I am super dumb.

Discussion in 'General Software Discussion' started by blix9, Mar 16, 2003.

1. blix9

blix9 New Member

Hello, folks.

Is there differnet special way of thought process to be a very good programmer? Is it just practice? I'm sure most will just say 'practice and more practice'.

I am a student in a computer science major. I started taking the first programming classes this semsester. Now it's spring break. The reason I am writing is just that I am very depressed about the class not going very well. We had an exam right before spring break(2nd in this semester) and I screwed up big time unlike the 1st one. The first one was almost like a give-away. Is C++ supposed to be that hard? I mean I have studied and turned in most of homeworks so far but this 2nd exam made me reconsider my major. The exam was about loops, strings, and fstream. I'm sure these are all basic stuff. After introduction of the loop, I am totaly confused and don't have a clue about what goes where anymore. I mean I can see how it works but when multiple loops are combined with strings and streams stuff it really hurts my head.
    It takes me just too long to figure out. :mad:

The exam problems were well worth several hours of planning to me just to figure out how to do it. I was to figure them out within an hour and I only completed half of it. I am not even sure whether I did a good job on them. what makes me really go crazy is that others seems to do well without much difficulties. Quite a few students finished it almost half an hour earlier. I stared at them as if they are some kind of freaks. I heard a few people saying that programming is not for everyone. Maybe this is not for me... I don't know. I hope it is. I thought it was. I thought I was doing well.
    I heard that the 2nd semester of this C++ class supposed to be harder. Somehow, I feel no matter how hard I try and 'practice' I won't success in this major.

Anyway, I just wanted to rant or whatever.