Master Mixer issues in Windows 7 and Vista - driver 3550

Discussion in 'Bug Reports' started by Eugene Gavrilov, Nov 17, 2010.

  1. Eugene Gavrilov

    Eugene Gavrilov kX Project Lead Programmer and Coordinator

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Messages:
    3,146
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    48
    guys, please share your results when using Master Mixer in Windows 7 and Windows Vista (kX driver version 3550 only!)

    let me know if audio is OK, if you need any special tweaks, change buffer sizes and so on in order to make it work, etc...

    report if you are able to get multichannel output

    report if there are any issues with FXBus assignment, too

    E.
     
  2. jaromanda

    jaromanda Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2007
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    28
    when outputting to Master Mixer using Media Player Classic

    FxBus 2/3 Front Left/Right
    FxBus 4/5 Rear Left/Right
    Fxbus 6/7 Centre/Sub
    FxBus 2/3 Side Left/Right

    Windows 7 (32bit), Audigy2 (SB0350), kx 3550

    Audio Quality is good ... did notice crackling on Side Left/Right channels once, but couldn't repeat it
     
  3. Russ

    Russ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2005
    Messages:
    5,722
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    48
    @jaramonda
    What about stereo audio with Master Mixer? Which FxBus does it use for you?
     
  4. jaromanda

    jaromanda Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2007
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    28
    FxBus 2/3 for stereo

    to be clear: the channels used above also applies to all media players, not just media player classic
     
  5. Russ

    Russ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2005
    Messages:
    5,722
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Thanks :)
    Regarding your side outputs (shown above as using FxBus 2/3 (IIRC, should be 8/9)), is that with kX's 8 point surround enabled (assuming that is still necessary in Vista/7). In XP, Surrounder+ must be set to 7.1 to enable 8 point surround (or it must be done manually in kX Console: kxctrl -shw 20 1 (IIRC)).
     
  6. jaromanda

    jaromanda Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2007
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    28
    I haven't tried with the "normal" DSP loaded ... I run my own all the time

    just tried now with "normal" DSP ... Settings in surrounder do not effect which FXbus the signals come IN on

    so .. no difference
     
  7. Kermet

    Kermet New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  8. christopherw

    christopherw New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2004
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I usually have 2/3 set as my primary output (with front/rear toggle enabled when I'm using my speakers; headphones are plugged into Audigy's Front output).

    For the first time, I chose "Master Mixer" in Win7 x64 Sound options - then noticed constant rhythmic clicking / popping during audio playback which became noticeably worse when loading a game (e.g. DiRT 2) to the point where it was driving me crazy.

    Also, using the Rapture3D sound engine (as required by some Codemasters games like DiRT2 and F1 2010) it detects the speaker setup as 7.1 and the Rapture3D Speaker Layout app is unable to modify its own output settings from 7.1 unless you set Wave Out 2/3 in Windows options. Then, it works perfectly.

    DPC Latency Checker reports latency around 200us (which is about half of the lowest 'recommended' latency, so that's excellent) - it doesn't spike or go into the red at all when I load games or other audio-related apps. The popping and clicking seems to correlate with CPU utilisation or memory usage (making me think about interrupt problems), but I just can't pin it down.

    My setup:
    Intel Q6600 2.4GHz
    Asus P5Q-E with 4GB RAM
    NVidia GeForce 9800GTX+
    Win7 x64 & WinXP SP3 (problems only occur using Win7)
    KX drivers Version: 5, 10, 00, 3550 - debug

    Choosing Wave Out 2/3 solves all of these problems for me. Very odd! (and have no kind of similar problems in XP SP3, which I usually use)
     
  9. dtman

    dtman New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I can report almost exactly the same problems - clicking/popping using master mixer, sound is ok using waveout 2/3. I am using audigy2 ex with an asus m4a87td mb and 6-core am3 cpu, nvidia 8800gt.

     
  10. totya

    totya New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi, for me equally. With master mixer, I get clicking/popping sound, with wave out 2/3 all right. Win7 X64, Audigy2 Value (SB0400), 4GB RAM. Stereo 2.0 mode, I uses front output (green jack), swap front and rear disabled. Driver is 5.10.0.3550 x64.

    Interest I see in windows audio icon/player devices/(kx) master mixer/properties/special/default format: 8(!) channel, 32(!)bit, 48000hz.

    Edit: With 3551 alpha, and use rear jack (black), symtomps are equally.
     
    Last edited: Feb 13, 2011
  11. DjHemmo

    DjHemmo New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    No mic-in or ac97 to use with VoiceSwitch as "microphone". Windows 7 x64 & Audigy 4 (0610).
     
  12. insink71

    insink71 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    kX Mixer Results:

    Well I am using this on Win7 [Professional 32 bit] mainly because SB can't even support their own product(s) correctly. That being said, you do a fine job it seems with this product.

    audio working for SB0060 with your drivers:
    SPDIF/AC3 Output - not at all
    Master Mixer - seems to play the sounds on the 3rd set
    Wave Out 2/3 - not at all
    Wave Out 4/5 - nice :)
    Wave Out 6/7 - very very quietly

    Couldn't get the microphone working

    I should also mention the only means I have to test is a microphone'd headset, but it has worked just fine in the past.

    Probably not as technical as you would like, but let me learn for a little bit, and I'll give you all the technical info you'd ever want.

    Rob

    PS Oh yeah forgot to mention... in the speaker test [off the kX menu], it says failed to create sound, but I hear the sound just fine.

    EDIT: I downloaded the following profile and boom! the microphone started working :)
    http://my.kxproject.com/uploads.php?search=135&by=id&type=kx&details=true

    Also, the sound only seems to want to work with the SPDIF/AC3 Output Now... but hey both sound and mic working in under 30 mins... nice.

    Rob
     
    Last edited: Feb 11, 2012
  13. alexb85

    alexb85 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Îòâåò: Master Mixer issues in Windows 7 and Vista - driver 3550

    i have a question. maybe not the best topic for it, but this one seems alive :)

    I have SB Live!.

    i've plugged in my Headphones to REAR(black) output. Master Mixer gives choppy sound as i use Win 7. i was using Wave Out 2/3.

    everything was fine until i've start playing Battlefield 3, which has heavy sounds ingame. noticed some sound lags and artifacts.

    accroding to FAQ i choose Wave 4/5 as Default and switched off Channel Swap to make it work thru REAR Output.

    So question is - do i still get sound using I2S with such connection/settings?

    because if not, then its no sense in using REAR Output. Front will be better for Headphones as it has AMP
     
  14. jaromanda

    jaromanda Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2007
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    28
    quick answer ... black socket is always I2S
     
  15. alexb85

    alexb85 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Îòâåò: Re: Master Mixer issues in Windows 7 and Vista - driver 3550

    thanks a lot. thought maybe chipset can choose which DAC-ADC to use, but seems its just physically different and thats it, ty :)
     
  16. aspectus

    aspectus New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2005
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    clean install win7entx86 and 3550, noticed horrific crackling, came here, this sticky suggested to try routing to 2/3, seems solved now, ty all!

    EDIT: sb0060

    EDIT2: oh and now the win7 volume control works by making that change
     

Share This Page

visited