Just installed Kx

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by gonz0, Oct 21, 2004.

  1. gonz0

    gonz0 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2004
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I just got Kx installed, got my mic working with Teamspeak and ventrilo working correctly, by using the fix mentioned by dj_stick, but I have a new problem. Now that i have the KX drivers installed my clanmates say that i have a fuzzy background noise now, that i have gotten rid of the creative drivers. Any ideas on how to fix this? Or has answer? Thanks for any help you can give in advance :)

    I have an Audigy 2 ZS.
     
  2. TravelRec.

    TravelRec. Alternative Audioproductions

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2003
    Messages:
    1,710
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Unused analog ins open in AC97 page? Mute them. Lower the input level of the Mic. Say more about the noise or post a record of it
     
  3. dj_stick

    dj_stick Apple Fanboy?

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2003
    Messages:
    17,575
    Likes Received:
    204
    Trophy Points:
    88
    use an expander in chain - someone used this and it reduced the noise greatly
     
  4. gonz0

    gonz0 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2004
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    could you elaborate plz stick?
     
  5. dj_stick

    dj_stick Apple Fanboy?

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2003
    Messages:
    17,575
    Likes Received:
    204
    Trophy Points:
    88
    in the DSP add an expander module between the ac97 points of the prolog and the epilog's recl/r
     
  6. gonz0

    gonz0 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2004
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well, after tweaking a ton of stuff, I got the background noise down quite a bit. I disabled the +20db gain, and adjusted the output the max. Still can hear it in the background. I think it might be fan interference, maybe it just wasn't audible with creative drivers?

    Also i couldnt find the expander module you were talking about, which branch is it under?
     
  7. dj_stick

    dj_stick Apple Fanboy?

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2003
    Messages:
    17,575
    Likes Received:
    204
    Trophy Points:
    88
    under the APS sub-menu
     
  8. criedbaby

    criedbaby New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2004
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    if i use line in for rec... do I need to use expander also??
     
  9. dj_stick

    dj_stick Apple Fanboy?

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2003
    Messages:
    17,575
    Likes Received:
    204
    Trophy Points:
    88
    only if you have an amount of noise that you are not happy with
     

Share This Page

visited