LeMury's new DSP mixer (was "KX plugins in SX")

Discussion in 'Effects and the DSP' started by Gonzo, Aug 30, 2003.

  1. Lex Nahumury

    Lex Nahumury DH Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2003
    Messages:
    1,944
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Mute or Enable on MX6?

    I'm considering to change the current Mute 'X' checkbox function
    into an Enable 'E' function like this;

    http://members.home.nl/nahutec/kxplugins/mx6_113a.jpg

    Reason;
    Saying 'YES' to a 'No funtion', like the current Mute, could be confusing.
    To improve visual indication, it seems more logical to me to make all 'indicators' act the same.
    I.e. A 'checked box' should always mean;

    "..Yes, there is sound.." just like the 'R' and 'M' checkbox do.

    This should improve quick visual indication.

    Comments and feedback here....if none, I'll do whatever serves me best..:)

    /LeMury
     
  2. Daniel Drummond

    Daniel Drummond New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Messages:
    1,136
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes, for quick visual indication that would work better, but I guess you can just get acquainted working with it the way it is now. I don't think this is a problem, I mean, it also works fine for me here. One thing that would be great is if we could write custom names for the tracks and sends, but that's also a luxury, doesn't really have to happen.
     
  3. Lex Nahumury

    Lex Nahumury DH Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2003
    Messages:
    1,944
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Daniel,

    >>Yes, for quick visual indication that would work better, but I guess you can just get acquainted working
    >>with it the way it is now. I don't think this is a problem, I mean, it also works fine for me here.

    Yep, you are right it's not a big problem. But easy to fix. So I guess you don't mind if I change it.

    >>One thing that would be great is if we could write custom names for the tracks and sends,
    >>but that's also a luxury, doesn't really have to happen

    Yep, a scribble strip (see previous posts) would be cool.
    I was/am working on that, but the possability to integrate my 'Scr' and 'Eplg' and
    adding 'fx insert' points instead of normal in/outputs, shed a different light on things.

    Thanks for your input,

    /LeMury
     
  4. Daniel Drummond

    Daniel Drummond New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Messages:
    1,136
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    "Yep, a scribble strip (see previous posts) would be cool.
    I was/am working on that, but the possability to integrate my 'Scr' and 'Eplg' and
    adding 'fx insert' points instead of normal in/outputs, shed a different light on things."

    You are a genious man... That will be awesome... It will be real close (or maybe better in the end) to the so acclaimed mixer which came together with the APS drivers...
     
  5. Lex Nahumury

    Lex Nahumury DH Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2003
    Messages:
    1,944
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
  6. Nando Dominguez

    Nando Dominguez New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2003
    Messages:
    280
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi LeMury, and congratulations for your mx6. It's a very good and long wanted piece of the driver. :)
    Did you thing about the idea of having a pre-fader rec-level control? I mean: a rec-level control independent of the monitor level. In most situations when you are recording (i.e. a voice) you need a monitor level for the singer, independently of which level is being recorded. For this porpose I have to send a direct signal from the epilog, inserting a vol. plug and send it to the asio 0/1 input and disconnect the rec level out from the mx6. I hope I've explained myself, and have it as an idea. Cheers LeMury.:)
    Nando
     
  7. Nando Dominguez

    Nando Dominguez New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2003
    Messages:
    280
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Here again, LeMury.
    Some more ideas that could be useful. What about having two mono line inputs (L & R) and a pan control for monitoring purposes, the pre-fader rec level control that I told you before, and a new rec output selector for sending one or both of this mono inputs to either L or R rec out (or both, in case of using one of the other stereo inputs).

    Nando
     
  8. Lex Nahumury

    Lex Nahumury DH Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2003
    Messages:
    1,944
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi Nando,

    Yes, I have thought about that when writing the MX6 and decided to make everything POST input fader.
    It was a choise made based on dsp resource usage (if I remember correctly).
    Oh,..and because personaly I never use 'through card' monitoring.
    I use an external Mixer console for that.

    But, yes you are right. Of course it would be nice to have an independent PRE input fader Rec Level control.
    Btw; do you mean a Rec level per input channel, or a Master Rec Level?
    I guess per channel right?.
    Hmm...that would mean 6x extra code and registers.

    I will investigate that further. Maybe a MX6+ version.

    /LeMury
     
  9. Lex Nahumury

    Lex Nahumury DH Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2003
    Messages:
    1,944
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    That is all possible.
    However; the problem with making such mixers in general, is the huge DSP resource usage.
    For 10k2 owners maybe not a problem, but 10k1 users may not be able to load some effects
    when using such huge mixer.

