NEW:'Analog' Synth (DSP-instrument)

Discussion in 'Effects and the DSP' started by Lex Nahumury, May 27, 2005.

  1. trevbushell

    trevbushell New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2005
    Messages:
    323
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    hmm, recording the volume change within the midi track didnt work. i used merge and recorded over the part, it just did the same when i played back and played back at max volume??
    starnge, i even tried putting the asynth master volume down and that didnt help when i played back. as soon as i adjust it (or the cubase volume) while im playing back though it goes to the volume i adjust to. strange!!!
    thanx lemury for your help so quickly!!
     
    Last edited: Feb 2, 2006
  2. Lex Nahumury

    Lex Nahumury DH Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2003
    Messages:
    1,944
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hmm, that is wierd.
    But what i don't understand, according to your posts, asynths volume does follow
    the cubase volume slider correctly right?
    Anyway, I can't test right now, ...will let you know.
     
  3. trevbushell

    trevbushell New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2005
    Messages:
    323
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ok, ive done a bit of looking around and it seems that i can adjust the volume ok when routing the asynth thro an fx mix with all of the other tracks (wav and midi alike). so problem solved... but im not sure why i cant do it thro cubase???

    oh well thanx anyway
     
  4. trevbushell

    trevbushell New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2005
    Messages:
    323
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    no the asynth volume (master)doesnt follow the cubase volume slider. it seems to be independant of it. if the cubase volume is at zero you can control the asynths volume with the asynth master. if you turn the asynth master off and you cant use the cubase volume as it will remain quiet even at 127.

    but i have noticed that the asynth volume slider will always return to 37 if i restart the song. no matter if i try and re record over it at a different volume. its not the cubase volume slider that changes, its the asynth slider that goes to 37 every time.

    so in conclusion...... i listen to the asynth bass line and its too loud so i adjust the cubase volume down to 38 . it sounds good. i restart the song and its too loud again even though the cubase slider is at 38 still!! this is with the asynth master at 37 all the time. if i do happenb t0o change the asytth volume it always reverts back to 37.

    if i start again and record a new bass line with asynth set to, for example, 12 volume and cubase at 38 volume it sounds ok playing it in. when i play back it again it sounds too loud! wierd

    thanx lemury for testing it at some point... as you probably know im using kx3537, (cant move to 38 until asynth made for it as i cant bear to part with it!! lol)
     
    Last edited: Feb 3, 2006
  5. Lex Nahumury

    Lex Nahumury DH Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2003
    Messages:
    1,944
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ahh,..perhaps i know what happens;
    everytime cubase re-plays it recalls asynth's preset which sets it's stored volume.??

    LOL,.. I can't test right now because I have 3538j installed.
    Perhaps TravelRec can help/test?
    Eitherway, it will be solved.
     
  6. trevbushell

    trevbushell New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2005
    Messages:
    323
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ok yeah... that sounds like it could be right. thanx for thinking about it, and no hurry in getting it solved lemury. i can work with it untill its fixed (if it is a fix thats needed! it may be user error??)

    be good to know what travelrec thinks of it.
    trev
     
  7. Maddogg6

    Maddogg6 Tail Razer

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2005
    Messages:
    4,027
    Likes Received:
    26
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I was looking at Cubase SX3 - and dont see an obvious way to prevent patches being sent upon starting the sequencer.

    Does anyone know how/if this could be done?
     
  8. cuba

    cuba New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    This is probably the first time I've ever posted anything in this forum ever since I started reading it a few years ago.

    I just would like to ask LeMury or whoever that have been involved in making all these cool synths on the 10kx DSP chip a thing or two...

    Can I say/assume that what you guys are doing here is actually physically modeling instruments on the 10kx DSP chip? An example of such "physically modelled" instrument might be the 8-polyphony drawbar organ one of you made (Sorry, I forgot who... I just came across that particular topic a few weeks ago). If I'm wrong, then... would it be possible to do any physical modeling of instruments on the DSP? Does the DSP have enough resources/computing power to do such things?

