is my AthlonXP 1700+ a good Overclocker?

Discussion in 'Overclocking, Benching & Modding' started by Shadow Lady, Oct 11, 2003.

  1. Shadow Lady

    Shadow Lady Avril Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2003
    Messages:
    1,262
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    here is the reference or whatever: AXDA1700DLT3C

    I have it currently running at 1694 MHz at 48ºc load, and seems like I cannot get it higher, so is it the limit? what to do for higher OC? ohh BTW I have stock cooling
     
  2. WildChild

    WildChild I'm Still Watching

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2002
    Messages:
    1,068
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I would suggest getting a better heatsink and possibly some better ram....before going any higher with it .....the limitations IMO would be your ram as far as getting any "higher".
     
  3. Shadow Lady

    Shadow Lady Avril Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2003
    Messages:
    1,262
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ohh, I havent update my sig, I have 512mb pc2700 ram right now ^^'
     
  4. craig588

    craig588 Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    3,510
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    whats the stepping? you could have a Tbred A or B. I have a 1.5V tbred A 1700+ and it barly overclocks, it wont even post past 1.9GHz

    My 1.5V tbred B 2100+ on the other hand will do a little over 2.5GHz (I'm mobo limited right now)
     
  5. Shadow Lady

    Shadow Lady Avril Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2003
    Messages:
    1,262
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Is this?

     
  6. DriveEuro

    DriveEuro New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2002
    Messages:
    4,677
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Lady. Since you got the DL3TC it's 1.5v as you know. Most of the 1700s do between 2.0-2.1 ghz on stock voltage. For example. I have mine at 1.75v and I get up to 2400mhz. I'm just running 2363 cuz of my RAM.

    So essentially I suggest you push it as far as it'll go on stock voltage as you have just a stock heatsink.
     
  7. Shadow Lady

    Shadow Lady Avril Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2003
    Messages:
    1,262
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ok, ill do that, now how to do it? ^^'
     
  8. craig588

    craig588 Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    3,510
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I mean like JUHIB, AUHIB, AIUGA, ect...

    If the last letter in the stepping code is a B then you have a tbred B but if its an A then you have a tbred A. Look at the chip to find out.

    Bs wil hit 2.3-2.5GHz
    As will hit 1.7-1.9GHz
     
  9. craig588

    craig588 Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    3,510
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Not if its an A, I have a DL3TC tbred A and it will barly do 1.9GHz at 1.85V.
     
  10. DriveEuro

    DriveEuro New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2002
    Messages:
    4,677
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I suggest you set the fsb in the bios to 175 and the multiplier to 10. If it's stable then that'll work for you. If you want more speed then I suggest putting no more than 1.7v to the cpu on that stock cooler. Truthfully, you're better off running to like CompUSA or some store like that and buying a cheap $20-$25 copper heatsink. Assuming you're using the AMD heatsink with the phase change material, a mediocre heatsink will drop your temps buy nearly 20C. Post back your results.
     

Share This Page

visited