intel dual core shaming AMD quad core?!?!

Discussion in 'Hardware Discussion & Support' started by The375Boy, Dec 6, 2012.

  1. The375Boy

    The375Boy New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2002
    Messages:
    717
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    please forgive me if i'm posting in the wrong thread.

    Just built a new rig (specs under my user name) nothing crazy just something to dip back into... and i noticed today i installed a trial version of lightroom 4 on my rig its awesome alot more features blah blah blah.. but my laptop runs lightroom 3 when i'm doing shoots i pretty much do teathered shoots... anyway... i noticed lightroom 4 lags... badly. what botheres me is i'm running a 3ghz amd quad core in my rig with 16gb ram... my laptop is running a i5-540m dual core with 8gb ram and its ALOT quicker. i pulled up performance monitor and i noticed my cpu will jump to 95% when just editing a raw file... please tell me i'm missing something because i doubt lightroom4 would drag a system down that badly
     
  2. CDsDontBurn

    CDsDontBurn AMD & Petrol Heads Mod

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    25,596
    Likes Received:
    476
    Trophy Points:
    123
    For what you're doing, you really should have gotten the 8150 or the new 8350 octo-core CPU.

    AMD CPUs don't do very well for every day tasks, but since you're rendering files (presumably for editing?), the 8x50 CPU would be better for you.

    And, since your desktop has a newer version of lightning, is there any way you can use lightning 3 on your desktop to see how it performs on your desktop? You can also try lightning 4 on your laptop to see how it performs on that. If it's a newer version of the program, I'd imagine that the program uses more resources to do the same thing it used to do before. This could also be part of the reason why you feel that your AMD system is running slow compared to your Intel based laptop.
     
  3. Tipstaff

    Tipstaff Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Messages:
    9,749
    Likes Received:
    1,401
    Trophy Points:
    123
    A lot of people are complaining about performance issues with version 4 regardless of the CPU, how many cores it has (physical and virtual/logical), and the amount of RAM installed. The 4.1 update fixed issues for a small percentage of people, while 4.2 is supposed to have increased that percentage.. although not by much from what I've heard. Comparing LR4 to LR3 is like comparing apples to oranges. Instead, try what CDs suggested, and install LR3 for a direct comparison.

    Edit: of note, apparently LR4 has a performance issue with Intel CPUs that use Hyper-Threading, and it's recommended that you disable that feature in the bios. AMD CPUs don't have this feature, btw.

    BTW, the lag/performance issue you're having... it wouldn't happen to be in the Develop Module would it?

    Also, a lot of other complaints are from people that installed LR4 on a machine that had LR3 on it at one time, or upgraded from LR3 to LR4, and found that they had to clear out their 1:1 image previews (thumbnails) and catalogues, and let LR rebuild them. People have also seen issues with corrupt preferences file causing an issue (where exporting their preferences, deleting the Lightroom folder in AppData\Roaming, starting Lightroom to recreate the folder, and then importing the preferences fixed this issue), unused modules still load regardless of whether you have them checked on or not (manually move any modules you don't want or use from the Plugins folder to a temp folder will keep them from loading), and turning of XMP support if you don't need or use it.
     
    Last edited: Dec 6, 2012
  4. malmental

    malmental System Builder > Hardware Specialist

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2012
    Messages:
    1,589
    Likes Received:
    49
    Trophy Points:
    48
    next time consult first before you build...
    honest hard truth is that your build (hardware) was a mistake for intended usage.
    AMD CPU's aren't the strongest in IPC.

    Tipstaff - nice work bro..
     
  5. The375Boy

    The375Boy New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2002
    Messages:
    717
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thank you for the replys. In all honesty I wasn't building for any intended purpose. A friend sold me the mobo, CPU, and power supply for $150 so. I'm not planning on keeping them long. Yes I am having problems in the develop module, specifically when I go to use the brush for adjustments such as changing color temp and when I go to change blacks I hold the ALT key it lags. I did a fresh install on the rig of lightroom 4.3 (trial version).
     
    Last edited: Dec 6, 2012

Share This Page

visited