    I'll take your ideas in consideration when I make a (extra) new Mixer.

    /LeMury
     
  10. Nando Dominguez

    Nando Dominguez New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2003
    Messages:
    280
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thank you very much for your reply, LeMury. I now understand that all wishes may not being possible. I was not keeping in mind that all of them need extra dsp. I hope you find a way. :) Of course you will have my help in the way you need. Cheers.
    Nando
     
  11. Lex Nahumury

    Lex Nahumury DH Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2003
    Messages:
    1,944
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    >>Of course you will have my help in the way you need

    Thanks, any help (thinking, ideas, layouts etc..) are welcome.

    /LeMury
     
  12. drshader

    drshader New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2003
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi, LeMury!

    Maybe this not possible, but what do you think about Pre/Post switches
    for each input like in real mixers? Or it takes lot of resources?
    I suppose - if MX6 will looks like any standard console, it's much
    "understandable" for musicians - that's why original kXmixer
    not so usable for me.
    Anyway - I like your MX6 and use it in my default DSP config.
     
  13. Lex Nahumury

    Lex Nahumury DH Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2003
    Messages:
    1,944
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    >>Maybe this not possible, but what do you think about Pre/Post switches

    Yes this is possable, it will of course also use extra resources, but maybe less then
    adding 6 extra pre-input Record Sliders.
    I will investigate that option when I start on a additional Mixer.
    Thanks for your input,

    /LeMury
     
  14. mAlo

    mAlo New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2003
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    mixer lite

    Hi, I'm seeing that this plug-in hyper useful but too heavy for my 10k1 card!
    do you think it would less dsp-expansive having 6 mono ins (with a pan fader for each) with only 1 (or 2) stereo in ?
     
  15. Lex Nahumury

    Lex Nahumury DH Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2003
    Messages:
    1,944
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Re: mixer lite

    That would take about the same resourse usage. (because of adding the 6 x 'Pans').

    If you run low on resources, remove 'Xrouting' and try my alternatives for Fxbus, Prolog and Eilog here:
    http://www.driverheaven.net/showthread.php?s=&postid=227448#post227448
    (Read the whole thread!)

    As for the MX6;
    The only way to make such a Mixer but with less dsp resources, is by leaving stuff out!
    Another 'trick' would be to 'snap' some controls (like Sends) to ~6 step fixed db settings.

    That is all I can do since I already moved every possable control to 'Host' (via dll) instead of dsp.

    /LeMury
     
  16. Daniel Drummond

    Daniel Drummond New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Messages:
    1,136
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes Malo, you should clear the whole dsp window and start from acratch. Make for instance a RECORDING configuration, a MIXDOWN one, a GAMES one, a DVD one, a GUITAR input one, MIC input one etc and save each one of them. This way you can recall them instantly any time you want and each one of them you use the full resources for a specific task (not wating resources for tasks you won't be doing at that exact moment)...
     
  17. mAlo

    mAlo New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2003
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Re: Re: mixer lite

    First of all thanks for the answers!

    I'm trying to use the mixer for eq and panning single mono tracks to a stereo file.

    I usually use few(5 at max) mono tracks, streamed via asio(ex.:track 1->Asio 1, track 2->Asio 2, etc) from n-track(the sequencer I use) to the fxbus. I want this tracks have different eq settings(pre mx6) so I need more than an eq. That's the reason I run out gpr resources.
    I've found a dirty solution simplifying the 10 bands eq to 5 bands and adding a pan control to it(code 29, registers 39).

    I'm reading the trhead about "Custom Fxbus, Prolog, Epilog for Musicians" (another wonderful idea Lemury!:) ) but I should find the time to download, install and configuring the newest driver first (I have the 3534).



    bye
     
  18. Lex Nahumury

    Lex Nahumury DH Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2003
    Messages:
    1,944
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    >>I'm trying to use the mixer for eq and panning single mono tracks to a stereo file.

    Well, having a 'Mono Mixer with Pan' per channel is not such a bad idea.
    If I have some time, maybe a Mono version of MX6.

    /LeMury

    P.S.
    From 3535 Release, the Input/Output Levels have improved
    giving ~10dB better SNR on analog recording.
     
    Last edited: Oct 24, 2003
  19. mAlo

    mAlo New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2003
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I've downloaded the 3536a, but the MX6 don't work.

    But I've done some test and using the src, and eplt I have a lot of gprs avaible
     
  20. Daniel Drummond

    Daniel Drummond New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Messages:
    1,136
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    MX6 comes included in 3536a by default. Use the one included (i.e. don't try installing another one over it).
     

Share This Page

visited