Logitech MX518 Help!

Discussion in 'Gaming Discussion' started by LagOwns, Jun 28, 2006.

  1. LagOwns

    LagOwns New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2006
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    LOGITECH MX518 FREEZES!!!


    Ok, i got this mouse for christmas of 2005 and about 3 weeks ago it starts freezing when i play Counter Strike 1.6. It hasnt done this when i first got the mouse. I installed the newest drivers for my Video Card (NVIDIA GeForce FX 5200) and it still does it. Sometimes it just completley freezes to where i cant move it then i have to unplug it to where it moves again. Now can anyone tell me what is going on here? I have searched and searched and searched and i do not see anything close to fixing this problem. The only thing i see i should do is buy a new mouse which i dont really want to do unless that is the ONLY way to fix this.

    In game: My settings for ingame play on counter strike 1.6 are the following...

    Sensitivity: 1.8
    Resolution: 800 x 600
    Color Quality: 32 Bit
    Renderer: Open GL
    noforce and noaccel commands (i dont have those typed in)

    My specs:
    OS: Windows XP Home Edition
    Model: Dell Dimension 2400
    Processor: Intel(R) Celeron(R) CPU 2.40GHz
    Memory: 510MB RAM (not 512, 510)
    DirectX 9.0
    Video: Nvidia Geforce FX 5200 128.0 MB
    Desktop Display Mode: 1024 x 768
    Plug and Play Monitor

    Thats about it. Now before i go i want you guys to know that i am not to good with computers so all that fancy shmancy talk and mumbo jumbo, i dont understand all to well. Such things like "Overclockingi dont know what it is and what is its point. So if there is anyone out there that can help me out here with my mouse problem will be great. I really need it. Thanks.





     
  2. Chaosophy

    Chaosophy New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have the same mouse (great mouse btw) and haven't had any issues with it, but I don't play CS.

    Do you use the logitech mouse software? And if so have you tried updating it?

    SetPoint 2.60

    Also you could try the following once installed...

    Open up set point.
    Click the game settings tab
    Choose advanced game settings
    And add the exe for CS to the recognized games list.

    Might also be worth checking the Logitech Forum and knowledge base
     
  3. LagOwns

    LagOwns New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2006
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Chaosophy, thanks alot :)

    I didnt know there was an updated version of setpoint and i didnt know that you can add games in the advanced game settings. I believe that did the trick and it hasnt froze on me once so far. That really helped me. If it starts freezing again then ill try a new mouse.
     
  4. Chaosophy

    Chaosophy New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Glad to hear it sounds ok now. Let us know if it starts doing it again.
     

Share This Page

visited