I got my PS3 console :D Question about it.

Discussion in 'Gaming Discussion' started by Robert McClelland, Jul 14, 2008.

  1. Robert McClelland

    Robert McClelland I'm An Uncle for 2nd time Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Messages:
    15,327
    Likes Received:
    255
    Trophy Points:
    108
    So far I got lastest updates seems be working fine now. I haven't try nsscar 09 in HD yet. I went to the store where the demos are it said I can download PSP demos. Does this mean Console can play PSP disk? thanks :) And also does anyone else installes an OS on there PS3 console? Link windows or other OS? If you do does it mean you keep the console menu? Just wondering lol.
     
  2. Robert McClelland

    Robert McClelland I'm An Uncle for 2nd time Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Messages:
    15,327
    Likes Received:
    255
    Trophy Points:
    108
    bump frist time taping in my ps3 lol
     
  3. HardwareHeaven

    HardwareHeaven Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2002
    Messages:
    32,274
    Likes Received:
    163
    Trophy Points:
    88
    No you need to hook up your PSP to the PS3 and transfer it over.

    No you cant install windows on the PS3 but you can install Linux, if you google it there are various distros that work, such as a specialised version of Ubuntu.

    You reboot between the linux and main PS3 os as they install on seperate partitions.

    some guides on installing linux on PS3 over here installing linux on ps3 - Google Search=

    and be sure to check out my guide in sticky thread on upgrading the hard drive in the PS3 as well, simple procedure worth the time.
     
  4. randomuser83

    randomuser83 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2008
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I didnt know you could install linux on it. Thanks for the info.
     
  5. Robert McClelland

    Robert McClelland I'm An Uncle for 2nd time Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Messages:
    15,327
    Likes Received:
    255
    Trophy Points:
    108
    Can you play and ps one or ps2 games on it? I see I can play up to 8megs on my PS3 games for PS2 games I'm going rent one try out to see if works. I have 40gig version :). I take a pic soon :)
     
  6. Tipstaff

    Tipstaff Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Messages:
    9,749
    Likes Received:
    1,401
    Trophy Points:
    123
    I could have sworn Sony got rid of backwards compatibility when they introduced the 40GB version, didn't they?
     
  7. Mr Cairo

    Mr Cairo DREDD do You require backup .... NO

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Messages:
    4,408
    Likes Received:
    1,724
    Trophy Points:
    138
    yeah it seems only the 60gig version has backwards compatability
     
  8. mos2k

    mos2k HH's Hermit

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2008
    Messages:
    874
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    38
    60GB has Hardware based Backward Compatibility offering the widest range of ps2 and ps1 playable games.

    80GB has software based Backward compatibility with limited titiles being compatibile.

    40GB has no backward compatibility.
     
  9. Robert McClelland

    Robert McClelland I'm An Uncle for 2nd time Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Messages:
    15,327
    Likes Received:
    255
    Trophy Points:
    108
    Ah ok oh well lol. I'm happy with 40gig :) I love it so far.
     
  10. Raptor

    Raptor New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2003
    Messages:
    464
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The 40gb PS3 is backward compatible only with PS1 games. I wish I'd kept my copy of Road Rash :lol:
     

Share This Page

visited