    I'm actually a fan of Yamaha's VL instruments and one of the proud owners of the YMF7x4 chip -based sounfcards. Unfortunately the soft-VL portion of the driver only works in Win98. I really missed hearing all the very expressive quality of the VL voices now that I'm running on WinXP and I'm really looking forward for such a thing to exist in the KX drivers (my current working soundcard is an Audigy2 ZS Platinum).

    I'm not a programmer though.. the only thing i can do is PHP... :D :">
     
  9. Maddogg6

    Maddogg6 Tail Razer

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2005
    Messages:
    4,027
    Likes Received:
    26
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Don't confuse the term 'Analog Modeled' (used in the intro to this plugin) with 'Physical Modeled'. They are very different beasts.

    IIRC Phys Modeling makes heavy use of FFT's, and that it's something the 10KX DSP isn't really geared for - OR not enough resources using methods that would work otherwise.
     
  10. Lex Nahumury

    Lex Nahumury DH Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2003
    Messages:
    1,944
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes, the current DSP instruments are
    'just' modelled after Hammond and MiniMoog design.
    That is (as mentioned) not the same as real Physical Modelling
    for which emu10kx is not powerfull enough.
    Ok, perhaps we could implement just one 'skinny' resonator
    but that's about it.

    AFAIK there are only a handfull of VST(i)s that actualy
    do physical modelling.
    BTW, The term is used (abused) wildly.
    For example, NI's B4 claims PM too but in fact just
    uses tonewheel samples.

    Yep, I've always liked the Yamaha VL- series too,
    especialy for emulating wind instruments.

    /LeMury
     
  11. cuba

    cuba New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ok... thanks for replying... Since I gather that Maddog6 is indirectly saying that analog modelling is less computaionally/resource expensive, so, is it possible to "Analog Model" a real (non-synthetic) instrument via the 10kx.. or does "analog modelling" strictly means "FM-like sound modelling only"? and if it is possible, what range/category (ie. woodwind, brass, stringed, etc. ) of real instruments can be re-created using such approach ?

    I'm sorry if this quesiton is just a repeat of what I've posted before or it doesn't belong here (out of topic). :D
     
  12. Lex Nahumury

    Lex Nahumury DH Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2003
    Messages:
    1,944
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    With "real instruments" you probably mean; Acoustical Instruments.
    ( hammond organ and a mini moog etc are considered to be real instruments too)
    The answer is none.

    There used to be a kX FM-Synth but afaik it is no longer developed.
    So FM-synthese is the closest you can get in
    emulating acoustical instruments with emu10k dsp.

    PCM-synthese (samples) i.e. the SoundFont engine beats FM hands down.
    However for 'real' wind, brass etc. most (all) samplers suck
    because of the lack of expression, no slurs, no real legato etc. etc.
     
    Last edited: Feb 26, 2006
  13. kXfanatic

    kXfanatic New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Is there any 3538j-compatible ASynth release?
     
  14. Lex Nahumury

    Lex Nahumury DH Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2003
    Messages:
    1,944
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well, I have plans to release an updated and skinned version
    if there is enough interest that is.

    /Lex.
     
  15. Russ

    Russ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2005
    Messages:
    5,722
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Personally, I did not use the old versions that much (just because I did not have any need at the time), but I did have fun playing around with it on occasion, and would prefer to have the option to use it in the future, if I suddenly I find myself needing or wanting such a thing (no doubt I will), so, I would say do it :)
     
  16. edwardar

    edwardar New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well I'm definitely interested!!

    Please do it!

    Ed
     
  17. dj_stick

    dj_stick Apple Fanboy?

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2003
    Messages:
    17,575
    Likes Received:
    204
    Trophy Points:
    88
    i'd enjoy using it, expecially now, that kX supports the midi implementation a little better
     
  18. Lex Nahumury

    Lex Nahumury DH Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2003
    Messages:
    1,944
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    What do you mean?
     
  19. dj_stick

    dj_stick Apple Fanboy?

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2003
    Messages:
    17,575
    Likes Received:
    204
    Trophy Points:
    88
    iirc eugene added a midi "devices" for dsp-synths, to bypass the need for programs like midiyoke (therefore making logic compatible)
     
  20. Lex Nahumury

    Lex Nahumury DH Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2003
    Messages:
    1,944
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0

Share This Page

visited