just finished my new mixer

Discussion in 'Effects and the DSP' started by townkat, Jan 24, 2005.

  1. townkat

    townkat New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2003
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi, I just finished my new mixer v005 (i mean is fully functional, i'll keep work on it).
    Here is a screenshot of it.
    http://www.geocities.com/picacioiu/Mixy4x2.jpg
    It is compiled for 3537.
    The steps i do to make it work are :
    1. Close kx mixer.
    2. Open with winrar C:\Program Files\kX Project\3537\kxskin.kxs
    3. Copy
    http://www.geocities.com/picacioiu/vu0.jpg
    http://www.geocities.com/picacioiu/vu1.jpg
    in "Mixer" directory from winrar window.
    4.Close Winrar
    5. Download
    http://www.geocities.com/picacioiu/mixy4x2v005.bin
    and rename to mixy4x2v005.kxl
    5. Run Kx mixer
    6. Run mixy4x2v005.kxl
    Thats all.

    I dont know how to pack them in a kxl, if anyone can help...pls...

    Alot of thnx to LeMury for his help!! Thank You!
     
  2. Lex Nahumury

    Lex Nahumury DH Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2003
    Messages:
    1,944
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Nice.

    Rar your bitmaps + custom kxskin.ini into your.kxs.
    Then simply concatenate your.kxl and your.kxs;

    copy /b your.kxl + your.kxs

    (See readme.txt in SDK for more details)

    /LeMury
     
  3. townkat

    townkat New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2003
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  4. Chester01

    Chester01 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2004
    Messages:
    492
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    gee i wish you would have compiled that for 3538... fyi, the 3538 driver seems to do much better with cpu useage and "vu meters" or any thing like that
     
  5. townkat

    townkat New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2003
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i dont know how to compile for 3538, i belive i need the 3538 sdk and as i know is not out yet, if anyone can help ...
    i have switched from 3538 to 3537 just to be able to test the plugs i compile :) so...
     
  6. peate

    peate Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2003
    Messages:
    513
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    28
    That's really nice. It amazes me that you guys can build these plug-ins and make it sound so simple.

    If I may make one suggestion, although minor, you should have the right level arrow pointing the other way.

    Great job though

    Pierre
     
  7. Chester01

    Chester01 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2004
    Messages:
    492
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    another idea, the kx drivers do have 12 db of "headroom" so it may make sense to make the "top" of the meters read out at +12 db, not 0 db, you can test the fact that it is 12 db by loading up two gain hq plugins, set them up in paralell, then add a peak to the end of the chain, DO NOT play this through your speakers ;) that would be bad. anyways, the first gain hq in the chain needs to be at +60, the seccond needs to be at -12 db, as you will see on the peak meter, it will be at 0.0 db, which leads us to the conclusion that we have 12 db of headroom above 0.0 db :) anyways, it would be nice to see up to +12 db on the vu things

    EDIT: in the little experiment i spoke of, you need to play some sort of music through it, preferably at a level above -30 db so you can see it work
     
  8. townkat

    townkat New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2003
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    1." you should have the right level arrow pointing the other way."
    I wanted it to do it right that way but i couldnt with kx standard controls i know how to use (i tried width negative -30 or something), when i'll find out how to do that be sure i'll do it.
    2.the kx drivers do have 12 db of "headroom"...
    Yep, i know, this is posible i belive because of the 10kx procesors calculate with 32bit.
    The outs of mixy also dont stop at 0db like the vu's do.
    I done it that way because i belive in digital domain the 0db should be the limit :), it is the maximum safe value, i dont belive the a/d convertors can convert more than 0db anyway.
    But i can modify it with no problem. Tell me also what the min value vus can read should be,
    is -120 to low?

    What i also whated to do and i dont know how is to make the vu text smaller and other color...anyone know how? thnx
     
    Last edited: Jan 25, 2005
  9. imperia

    imperia Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2002
    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    it looks very nice.
    waiting for 3538 release.
     
  10. BiCho

    BiCho Audiotecna- Representante

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2002
    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    looks really nice. they could be thinner so they don't use so much screen space, IMHO.

    I would love to see meters where you can change the range displayed, ie. -24db to 0db, -60 to +12db, -120 to 0db, etc.

    Waiting for version 3538 here too.

    Thanks for the great work!!
     
  11. townkat

    townkat New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2003
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i just uninstalled 3537 to install 3538 to build mixy for 3538 and all the files in sdk 3537 where deleted, my mixy project was there... and also its rar backup was there... so u'll have to wait a little for the 3538 mixy, i have to remake it all ...
    sorry, my fault :(
     
  12. BiCho

    BiCho Audiotecna- Representante

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2002
    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    That's really sad!!! :(

    I don't know if that should be considered your fault. I've uninstalled dozens of programs which hold my documents in their folder, and they never erased any document

    Shouldn't this be considered a bug?
     
