    Liqourice Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2005
    Messages:
    3,837
    Likes Received:
    339
    Trophy Points:
    93
    Reset everything I could find that was obviously related to icq but still no go :(
     
  4. Liqourice

    Liqourice Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2005
    Messages:
    3,837
    Likes Received:
    339
    Trophy Points:
    93
    Ah, found a less obvious one and now it's working. Thanks.
     
  5. Chocolate1

    Chocolate1 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Please, tell me what`s that file. I have the same problem and did everything in tools, adds-on and reset all "icq" in about:config, but the icq search is still there.
     

Share This Page

visited