INSPIRE ME !!

Discussion in 'General Software Discussion' started by Smoothdrive, Sep 24, 2002.

1. Smoothdrive

Smoothdrive Foolish Genius

I'm thinking about changing carreer away from the server/network area towards programming/creating..

Thing is i have no clue where to start..i have no programming/coding skills worth mentioning..self-taught i always go as far as quic-clicks can take me, i bother to read for 5 minutes but when it gets longer i'm bored with it pretty quickly.

I liked recording Macro's in Excel untill i learned to make some simple acces thingies (don't know VB so can't make the difficult ones), also spending enough time to make them look decent for users, i liked making websites (handcoding untill i got Frontpage which in turn i used untill i got dreamweaver) I like finding solutions.

I don't like routine jobs, dry theoretical stuff and hours of hand-coding before you can get results sound terrible to me..don't mind the hours of work but i wanna see what i'm doing straight away..

Combining graphical interfaces with some hand tweaking is more my preffered method I guess..

So what should i start with..?? There's so many too choose form these days..

What's easy to start off with and will give a good enough and most usefull base ?

2. merry

merry gargouille

Why not HTML/JavaScript... it's not actually programming, but you can 'see what you are doing straight away'... and get you started on reading - you'll need it.

3. Smoothdrive

Basic HTML i already know..it's gotten sloppy since i use dreamweaver these days..and javascript..well i might do some reading on it..i've used it copy & paste before..

4. Malus

Malus BSD SMASH!

Hand code XHTML Strict and CSS instead of using Dreamweaver. :D

Might want to learn C++ or Java.

5. UberLord

UberLord A Legend in Underwear

Re:

Why not learn PHP instead of C/C++ or Java?

PHP creates dynamic web pages. Use xHTML 1.1 and CSS without tables and you're well away :)

6. Jeff

Jeff Yarr... I be blind!