Mysterious Computer Shutdown!

Discussion in 'Hardware Discussion & Support' started by Search, Nov 18, 2005.

  1. Search

    Search New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2005
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi guys,

    My computer seems to be automatically shutting down for no reason. It ranges from surfing web or playing comp games so I dont believe thats a reason (Playing Morrowind lately, and I dont believe the graphics that intense). I can only think of these possible reasons-

    1. My computer is old and its dying
    2. I have a virus :(
    3. It could be that "boot.ini" not found when I start up
    4. Something is not properly set up in hardware or software. (No its not the power plug [​IMG])
    5. Too much pr0n :rolleyes:

    Here is my hijack this log----
    --------------------------------------
    Logfile of HijackThis v1.99.1
    Platform: Windows XP SP1 (WinNT 5.01.2600)
    MSIE: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP1 (6.00.2800.1106)

    Running processes:
    C:\windows\System32\smss.exe
    C:\windows\system32\winlogon.exe
    C:\windows\system32\services.exe
    C:\windows\system32\lsass.exe
    C:\windows\system32\svchost.exe
    C:\windows\System32\svchost.exe
    C:\windows\system32\spoolsv.exe
    C:\Program Files\ewido\security suite\ewidoctrl.exe
    C:\windows\System32\nvsvc32.exe
    C:\Program Files\Omniquad MyPrivacy\MyPrivacy\mpsvc.exe
    C:\windows\System32\svchost.exe
    C:\windows\Explorer.EXE
    C:\Program Files\Viewpoint\Viewpoint Manager\ViewMgr.exe
    C:\Program Files\QuickTime\qttask.exe
    C:\windows\System32\RUNDLL32.EXE
    C:\windows\System32\wuauclt.exe
    C:\hijackthis\HijackThis.exe

