kx vs m-audio

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by riffmaker, May 15, 2007.

  1. riffmaker

    riffmaker New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2006
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi.
    I was using kx drivers for a while and everething was ok. My SB Live is about 5 years old and with kx it worked unbelievable...But it wasnt able to handle more VSTs and input was not suitable for guitars recording so I decided to buy M-Audio MobilePre.
    But the MobilePre has terrible performance. In Cubase it cant take more than half of performance of my old SB with kx! Is it normal or am I doing something wrong? :(
    It is quite a big investition for me, but with 13ms latency my VST takes 90% of CPU. And with this latency it is impossible to record a guitar. With kx i had 10ms (or with smaller project even 5) and VST performance was about 50%.
     
  2. dj_stick

    dj_stick Apple Fanboy?

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2003
    Messages:
    17,575
    Likes Received:
    204
    Trophy Points:
    88
    some usb/firewire devices have sloppy drivers, which reduce performance, plus the inherent latency built in the the host-client nature of the USB standard, i'm not surprised kX works better
     
  3. riffmaker

    riffmaker New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2006
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    damn :(

    And does exist some better drivers for it?
     
  4. dj_stick

    dj_stick Apple Fanboy?

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2003
    Messages:
    17,575
    Likes Received:
    204
    Trophy Points:
    88
    try updating to the latest version from the m-audio site, other than that, there's not really anything available
     
  5. riffmaker

    riffmaker New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2006
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I got latest version - year 2005...
     
  6. riffmaker

    riffmaker New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2006
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have found out that problem is in my computer...I got 2,6 Celeron with 1 Gig of RAM...
    The soundcard worked ok even with 1,7Ghz Celeron notebook...
    Any ideas what could be wrong?
     
  7. PITmaster

    PITmaster New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2003
    Messages:
    266
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Because it's about 50%, I guess it's because some cpu power save function like Cool'n'Quiet in AMD64. For ex. kx drivers with asio synth method m2 forces c'n'q to off, option m0 does not. New e-mu drivers also requires to turn c'n'q off manually.

    PITmaster
     
  8. riffmaker

    riffmaker New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2006
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks for advice. I should search for such feature in bios settings right?
     
  9. PITmaster

    PITmaster New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2003
    Messages:
    266
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes, something like this.
    Or try another asio synth method.

    PITmaster
     
  10. riffmaker

    riffmaker New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2006
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    A got there CPU THRM throttling, but it is not that. I think it is not cpu problem, because cpu is working ok, unless i'm working with soundcard, so it must be USB or bus problem. Or some issue with HD, i don't know :(
     

Share This Page

visited