Is my PSU stable?

Discussion in 'Hardware Discussion & Support' started by tek, Feb 8, 2004.

  1. tek

    tek New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2003
    Messages:
    2,103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I was checking out Neon's thread on the three PSU's to choose and it reminded me of how unstable my PSU looks.

    My specs:
    ABIT NF7-S 2.0 no mods
    Antec TRUEPOWER 430W
    AMD XP1700+ @ 2.37GHz (215x11@1.75V)
    SLK-900(A) with a TT SmartFan II @ 3800RPM
    1x Corsair XMS 512MB PC3200LL RAM (11-3-3-2@2.9V)
    BBATI 9500PRO with a Zalman heatpipe cooler chillin @ 300/300
    1x Western Digital 60GB 7200RPM 8MB Buffer HDD w/ Vantec Dual Fan HDD cooler
    1x Maxtor MaXLine II Plus 250GB 7200RPM 8MB Buffer HDD w/ Vantec Dual Fan HDD cooler
    Lite-ON CD-R/RW 52x32x52x burner
    Lite-ON 16x/48x DVD-Rom, and a floppy drive
    Enermax 6-Fan Controller with LCD
    3x Coolermaster Blue/white led 80mm fans, 1x raidmax red led 80mm fan, and the SmartFan II on the cpu

    The voltages (from ABIT EQ):
    VCORE: 1.68V
    DDRV: 2.99V
    +3.3V: 3.22V
    +5V: 4.87V
    +12V: 11.67 :wtf:
    -12V: -12.03
    -5V: -4.95V
    5VSB: 4.87V

    The only one that really scares me is the +12V rail... jeez, I've already checked my required PSU thing and I even added on a few fans and I got around 405W for a required PSU, this is a 430W. What do you think?
     
  2. swimtech

    swimtech Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2002
    Messages:
    3,994
    Likes Received:
    87
    Trophy Points:
    58
    What happens to the +12v line when you stock-clock it, and go with the standard CPU voltage?
     
  3. dipstick

    dipstick New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2002
    Messages:
    3,609
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Seems like a low readout from the board. I mean your +3.3 and +5 lines also seem kinda low. If your rig is stable don't worry about it.
    Btw, you can also try MBM5 to see if it says the same.


    Edit- Sorry, here's a link to MBM.
    http://mbm.livewiredev.com/
     
    Last edited: Feb 8, 2004
  4. Necrosis

    Necrosis Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2002
    Messages:
    8,794
    Likes Received:
    111
    Trophy Points:
    73
    Interesting Tek...ever since I did the change over to Intel my 12+ reads much the same as yours. Mine likes to float around 11.73 - 11.80. The system is totally stable but it has me worried as well; my other rails are right dead center which seems even weirder. I say if it's stable, and you haven't had any problems it is fine. However, you might want to think about getting something more powerful either way. I know my system should be okay but there is something about seeing those low voltages that makes you grind your teeth.
     
  5. tek

    tek New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2003
    Messages:
    2,103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well yeah thats what I meant, not stable as in CPU stable cause of overclocking - I know I'm stable there. I'm talking about the PSU I dont want the thing crapping out on me and killing my whole system ya know, it worries me.

    :(

    I'll try stock everything to see what it says, and in the BIOS I get the same results so I dont see why MBM would be any different.
     
  6. DarkFoss

    DarkFoss Active Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2002
    Messages:
    688
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Same here Tec.
    My 550 truepower tends to float a bit as well. The 12v rail is now steady at 11.85v since I shuffled power connectors a bit. Before it was bouncing from 11.86 too 11.80 I also lowered my temps 4c.
    The 5v rails always consistent at 4.78, 5v standby always 4.97. The 3.3v rail bounces a bit from 3.26 to 3.23. Guess it's the way Antec ships them.
    If I had the cash I'd upgrade to one of these. I like the idea of being able to up the rails a bit.
    http://www.antec-inc.com/us/pro_details_powerSupply.php?ProdID=20552
     
  7. tek

    tek New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2003
    Messages:
    2,103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Tried everything at stock same thing for +12 rail and I think same for all other rails too.

    hmm:hmm: maybe antec psu's are just like that.
     
  8. Vampyromaniac

    Vampyromaniac confutatis maledictis

    Joined:
    May 15, 2002
    Messages:
    5,974
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    tek, it could be that the software is reading the rails incorrectly. see this thread.
     
  9. swimtech

    swimtech Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2002
    Messages:
    3,994
    Likes Received:
    87
    Trophy Points:
    58

    Yup,
    Besides, .33v (thirty three hundredths of a volt - a teeny bit really in relation to the rating) is regulated down quite a bit to provide the actual working voltage for the devices.
    So long as the regulated current is okey-dokey (and, say, your fans don't slow down in the heat of a big 3d battle, for instance) you should be fine.
    You'll likely find a difference to the good just like zerodamage did if you actually check with a meter. His sensed voltages were low too.
     

Share This Page

visited