i5 2500k Overclock Problem?

Discussion in 'Overclocking, Benching & Modding' started by CrazyCanadianGuy, Jun 8, 2012.

  1. CrazyCanadianGuy

    CrazyCanadianGuy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hello HHers. I have overclocked my i5 2500k from 3.3ghz to 4.5 ghz on the Asus Sabertooth p67. I have followed Youtube instructional videos very carefully and I am confident I have set everything correctly for 4.5ghz. Now my problem is when I go into the BIOS, the speed still says something along the lines of 3399mhz, etc. When I am in AI Tuner, it reads the recommended speed as 4500mhz. BUT, when I check with CPUZ and Core Temp, the speeds read about 4499mhz - 4500mhz respectively. THEN, when I run CPU Speed Pro, it reads my speed as ~3399mhz. So what the heck is my actual speed? I am very confused. Is there something further I need to do in BIOS? I am missing something or is this just normal and it's actually overclocked?
     
  2. Transk53

    Transk53 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    782
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Find an up to date BIOS as you have an Asus mobo. CPUz is the best app you can get for this, so what you get as a reading should be spot on.
     
  3. Judas

    Judas Obvious Closet Brony Pony

    Joined:
    May 13, 2002
    Messages:
    39,694
    Likes Received:
    1,540
    Trophy Points:
    138
    Some programs will read the cpu's intended clock speeds.... and not provide you the current one.

    usually CPU Z is spot on though.

    Run some tests, if your noticeably faster then stock speeds... then your overclock is likely working.
     
  4. isaak

    isaak Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    2,302
    Likes Received:
    93
    Trophy Points:
    58
    I'm not up to date with overclocking the newer CPUs, but is it possible you've left a turbo mode switched on or something?

    Otherwise I would update the BIOS, usually that and CPU-z are the correct ones. If you've changed all the options and they've saved properly, then I'm sure CPU-z will be right.
     
  5. Transk53

    Transk53 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    782
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ASUS bios is shite for some reason or another
     
  6. CrazyCanadianGuy

    CrazyCanadianGuy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Wow, forgot I even posted this lol. In my best guest I think the overclock did work because they operate at higher temps than before. But yeah I will update BIOS. Thanks for replies :D
     

Share This Page

visited