    O2 - BHO: (no name) - {53707962-6F74-2D53-2644-206D7942484F} - C:\Program Files\Spybot - Search & Destroy\SDHelper.dll
    O2 - BHO: CInterfaceObj Object - {58F07DD3-924D-4141-BC74-299F523A95F1} - C:\WINDOWS\pxwma.dll
    O2 - BHO: ST - {9394EDE7-C8B5-483E-8773-474BF36AF6E4} - C:\Program Files\MSN Apps\ST\01.03.0000.1005\en-xu\stmain.dll
    O2 - BHO: MSNToolBandBHO - {BDBD1DAD-C946-4A17-ADC1-64B5B4FF55D0} - C:\Program Files\MSN Apps\MSN Toolbar\01.02.3000.1001\en-us\msntb.dll
    O3 - Toolbar: (no name) - {EF99BD32-C1FB-11D2-892F-0090271D4F88} - (no file)
    O3 - Toolbar: &Radio - {8E718888-423F-11D2-876E-00A0C9082467} - C:\WINDOWS\System32\msdxm.ocx
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [NvCplDaemon] RUNDLL32.EXE C:\windows\System32\NvCpl.dll,NvStartup
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [nwiz] nwiz.exe /install
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [ViewMgr] C:\Program Files\Viewpoint\Viewpoint Manager\ViewMgr.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [QuickTime Task] "C:\Program Files\QuickTime\qttask.exe" -atboottime
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [TkBellExe] "C:\Program Files\Common Files\Real\Update_OB\realsched.exe" -osboot
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [NvMediaCenter] RUNDLL32.EXE C:\windows\System32\NvMcTray.dll,NvTaskbarInit
    O4 - Global Startup: Microsoft Office.lnk = C:\Program Files\Microsoft Office\Office10\OSA.EXE
    O4 - Global Startup: winlogin.exe
    O8 - Extra context menu item: E&xport to Microsoft Excel - res://C:\PROGRA~1\MICROS~3\OFFICE11\EXCEL.EXE/3000
    O9 - Extra button: (no name) - {08B0E5C0-4FCB-11CF-AAA5-00401C608501} - C:\WINDOWS\System32\msjava.dll
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Sun Java Console - {08B0E5C0-4FCB-11CF-AAA5-00401C608501} - C:\WINDOWS\System32\msjava.dll
    O9 - Extra button: Research - {92780B25-18CC-41C8-B9BE-3C9C571A8263} - C:\PROGRA~1\MICROS~3\OFFICE11\REFIEBAR.DLL
    O9 - Extra button: AIM - {AC9E2541-2814-11d5-BC6D-00B0D0A1DE45} - C:\Program Files\AIM95\aim.exe
    O9 - Extra button: Messenger - {FB5F1910-F110-11d2-BB9E-00C04F795683} - C:\Program Files\Messenger\MSMSGS.EXE
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Windows Messenger - {FB5F1910-F110-11d2-BB9E-00C04F795683} - C:\Program Files\Messenger\MSMSGS.EXE
    O16 - DPF: {30528230-99F7-4BB4-88D8-FA1D4F56A2AB} (YInstStarter Class) - http://us.dl1.yimg.com/download.yahoo.com/dl/installs/yinst20040510.cab
    O16 - DPF: {39B0684F-D7BF-4743-B050-FDC3F48F7E3B} (FilePlanet Download Control Class) - http://www.fileplanet.com/fpdlmgr/cabs/FPDC_1_0_0_44.cab
    O16 - DPF: {41F17733-B041-4099-A042-B518BB6A408C} - http://a1540.g.akamai.net/7/1540/52...pple.com/borris/us/win/QuickTimeInstaller.exe
    O16 - DPF: {4F1E5B1A-2A80-42CA-8532-2D05CB959537} (MSN Photo Upload Tool) - http://by18fd.bay18.hotmail.msn.com/resources/MsnPUpld.cab
    O16 - DPF: {68253470-5D4F-4CDF-8D9C-353C14A2F013} (SVPorsche Control) - http://img.yahoo.co.kr/multi/2005/tool/player/20051026/SVPorsche.cab
    O16 - DPF: {75D1F3B2-2A21-11D7-97B9-0010DC2A6243} - http://secure2.comned.com/signuptemplates/ActiveSecurity.cab
    O16 - DPF: {82202BE7-C56A-487E-9E55-D84BDC1A5776} - http://install.anark.com/client/version1/windows-ie/en/AMClient.cab
    O16 - DPF: {85D1F3B2-2A21-11D7-97B9-0010DC2A6243} (SecureLogin class) - http://secure2.comned.com/signuptemplates/securelogin-devel.cab
    O16 - DPF: {8E0D4DE5-3180-4024-A327-4DFAD1796A8D} (MessengerStatsClient Class) - http://messenger.zone.msn.com/binary/MessengerStatsClient.cab31267.cab
    O16 - DPF: {B9DD5FFF-776D-4E53-93D3-A4463E63AD86} (ÇÑ°ÔÀÓÁ¢¼ÓÇÁ·Î±×·¥) - http://www.stopzilla.com/_download/Auto_Installer/dwnldr.cab
    O16 - DPF: {EF99BD32-C1FB-11D2-892F-0090271D4F88} - http://us.dl1.yimg.com/download.yahoo.com/dl/toolbar/yiebio5_1_4_0.cab
    O16 - DPF: {F54C1137-5E34-4B95-95A5-BA56D4D8D743} (Secure Delivery) - http://www.gamespot.com/KDX22/download/kdx.cab
    O23 - Service: ewido security suite control - ewido networks - C:\Program Files\ewido\security suite\ewidoctrl.exe
    O23 - Service: NVIDIA Display Driver Service (NVSvc) - NVIDIA Corporation - C:\windows\System32\nvsvc32.exe
    O23 - Service: Omniquad MyPrivacy - Unknown owner - C:\Program Files\Omniquad MyPrivacy\MyPrivacy\mpsvc.exe

    I'm just glad I got finished typing this without shutting down. I tried downloading a bunch of anti virus freeware programs as u can see but maybe thats the prob. lol in anycase appreciate some help :)
     
  2. PangingJr

    PangingJr Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2003
    Messages:
    5,989
    Likes Received:
    56
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Does this problem ever happen to you when your computer is disconnected from the Internet and all types of network connections?

    after checked that out, and then, if the problem is always happen when your computer is connected (to any type of network connections), then the computer system needs a firewall protection. if you're already use one then you need to check its settings. or consider using another firewall that is better than the existing one.
     
