my computer has broke - disk boot failure

Discussion in 'Hardware Discussion & Support' started by talkshowhost, Feb 18, 2007.

  1. talkshowhost

    talkshowhost New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2003
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    hi all, i hope someone can kindly me me.

    I just bought a new case and having moved everything into it it get the following message when i boot up:
    DISK BOOT FAILURE, INSERT SYSTEM DISK AND PRESS ENTER

    I have a feeling my motherboard may have be broke but am unsure?

    I have tired everything I can think of. Have cleard the CMOs and tried various BIOS settings. i also have an old image of my C: drive that I just restored and still the same problem. I don't think there are any problems with my hard drives as when using norton ghost I can browse the files on them all and they all show up correct in the BIOS. I am just away to do another restore but this time replace the MBR and see if that helps.

    Would appreciate any help/advice anyone can offer cause i'm am completely stuck now.

    Computer spec below:
    Windows XP Pro
    DFI Lanparty Ultra D, Opteron 146,
    Hiper Type R 580W PSU, Radeon X1800XL
     
  2. RoyBatty

    RoyBatty Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2006
    Messages:
    1,992
    Likes Received:
    115
    Trophy Points:
    73
    Maybe a stupid question, but do you have the boot device set correctly in BIOS?
     
  3. Dyre Straits

    Dyre Straits 10 Grandkids -2 Great-grandsons

    Joined:
    May 13, 2002
    Messages:
    19,685
    Likes Received:
    2,714
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Exactly what went through my mind.

    Are you sure the drives are connected in the same sequence and on the same channel as in the previous case? Just seems it's not finding the boot drive where it's looking for it.
     
  4. Asmoday

    Asmoday Demonic

    Joined:
    May 18, 2002
    Messages:
    5,157
    Likes Received:
    41
    Trophy Points:
    58
    I'd also say that is the culprit of your problem, i'm 99% certain that you have put the wrong drive as boot disk....
     
  5. talkshowhost

    talkshowhost New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2003
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    many thanks for taking the time to reply but the problem is now solved.;)

    it would seem that I somehow seem to managed damaged a SATA connector on the motherboard and have now plugged the HD it into a different one and it works.

    thanks again.
     
  6. [hobo]eclipse

    [hobo]eclipse ...just bummin 'round

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2004
    Messages:
    2,889
    Likes Received:
    73
    Trophy Points:
    58
    nice, always check with another cable, be it IDE or SATA after playing with them too, best of!
     

Share This Page

visited