my first time modding a case and a w/c project

Discussion in 'Overclocking, Benching & Modding' started by sahara_mafia, Dec 11, 2011.

  1. sahara_mafia

    sahara_mafia member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2009
    Messages:
    3,960
    Likes Received:
    117
    Trophy Points:
    88
    this is a case a picked up from the scrap yard

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    front

    [​IMG]

    back


    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]


    inside


    now the rad for the cooling

    [​IMG]


    [​IMG]

    these r the fans i going to cool the rad
     
  2. sahara_mafia

    sahara_mafia member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2009
    Messages:
    3,960
    Likes Received:
    117
    Trophy Points:
    88
    i was thinking and started to dismantle the case with a grinder to rearrange the compartments


    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]


    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  3. Tyrsonswood

    Tyrsonswood HH's curmudgeon

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2008
    Messages:
    13,529
    Likes Received:
    1,238
    Trophy Points:
    138
    Following along on this mod, man!
     
  4. sahara_mafia

    sahara_mafia member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2009
    Messages:
    3,960
    Likes Received:
    117
    Trophy Points:
    88
    thanks ty
     
  5. sahara_mafia

    sahara_mafia member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2009
    Messages:
    3,960
    Likes Received:
    117
    Trophy Points:
    88
    i need some help and opinions in modding
     
  6. Tyrsonswood

    Tyrsonswood HH's curmudgeon

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2008
    Messages:
    13,529
    Likes Received:
    1,238
    Trophy Points:
    138
    Like?


    Need some direction in order to give you some ideas.
     
  7. sahara_mafia

    sahara_mafia member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2009
    Messages:
    3,960
    Likes Received:
    117
    Trophy Points:
    88
    yess in a way

    cause the my dad toys with the plan made
     
  8. blibbax

    blibbax nahm8

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2008
    Messages:
    6,210
    Likes Received:
    203
    Trophy Points:
    73
    I think what Tyrsonwood meant is that we need to know what you're trying to achieve, or what problem exactly you require help with.
     
  9. sahara_mafia

    sahara_mafia member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2009
    Messages:
    3,960
    Likes Received:
    117
    Trophy Points:
    88
    o

    the plan was to shift the psu from the top to the bottom of case to create space for the rad for w/c and making the case a bit bigger height and width
     
  10. Tyrsonswood

    Tyrsonswood HH's curmudgeon

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2008
    Messages:
    13,529
    Likes Received:
    1,238
    Trophy Points:
    138
    It would be easier to build a box that's attached to the bottom of the existing case to house the PSU than to actually "move" the PSU within the case..... this would give you the room up top for what ever you wanted to do as well.


    I'm a little concerned about the tubing size in that radiator being so small, you won't have very good circulation without a high pressure pump.... high pressure leads to possible leaks. Are you tied to that particular rad, other than it's the one you have?
     
  11. blibbax

    blibbax nahm8

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2008
    Messages:
    6,210
    Likes Received:
    203
    Trophy Points:
    73
    It looks like there might be room for a PSU on its side next to the expansion slots, without making the case any bigger.
     
  12. mcdragon2

    mcdragon2 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2010
    Messages:
    255
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    so you want the case to be bigger?

    as for the radiator it might make sense to run 2 loops through it instead of 1 long loop. so you would cut the middle turn loop to allow for an additional input and output. this should allow you to still use a low pressure pump and have good flow
     
  13. sahara_mafia

    sahara_mafia member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2009
    Messages:
    3,960
    Likes Received:
    117
    Trophy Points:
    88
    the rad was of a indoor split unit that dad scraped it so i dismantled the coil and had to change it a bit for a proper flow
    i was looking at the H70 when doing the rad

    how did not i see that

    i understand the part of a loop but cutting it in the middle i am kinda lost
     
  14. mcdragon2

    mcdragon2 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2010
    Messages:
    255
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    [​IMG]
    what i meant about the middle was to cut the middle loop or the one that i circled in black in the above picture
     
    sahara_mafia likes this.
  15. sahara_mafia

    sahara_mafia member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2009
    Messages:
    3,960
    Likes Received:
    117
    Trophy Points:
    88
    sorry for not updating

    i bought a processor (fx8150) and still looking for a water block locally

    i got broke still looking for a sponsor for the block, vga card and motherboard
    it will take time to long cause this country sucks with computer parts for AMD
    so did this took the original cooler

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    after i heated it

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    so now i have to drill holes through it and loop water before it gets back to the RAD
     
  16. Liqourice

    Liqourice Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2005
    Messages:
    3,837
    Likes Received:
    339
    Trophy Points:
    93
    Scary, you have to be really careful so it won't leak when you're done!
     
  17. sahara_mafia

    sahara_mafia member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2009
    Messages:
    3,960
    Likes Received:
    117
    Trophy Points:
    88
    thanks bro i will keep in mind

    i am back at the drawing board to drill holes in the copper
     
  18. steves6403

    steves6403 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2009
    Messages:
    386
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    28
    If iwas you i would put the copper heat sink back in .Then cut some of the fins off ,drill rite through the whole thing on the side. then feed copper pipe through the holes that you made.The more holes you drill the better it'll be and be better than a bought one
     
  19. sahara_mafia

    sahara_mafia member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2009
    Messages:
    3,960
    Likes Received:
    117
    Trophy Points:
    88
    i will find another one
     
  20. Tyrsonswood

    Tyrsonswood HH's curmudgeon

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2008
    Messages:
    13,529
    Likes Received:
    1,238
    Trophy Points:
    138
    A square block will be easier to drill than a round one...
     

Share This Page

visited