    Last edited: Nov 18, 2005
  3. Dyre Straits

    Dyre Straits 10 Grandkids -2 Great-grandsons

    Joined:
    May 13, 2002
    Messages:
    19,581
    Likes Received:
    2,548
    Trophy Points:
    153
    I'd like to ask also if there's any beeping sound just prior to it shutting down? However, sometimes that may not happen.

    I recently did a repair/rebuild/upgrade for someone who allowed another party to setup their PSU on the exterior of the computer. (Could explain, but it's a long story. :) )

    This computer had started shutting down simply because there was no exhaust fan working to remove the heat from the case.

    So, check to make sure the exhaust fans are all clean and working. Especially take note of the fan/s on the Power Supply Unit. This problem could very well be a PSU going bad.

    Good luck and keep us posted on further developments.
     
  4. daedal

    daedal Uber Coffee Drinker

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2005
    Messages:
    2,250
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    First off, pr0n won't slow down your PC, it'll just make it better. ;)
    ..erm, anyhow, what you are describing does not seem to point to a viral infection. Most viruses would lock up your computer or applications and in some cases distribute your data in some way but wouldn't really make your PC shut down like that. I'm sure there are some that do, but it's doubtful that is the issue.

    Now, have you monitored your temperatures and voltages when you started noticing this happening? It sounds like your PSU might be struggling and shutting down. Depending on your motherboard, there are several applications you can use to achieve this. Either that or something major is overheating and causing your system to lock and shut down. Try running your PC with your case open and see if you can last longer.
     
  5. Search

    Search New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2005
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Last night I played city of villians until I realized it was 6 am and crashed out...the computer ran fine.

    Today watched an episode of cowboy bebop then turned on city of villians...Crash

    My computer just shutdown with a blue screen and white text saying IRQ_Not_Less_or_equal (Automatically shutdown before I could read further)

    When I restarted it said boot.ini not found (I tried "use last settings that worked option" to no avail)

    Then it said "Hardware Found an error press F1 to continue or setup.."

    It took me about 6 tries to get on windows itself and my wireless connection takes 20 min to reconnect after the "shutdown"


    I use mozilla firefox as my primary, i'm assuming firewalls not an issue (?)

    My computer used to overhead because it was in a poorly ventilated spot and it has weak fans. I just keep the side of the tower open.

    My fans are really weak and my computer is pretty dirty as in dust, but its not like it has bread crumbs and jam on it.

    Well in any case I seem to be getting about 4 error screens now when I start the computer and sometimes it restarts mid "windows xp home version" screen and I go through this like 20 times till I get to "windows" where I can use my mouse.

    Ya guys gotta help me or my supply of pr0n is gonna dissapear! ...I really dont want to look it up on my dad's computer x.x

    Edit: Besides my dad's comp has no porn cause I found it on his comp and deleted it all...and its not like he can come straight up and ask me what happend :lol:
     
  6. PangingJr

    PangingJr Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2003
    Messages:
    5,989
    Likes Received:
    56
    Trophy Points:
    0
    you provide a much better information this time.
    the BSOD and its error message that you recieved is typically indicate that your Windows system having a bad driver, a faulty or incompatible software or hardware.

    i suggest you run a check on your system RAM first. and report back.

    about the boot.ini that is seem to be damaged or missing is a common problem and this is from the result of bad shutdown.
    you may also see some other errors that occurs after a bad shutdown and this because one or more of the elements of Windows are corrupted.
     
