Just bought a 980 now all I get is a black screen no matter what GPU I use.

Discussion in 'NVIDIA Graphics Cards' started by Astralogic, Oct 10, 2014.

  1. Astralogic

    Astralogic New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2012
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Here are my specs:

    Operating System
    Windows 8 Pro 64-bit
    CPU
    Intel Core i7 4770K @ 3.50GHz 25 °C
    Haswell 22nm Technology
    RAM
    16.0GB Dual-Channel DDR3 @ 800MHz (9-9-9-24)
    Motherboard
    MSI Z87-GD65 GAMING (MS-7845) (SOCKET 0) 30 °C
    Graphics
    L204WT (1680x1050@64Hz)
    Intel HD Graphics 4600 (MSI)
    Storage
    465GB Samsung SSD 840 EVO 500GB (SSD) 28 °C
    119GB SanDisk SDSSDHP128G (SSD) 28 °C
    1863GB Seagate ST2000DL003-9VT166 (SATA) 28 °C
    1863GB TOSHIBA DT01ACA200 (SATA) 30 °C
    Optical Drives
    CZYJMF MJW5MF4 SCSI CdRom Device
    PIONEER DVD-RW DVR-221L
    Audio
    Sound Blaster Z

    I had an EVGA 780TI working great. My 980 arrived so I swapped. All I got was a black screen. After taking the card out and putting it back in a few times nothing changed. Giving up I put my 780ti back in and now that just gives me a black screen too.

    My mobo gives the code A0 which is normal so I don't think it detected anything was wrong.

    Any ideas?
    Thanks
     
  2. Teme

    Teme Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2004
    Messages:
    8,496
    Likes Received:
    175
    Trophy Points:
    73
    You might try to uninstall drivers and reinstall them after you swapped the cards.
     
  3. Tipstaff

    Tipstaff Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Messages:
    9,625
    Likes Received:
    1,243
    Trophy Points:
    123
    I don't see anything about what power supply you are using. What's the wattage/model?

    And because it happens more often than not, don't forget to double check the PCIe power connector for the video card. If it's plugged in, and you have a power supply with multiple PCIe power connectors, give the other one a try.
     
  4. Judas

    Judas Obvious Closet Brony Pony

    Joined:
    May 13, 2002
    Messages:
    39,466
    Likes Received:
    1,421
    Trophy Points:
    138
    also worthwhile trying another pci-ex slot just to give it a whirl.

    Also try plugging your monitor cable into the onboard igpu and seeing if it's outputting the video to that rather than the graphics card, I've ran into a few cases where the onboard gpu was set to remain on and ended up taking priority after a gpu swap.
     
  5. Stuart_Davidson

    Stuart_Davidson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Messages:
    5,843
    Likes Received:
    188
    Trophy Points:
    73
    ^what Judas said. Two most likely candidates are a damaged slot and the IGPU taking priority over the discrete card. (Also, if you plug in to the display on the motherboard and it works fine, update the BIOS at that point, then set the display to PCIe and then save.)
     

Share This Page

visited