NEW:'Analog' Synth (DSP-instrument)

Discussion in 'Effects and the DSP' started by Lex Nahumury, May 27, 2005.

  1. kokoon

    kokoon New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2003
    Messages:
    269
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    BiCho - unfortunately the page doesn't work (the links to the components)

    LeMury - about the accent - well okay it definitely adds some to the VCF envelope amount. but i'm sure it sets some attack to the VCF envelope.
     
  2. kokoon

    kokoon New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2003
    Messages:
    269
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  3. Lex Nahumury

    Lex Nahumury DH Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2003
    Messages:
    1,944
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Aha. So it seems that;
    Normal notes *always* have less VCA attack then Accented notes,
    and Filter Cutoff is set higher on Accented notes.

    /LeMury
     
  4. BiCho

    BiCho Audiotecna- Representante

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2002
    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    The links do work if you use the links on the left column. I noticed that they don't work when you click on the images.
     
  5. kokoon

    kokoon New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2003
    Messages:
    269
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    you mean VCF attack? if so, then yes, normal notes don't have any attack at all. well in analogue that's impossible but in digital the attack should be really really minimal. also, all the envelopes would be best smoothed/curved. is there any way to do that?

    i think there should be absolutely no VCA attack involved anywhere in a tb303 emulation because the real thing sounds incredibly punchy and usually (the way i hear it) i compress the emulators to get a closer sound/dinamics too. i compressed your ASynth a bit for that sequence.

    i'd say just the envelope amount is higher on accented notes.
     
  6. Lex Nahumury

    Lex Nahumury DH Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2003
    Messages:
    1,944
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    No, I meant VCA attack!
    At least, that's what I concluded from the link you gave me;

    On an accented note, the MEG performs two other functions. In
    both cases the MEG voltage goes through a switch (which is only
    on during accented notes) and then through the Accent pot:

    1 - It adds to the control current of the VCA. (Via an RC
    network of a 47k and a 0.033uF to soften the attack a
    little.) This is the primary reason why accented notes
    are louder. Note that in a TB-303, the MEG time is
    fixed and short for accented notes.

    2 - Via an "Accent Sweep Circuit" it adds to the filter
    control current. Basically this raises the filter
    frequency on accented notes, to a degree controlled
    by the Accent pot.

    Yep, I agree.
    I don't like the idea having a longer Attack on normal notes.
     
  7. kokoon

    kokoon New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2003
    Messages:
    269
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    MEG is the filter envelope generator.

    first point says that accented notes are louder ("adds to control current of the VCA")
    second point says that accented notes have higher cutoff.

    maybe i got something wrong but i think i got it right.
     
  8. trevbushell

    trevbushell New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2005
    Messages:
    323
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    kokoon,
    thanx,
    would love to have a go at doing something with your asynth bassline.

    have you got it seperate from the drums? if so are you able to send me the wav file/or midi file to my email address? that would be cool and I'l have a go at it. of course when ive made my million i'll cut you in (maybe 2% of the profit, seems fair! he he)


    trev
     
    Last edited: Oct 17, 2005
  9. Lex Nahumury

    Lex Nahumury DH Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2003
    Messages:
    1,944
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes I think your right.
    Ok, I'll try implementing 'Accent->higher cuttof' only, as you suggested earlier.
     
  10. DK-1

    DK-1 New Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2003
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Sorry If I missed it, but is there an Asynth version that works with 3538i? Also what about the Drum Machine? I think both are great and I would like to see more advancement of both.

    Thanks
     
  11. Lex Nahumury

    Lex Nahumury DH Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2003
    Messages:
    1,944
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    No, not yet on both.

    /LeMury
     
  12. ElmoLesto

    ElmoLesto New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2004
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well, with this and the drums plugin i want back my old 486 for a live gig! Thanks man! Congratulations
     
  13. trevbushell

    trevbushell New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2005
    Messages:
    323
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  14. buma

    buma New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Error: plugin library not valid

    i have this error with synth and drum plugin.....:evil:
    kx driver version 5, 10, 00 3538 - debug jul 14 2005

    :wtf: sigh!
     
  15. Lex Nahumury

    Lex Nahumury DH Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2003
    Messages:
    1,944
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You probably are using 3538(i) driver version.
    Current Analog Synth & Drum are compiled for 3538(h)..!!

    /LeMury
     
  16. snaper

    snaper New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2005
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    How to route this synth in the kx dsp screen...pls post here a picture :))
    Thanks
     
  17. buma

    buma New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    yes, my driver version is 3538i.
    not you compile for this driver?
     
  18. Lex Nahumury

    Lex Nahumury DH Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2003
    Messages:
    1,944
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Not yet sry.
     
  19. trevbushell

    trevbushell New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2005
    Messages:
    323
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    sorry havent used asynth for a bit (new baby arrived... equals no time!!)


    when i record a midi part from asynth into midi channel in cubase, no problem... untill i play it back. every time i do so the volume in cubase reverts to 127 (very loud) even though i have cubase volume on 50! what am i doing wrong?

    ive never got the idea a round midi automation at all!!

    warm regards
    trev
     
  20. Lex Nahumury

    Lex Nahumury DH Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2003
    Messages:
    1,944
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    IIRC in cubase, you have to actualy put (record/edit) the desired volume value as midi data *in* the midi track.
    That should do the trick. Let me know if it works.
     

Share This Page

visited