  13. Lex Nahumury

    Lex Nahumury DH Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2003
    Messages:
    1,944
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    1. An SDK is not a program, so it doesn't produce any documents at all.
    2. One may expect that a programmer is not a 'normal user' and at least knows were his sources reside on his hard disc.
    3. format c: erases all data too. Shouldn't that be considered a bug too?

    Nevertheless a pitty, but I'm sure Townkat will not make the same mistake twice
    by putting his sources anywhere on c: and never in any SDK's install dir.

    /LeMury
     
  14. townkat

    townkat New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2003
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    be sure i'll not make the same mistake again :),
    ..i hope i'll remake it soon, anyway this is a good practicing c++ way to me :)...
     
  15. igor_levicki

    igor_levicki Intel Black Belt

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2003
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Food for thought:

    LeMury is right about one thing -- it is not a bug. But I do not agree with him totally. I believe that this issue is a sign of a bad design.

    Installer creates log of installed (copied) files. Uninstaller should not remove files that did not come from the installer. At least it should warn the user that there are other files that will be destroyed if he proceeds.
     
  16. Lex Nahumury

    Lex Nahumury DH Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2003
    Messages:
    1,944
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well, I have never heard any active kX developer making an issue out of this.
    TownKat also doesn't complain. (and he is the one who has to do the work)
    So I think it's really funny to see users or non kX programmers turning this into an 'issue'.

    All things aside; A programmer should never rely on some un/installer when it comes to the safety of his sources.
    Even if it askes a hundred times for confirmation!

    /LeMury
     
  17. townkat

    townkat New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2003
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    here is v007
    http://www.geocities.com/picacioiu/mixy4x2v007.jpg
    http://www.geocities.com/picacioiu/mixy4x2v007.bin (rename to kxl)
    edit: i forgot, it is compiled for 3538 now :)
    It behave strange when mute is used with stereo link...
    Vu range menu appears at right click in vu.
    alot of thnx to LeMury

    for who know c++
    after i changed
    "void iMixyPluginDlg::sync(int ndx)
    {
    char c[MAX_LABEL_STRING];
    kxparam_t v;
    int i;
    switch(ndx)..."

    into

    "void iMixyPluginDlg::sync(int ndx)
    {
    char c[MAX_LABEL_STRING];
    kxparam_t v;
    int i;

    if (ndx==EVERYPM_ID) // update all controls
    {
    for (i=0; i<5; i=i++)
    if (ndx==i){..."

    i get strange behaviour from some controlls, is it a must to use switch in this case? or my conversion is bad..
    Pls tell me what should be the things to keep in mind when performing this conversion.
    (an example would be great)
    thnx alot
     
    Last edited: Jan 30, 2005
  18. Chester01

    Chester01 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2004
    Messages:
    492
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    good god I love this mixer thank you; an option between a gain and a "volume control" may be something to look into, from +12 db to -whatever.... or maybe have it be selectable what gains we want (like you can right click and select the range of the vu meters, you could select the range of gains)

    EDIT: not taht I dont like volume controls its just that gains seem to give a much more versitle range over volume control, if I set it to 50 for volume, I only loose 6 db gain, also since I have a maximum peak readout at the top, it would be extremely nice to say "oh, my level is over by 4.3 db," and then adjust the gain 4.3 db down :)

    EDIT2: It turns out that the readout caps off at 0.0 db (I can only see that I am at 0.0, not 1.4 or whatever), can this be fixed? sorry to be a bother
    Re-Edit: My bad, when you select a range that is x - +12 db, you then can get readouts above 0.0 db sorry I didnt catch that at first
     
    Last edited: Jan 31, 2005
  19. townkat

    townkat New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2003
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    v008
    http://www.geocities.com/picacioiu/mixy4x2v008.bin (rename to kxl)
    compiled for 3538
    fixed strange behaviour when mute was used with stereo link..
    learned how to convert from switch to if :)


    "an option between a gain and a "volume control""
    i dont like volume control too, i'll probably make it only gain from -120 to +12 without any selectable options

    edit: http://www.geocities.com/picacioiu/mixy4x2v008for3537.bin (rename to kxl)
    this version is compiled for 3537 with 3537 libraries but is not tested so test it on your own risk and if u test it pls tell me if its working
     
    Last edited: Jan 31, 2005
  20. nyquility

    nyquility New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2004
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi townkat, first off wanted to say thanks for the great Mixer, its simplicity yet functionality is a really great addition to the fray of kX DSP Plugins.

    I wanted to ask if you could also release an uncocatenated version, as I wanted to have a go at making and putting slightly different Vu Meters in. Maybe I can make up for my lacking C++ skills with a little basic Photoshop work.

    That is not to say your VUs aren't esthetically pleasing, would just be a nice thing to play with (while I await the final release of 3538 final and the updated UFX plugins).
     

Share This Page

visited