  7. Search

    Search New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2005
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hmm ironically couldn't find the ram check you spoke of in search -_-;

    Mind telling me how I would be able to perform one?

    Edit: Hmm btw i'm on my main computer now...if I didn't know better i'd say its working fine... :uhoh:
     
  8. Sandok

    Sandok New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2004
    Messages:
    9,259
    Likes Received:
    46
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I will never forget that line! :D

    I doubt u have a virus mate... I mean, they don't restart PCs usually. You might have a currupted version of windows (too many abrupt shutdowns) and thus, a windows reinstall would help :w00t:
     
  9. PangingJr

    PangingJr Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2003
    Messages:
    5,989
    Likes Received:
    56
    Trophy Points:
    0
    if the computer seems to be okay now may be you can wait until the problem becomes more clear.

    as for checking your system RAM you can use a stand-alone memory diagnostic program like the Memtest86 (memtest86.com) or the MemTest86+ (memtest.org).
     
  10. Search

    Search New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2005
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    How do I use a memtest? I see like 10 different downloads. I downloaded some and looked with winzip i'm still not sure...
     
  11. Robert McClelland

    Robert McClelland I'm An Uncle for 2nd time Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Messages:
    15,327
    Likes Received:
    255
    Trophy Points:
    108
    Try tune up and avg virus scanner :)
     
  12. Yousaif

    Yousaif Allergic to WiFi

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2005
    Messages:
    852
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    In checking out your Hijack This log, regardless of the other issues that are going on, you may want to check out a few of those entries and possibly repair them.

    O4 - Global Startup: winlogin.exe (could be an IRC virus)

    O16 - DPF: {41F17733-B041-4099-A042-B518BB6A408C} - http://a1540.g.akamai.net/7/1540/52...meInstaller.exe (security hole the size of Kentucky)

    O16 - DPF: {75D1F3B2-2A21-11D7-97B9-0010DC2A6243} - http://secure2.comned.com/signuptem...iveSecurity.cab (another security hole, though possibly from some free antivirus or something)

    Make sure you back up your registry before you make any changes.
     
  13. g35x

    g35x Hellhound Pilot

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2005
    Messages:
    1,101
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    priceless lmao
     
  14. Search

    Search New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2005
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Finally got to check the error report. (usually shows "send" or "dont send error report" which at first I think what error? thats when the computer instantly shuts down on me) I checked it and it said this:

    C:\Windows\minidump\mini120505-02.dmp

    Error Sig:

    BC Code - F7
    BCP1- seven 0's with a D at end making 8 in total
    BCP2-4 all zero's each with 8 in total.

    Btw i dont know what a BCP code is so hope i didn't give out something I shouldn't have :uhoh:
     
  15. Yousaif

    Yousaif Allergic to WiFi

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2005
    Messages:
    852
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
  16. Search

    Search New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2005
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    s

    Yes I use firefox, i've got the avg free trial and came up with various adware programs adaware could not find. I tried the cwshredder and it came up with nothing.

    Come to think of it, I was using a morrowind Mod (Gladiator), and I kept clicking on a book which summoned random mobs. When about 7 of them casted a huge spell individually and simutaniously, my comp froze. I did this repeatedly do do some ingame process but my comp got frozen about 6 times or so in the end. It seemed to run fine.

    After a few days my friend game touched my hardware and put in memory holder ( as i said i know nothing of hardware it just holds 40gigs and attaches).


    So i'm wondering maybe the constant morrowind freezes caused the computer to change settings to shutdown if it reaches a marginal amount of ram usage? Or perhaps my friend didn't know what he was doing. For some odd reason he moved my cd tray up on the tower and the dvd below.. I didn't ask him to but he did...he didn't put back in a cover piece for the tower which I find an example of shoddy workmanship.

    As of now my computer has been all night and "seems" fine (once again), and i hope the problems are fixed with the avg. If not i'll post more details unless anyone has more information. :)
     
  17. Search

    Search New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2005
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

Share This Page

visited