Icons opening a new window

Discussion in 'Windows & Other OS Discussion & Support' started by drivehard454, Mar 19, 2009.

  1. drivehard454

    drivehard454 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2006
    Messages:
    325
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Trying to figure out how to open a new window everytime I hit a browser type icon on my desktop. I have to open various shortcut icons on my desktop which reqiure an online browser to open up. Every time I click an icon, it overwrites an existing window. I can not figure out how to get it to open in a new window?

    Thanks much
     
  2. Mac Daddy

    Mac Daddy New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Messages:
    7,948
    Likes Received:
    109
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Which browser are you using?
     
  3. [hobo]eclipse

    [hobo]eclipse ...just bummin 'round

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2004
    Messages:
    2,889
    Likes Received:
    73
    Trophy Points:
    58
    more than likely a setting in the options of the browser of your choice will solve this for you
     
  4. drivehard454

    drivehard454 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2006
    Messages:
    325
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Internet explorer 6. I have looked all over for a setting change. I cannot update as his is a work computer do not have priviledges to update. Just gets annoying that everytime I want to go back and fourth between things I need to bring up, it overwrites an existing window. Thought there had to be a way to make every one open in a new window.

    Thanks
     
  5. Mac Daddy

    Mac Daddy New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Messages:
    7,948
    Likes Received:
    109
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have IE7 on this machine but there should be similar settings in IE6. Go to tools/internet options/general/tabs and from that window check the settings you want for opening new tabs.
     

    Attached Files:

    • ie.JPG
      ie.JPG
      File size:
      73.2 KB
      Views:
      94
  6. Tyrsonswood

    Tyrsonswood HH's curmudgeon

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2008
    Messages:
    13,557
    Likes Received:
    1,268
    Trophy Points:
    138
    IE6 didn't have tabs but I think in the same place there was a settong to open new window or open in the same window..... been about 2 years sinse I've used IE6
     
  7. Mac Daddy

    Mac Daddy New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Messages:
    7,948
    Likes Received:
    109
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Same here Ty but there should be something in that section. I don't really use IE but try and keep up to date on it ;)
     
  8. drivehard454

    drivehard454 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2006
    Messages:
    325
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks guys...but there is no tab selection. Nothing else that I can see either that works.
     
  9. Mac Daddy

    Mac Daddy New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Messages:
    7,948
    Likes Received:
    109
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I thought there was but been so long since I used IE6. You may have to upgrade to IE7 or another browser to use this feature.
     
  10. drivehard454

    drivehard454 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2006
    Messages:
    325
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Right. I will have to see if they will update this thing. Can't do much of anything without administrater priveledges. Thanks
     
  11. Mac Daddy

    Mac Daddy New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Messages:
    7,948
    Likes Received:
    109
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hope ya get it sorted :)
     

Share This Page

visited