new build...

Discussion in 'Hardware Discussion & Support' started by comp_ali, Jan 5, 2010.

  1. Tyrsonswood

    Tyrsonswood HH's curmudgeon

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2008
    Messages:
    13,457
    Likes Received:
    1,160
    Trophy Points:
    138
    That either needs replaced or torqued back into a dead flat configuration...... (unless you know what I mean by "torque back to dead flat" I would recommend replacement)

    Don't run the mobo without a proper heatsink..... you'll fry it!

    Heat pipes don't work if broken.....
     
  2. comp_ali

    comp_ali Sniper

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2008
    Messages:
    10,427
    Likes Received:
    281
    Trophy Points:
    108
    Finally fixed , after re twisting the heatsink the temps went as low as 70s , then I added more thermal paste and the temps went 61-65 then I made the fan air flow towards the heatsink and the temps is now 50-60s . very good :)
    The system is very slow however and it takes long period to boot and the games as well.
     
  3. comp_ali

    comp_ali Sniper

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2008
    Messages:
    10,427
    Likes Received:
    281
    Trophy Points:
    108
    I used Data life guard form WD to test the HDD but when i run disc check , I gopt the following error
    Cable test : write sector error\
    cable test failed : please check the cable.
    I've replaced the cable and tried different sata slot on the board and still getting the same error ???
     
  4. Stuart_Davidson

    Stuart_Davidson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Messages:
    5,843
    Likes Received:
    188
    Trophy Points:
    73
  5. comp_ali

    comp_ali Sniper

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2008
    Messages:
    10,427
    Likes Received:
    281
    Trophy Points:
    108
    Do you mean I should reinstall windows again as well.
     
  6. comp_ali

    comp_ali Sniper

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2008
    Messages:
    10,427
    Likes Received:
    281
    Trophy Points:
    108
    I found a sol over the net , the problem seems with 1.17 vesrion of data life guard so I installed version 1.13 and it worked fine. pass
    Now the problem with games , Grid loading forever after creating the profile , crysis freezing as soon as the game runs.
     
  7. comp_ali

    comp_ali Sniper

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2008
    Messages:
    10,427
    Likes Received:
    281
    Trophy Points:
    108
    I finally got Grid running , after aproximately I start the game by a minute the screen start blinking constantly and at the end it freezed and I had to hard restart the computer as Alt-ctrl-del didn't work.
    I seriously think the issue is related to the card.
    btw , I reinstalled the windows from scratch .
     
  8. A Desire to Game

    A Desire to Game HardwareHeaven Hoosier

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    296
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Sounds like the card. I've never had this many problems with a build before. I'm really feeling for ya bud. It will all work out in the end, sounds like you know what you're doin. Good luck.
     
    comp_ali likes this.
  9. comp_ali

    comp_ali Sniper

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2008
    Messages:
    10,427
    Likes Received:
    281
    Trophy Points:
    108
    Thanks , man. I am pretty sure it is due to card overheating as temps in ccc reaches 100c while in game. The question is how to lower the temps as it seems the crappy one fan solution doesn't work.
     
  10. SeraphicSorcerer

    SeraphicSorcerer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2002
    Messages:
    2,125
    Likes Received:
    101
    Trophy Points:
    73
    A intake fan and exhaust fan setup should allow cooler air for the x2 cooler to do its job more effectively.
     
  11. comp_ali

    comp_ali Sniper

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2008
    Messages:
    10,427
    Likes Received:
    281
    Trophy Points:
    108
    I've added another fan , the air flow is towards the heatsink after I removed this black covering on the card to offer better airfolw but it didn't work either. IT reaches high temps rapidly especially for GPU which seems to take all the load.
     
  12. isaak

    isaak Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    2,302
    Likes Received:
    93
    Trophy Points:
    58
    I guess this is why some people choose to buy HP, Dell :(

    You've had a hard time with this one man, but it'll work out and something good will come out of it :)

    Try a floor fan with the side of the case off blowing directly into the case. If that doesn't fix it then nothing will!
     
  13. comp_ali

    comp_ali Sniper

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2008
    Messages:
    10,427
    Likes Received:
    281
    Trophy Points:
    108
    You won't believe how many fans I am using here , I've used a stand fan as well on the highest speed. The idle temp is as low as 30s-40s which isn't surprising considering I am freezing down here . With the stand fan running the load temps as 66c. Without the stand fan , it reaches 90s at load and counting until the windows freezes.
    I've noticed something in GPU-Z , the"GPU temp (MEMIO) is the highest of all temps , for example
    gpu temp 70
    gpu temp (dispo) 70
    gpu temp (memio) 95
    gpu temp (shader) 84

    is that normal ?
     
  14. RoyBatty

    RoyBatty Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2006
    Messages:
    1,992
    Likes Received:
    115
    Trophy Points:
    73
    Yes, that's normal. MEMIO has the highest temp on my card too.
     
  15. Trusteft

    Trusteft HH's Asteroids' Dominator

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2004
    Messages:
    22,435
    Likes Received:
    2,537
    Trophy Points:
    153
    FFS, you don't have manual fan set for the graphics card to at least 60% before you start a game? If you do, or even 70% and the card still reaches 100C then there is a problem.
     
  16. SeraphicSorcerer

    SeraphicSorcerer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2002
    Messages:
    2,125
    Likes Received:
    101
    Trophy Points:
    73
    Yeah I definitely would have the manual fan set up for any ATI 48xx series card) to AT LEAST 50%
     
  17. comp_ali

    comp_ali Sniper

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2008
    Messages:
    10,427
    Likes Received:
    281
    Trophy Points:
    108
    I already set the fan to 65% , I don't know why I can't choose higher from ccc.
    It is working okay after all the fans I put there. The idle temp went as low as 30s but it increases insanely at steady state during gaming session.

    I don't know if that's is normal with X2 cards.
     
  18. comp_ali

    comp_ali Sniper

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2008
    Messages:
    10,427
    Likes Received:
    281
    Trophy Points:
    108
    Don't worry yourselves guys , I gave up. I am gaming on my old system. i
    thanks for anyone tried to help.
     
  19. Trusteft

    Trusteft HH's Asteroids' Dominator

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2004
    Messages:
    22,435
    Likes Received:
    2,537
    Trophy Points:
    153
    If you set the fan setting to 65% and there is proper case cooling, I can't imagine why or how the card would reach 100C unless the room temperature is in the 40C+
    Perhaps something went wrong with the installation of the drivers. You installed (fresh) the full package that includes the CCC and did not install any other software that deals with the graphics card, right?

    I guess it is possible there is something wrong with the card. It is just weird. That the fan doesn't go over 65% is very strange too and I am sure it is connected to the problem. It doesn't go over 65% because of a hardware issue or a software issue? Hmm.


    If all fails, can you try a third party program to check and control the fans?
     
  20. comp_ali

    comp_ali Sniper

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2008
    Messages:
    10,427
    Likes Received:
    281
    Trophy Points:
    108
    tried rivatuner and i can fully control the fan speed now , I set it at 70% and the problem still exist , while gaming the temps goes up until something like 108c then the system freeze
    And , that happened after fresh installing only windows and the drivers as well.

    the room temp is in the 20s , add to that the amount of fans i've added .
     

Share This Page

visited