new laptop question bout graphic card

Discussion in 'Mobile Computing' started by Eize, Sep 10, 2008.

  1. Eize

    Eize New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2008
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    hello, i bought this laptop yesterday so i downloaded devl may cry 4 demo to see if this graphic card is any good, but i find the game unplayable even on low, i got latest ati drivers , here are the specs:

    asus X50SL series
    core 2 duo 2.0Ghz(T5750)
    3 gb ram
    Ati mobility HD 3470 256mb dedicated, can go to 1,5GB with shared memory
    320gb hard drive
    and windows vista premium

    so can i do anything or this graphic card rly sux?

    i saw dmc4 requirments and my laptop fulfils the requirments

    sorry for bad english and i hope u can help
     
  2. Teme

    Teme Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2004
    Messages:
    8,496
    Likes Received:
    175
    Trophy Points:
    73
    Hi there and welcome to DriverHeaven!

    I would say that you are ok with that card. :)
     
  3. Eize

    Eize New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2008
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    thks, but why does the demo run so badly??
     
  4. Teme

    Teme Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2004
    Messages:
    8,496
    Likes Received:
    175
    Trophy Points:
    73
    Are you using the drivers that came with that laptop?

    If you need to update your drivers best way to do this would be looking the newer drivers from asus. If they don't have any newer drivers for you you could use our modtool to mod official Catalyst drivers to work with the mobility chips.

    The mod tool can be found here : link remember to read the instructions on the mod tool's page.


    [EDIT] Oh I for got to say that the reason why it runs so badly could be the drivers or you are using gfx settings that are too high....
     
  5. Eize

    Eize New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2008
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    yea i searched before posting and i used mod tools and instaled catalyst 8.8..
     
  6. Eize

    Eize New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2008
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    some1 help me =(
     
  7. Trusteft

    Trusteft HH's Asteroids' Dominator

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2004
    Messages:
    23,883
    Likes Received:
    3,658
    Trophy Points:
    153
    What options and resolution do you use? Also, what is the frame rate you get?
     
  8. HardwareHeaven

    HardwareHeaven Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2002
    Messages:
    32,274
    Likes Received:
    163
    Trophy Points:
    88
    The 3470 is a pretty weak graphics card, I had one in a laptop for a while and I found it rather incapable. It is also hampered as it is on a 64bit bus.

    That said I didn't play DMC4 on it, but i have tried that game on a few desktop GPUs and it didnt seem that demanding.

    If you post more info on your system and settings......
     
  9. Nuke209

    Nuke209 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Messages:
    568
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i have the 3650 on my notebook, that plays fine :)
     
  10. Trusteft

    Trusteft HH's Asteroids' Dominator

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2004
    Messages:
    23,883
    Likes Received:
    3,658
    Trophy Points:
    153
    The 3650 is much more powerful than the 34xx. So that it runs great on it doesn't mean it will on the 3470 :p
     
  11. Eize

    Eize New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2008
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ok maybe its a weak card(i dont know , but if u say so..) but its in DMC4 minimum requirments, so it shud be playable at least in 800x600 in low,am i right? some1 said the card cud be under clocked, how can i check this?thks in advance
     
  12. Eize

    Eize New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2008
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Heres full system specs, from systemrequirementslab site:

    CPU
    You Have: 2 processors running - Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU T5750 @ 2.00GHz

    System RAM
    You Have: 3.0 GB

    Video Card
    You Have: ATI MOBILITY RADEON HD 3470


    Video Card Features -
    [​IMG]You have - 1.5 GB
    [​IMG]Video Card 3D Acceleration: You have - Yes[​IMG]
    Video HW Transform & Lighting: You have - Yes[​IMG]
    Vertex Shader Ver.: You have - 4.0
    [​IMG]Pixel Shader Ver.: You have - 4.0

    Video Card Driver Version (DirectX)
    Your driver version number is: 7.14.10.603

    You Have: Speakers (Realtek High Definiti
    Sound Card Driver Version Your driver version number is: 6.0











     
    Last edited: Sep 11, 2008
  13. Trusteft

    Trusteft HH's Asteroids' Dominator

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2004
    Messages:
    23,883
    Likes Received:
    3,658
    Trophy Points:
    153
    ^^
     
  14. Eize

    Eize New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2008
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i used 640x480 on low but i dont know frame rate, but it was so slow it was unplayable
     
  15. Eize

    Eize New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2008
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i ran atitool and it says core 249.0mhz and memory 198. is this right?
     
  16. Trusteft

    Trusteft HH's Asteroids' Dominator

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2004
    Messages:
    23,883
    Likes Received:
    3,658
    Trophy Points:
    153
    The clocks seem a bit low, but, are you sure you got a pass mark from the lab? The game requires the graphics card to have 256mb memory.


    Try the program GPU-Z and tell us what it says about your graphics card.
     
  17. Eize

    Eize New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2008
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    i got pass mark in both minimum and recomended requirments =S
    help me =S thks in advance
     
  18. Trusteft

    Trusteft HH's Asteroids' Dominator

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2004
    Messages:
    23,883
    Likes Received:
    3,658
    Trophy Points:
    153
    I don't know man. Perhaps you are expecting too much of that card. There is a benchmark utility for devil may cry 4. Have you tried it? So that we have some solid numbers.
     
  19. brutusmaximus

    brutusmaximus New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2005
    Messages:
    520
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    0
    As Zardon said earlier the card is not a gaming card, its on a 64bit bus and the shader power is poor. (as well as a raft of other problems).

    What you are seeing is basically what the card is capable of delivering. My friend has one and he can't game on his either unless they are older titles.

    Moral of the story is to do some research before buying a laptop especially if you want to game. Passing a mark in minimum system requirements is also something you have learned - they are normally set much lower than they should be.
     
  20. Eize

    Eize New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2008
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i used the perfomance test it had average 20-30fps but i cant play when i start playing cuz its slow,
    and i did some research i didint bought a better one cuz didint hav much money, i had money for laptops with intel x3100 geforce 8200M and HD 3470,my research told me that HD 3470 was the better out of the 3.



    btw will my desktop card Radeon x1650 play it better? or my brothers laptop geforce 8200M(wich i don t believe)
     

Share This Page

visited