new Noise Gate plugin

Discussion in 'Effects and the DSP' started by Russ, Mar 21, 2006.

  1. Russ

    Russ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2005
    Messages:
    5,722
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    48
    @ReWired,
    Thanks the report.
    Give me a sec, and will boot up Windows ME (with 3534f installed, as I have no such issues in 3538j), and see if the plugin is still there, etc.
     
  2. Russ

    Russ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2005
    Messages:
    5,722
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ok, I booted up Windows ME, and it was still there in the DSP.
    I also tried manually closing kX mixer, and then restarting it, and a couple of reboots (as well as unloading/reloading the plugin and configs with the plugin), and had no problems.

    Are you sure you did not move the .kxl file or something?
    Any specific steps to re-create the problem?

    BTW: You are using 'kxmixer --startup' right (other plugins get reloaded?)?
     
    Last edited: Mar 24, 2006
  3. ReWired

    ReWired New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2003
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    nothing unusual - just restarting PC, and it is not there.
    hm, it happend twice, strange, manually closing/opening kxmixer shows it in DSP...
    will check it after a while again, now can't restart...
     
  4. Russ

    Russ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2005
    Messages:
    5,722
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Did you try re-aliging the plugins (maybe it moved off-screen for some reason)?
     
  5. ReWired

    ReWired New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2003
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    no :) they are in center, two of them
    noone reported that...so, probably this is issue with XP restart process (not shutting down apps properly...)
    will investigate this
     
  6. Russ

    Russ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2005
    Messages:
    5,722
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    48
    You said it happened twice, was that the only 2 times you tried rebooting with them loaded, or did it work normally other times?

    Regarding Windows XP, that is what I am using, just not with 3534f. Additionally, I think you would have the same issues with other plugins, if that was the case.
     
  7. ReWired

    ReWired New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2003
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    yes, i was rebooting twice.
    other plugs are there.
    leave this, untill I or someone else confirm it again :)

    EDIT: after third reboot - n-gate's ARE there, so this is probably my WinXP issue... so many tweaks these days, lol :)
     
    Last edited: Mar 24, 2006
  8. Russ

    Russ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2005
    Messages:
    5,722
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ok.

    You might also want to try saving it in a config file and see if that works, as that should work the same as restarting (except it uses a file instead of the registry).

    Ok, thanks for the update.
    Keep an eye on it and let me know if it happens again.
    Also, try to note if it ever happens with any other plugins.
     
  9. Russ

    Russ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2005
    Messages:
    5,722
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Playng around with this, I noticed there is definately a click when going back up from release (particulairly when the thresholds are failry high). I also did some basic tesing with the noise gate in my RP200 to see how it handled going back up from release, and it appears that it always restarts attack under this situation (probably from the current level it was at in release), so I think I will probably modify this plugin to act similairly. This should actually be easier to do, and may end up using less resources, so I will probably re-write the whole thing when I have the chance (still without the envelope detection stuff, as I would still like to see how well it can do with out it, and I still have to figure out some stuff with that anyway).
     
    Last edited: Mar 26, 2006
  10. Russ

    Russ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2005
    Messages:
    5,722
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    48
    <edit>
    Nevermind, I see what it is doing now. The time calculation through me off as to it's purpose, as it is less about the time, and more about how it shapes/smooths the signal. I added controls for ga/gr, and looked at it on a scope, as I adjusted those values, and then it was clear.
    </edit>


    @Max M.
    I gave the envelope detection code you posted a try, just to see what it did, and I do not understand the results.

    It seems that the attack/release times are not independand of each other. The actual time it takes, changes depending on the other's setting (i.e. attack time changes when release time changes and vice-versa). Additionally, the resulting value (i.e. final value when the attack or release is finished, is different as well, depending on those paramters (can be way off from the actual signal level). I am not sure how that could be used prior to threshold detection, if the signal level can be that far off, nor do I understand the purpose of ga/gr based on those results. What am I doing wrong?

    Thanks,
    -Russ
     
    Last edited: Mar 27, 2006
  11. Lex Nahumury

    Lex Nahumury DH Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2003
    Messages:
    1,944
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
  12. Russ

    Russ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2005
    Messages:
    5,722
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    48
  13. Russ

    Russ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2005
    Messages:
    5,722
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    48
    @Lex,
    So far so good. :)
    <edit> I moved my addtional comments to the ProFX thread.

    @Max M.
    Finally got to check out UFX. Very nice! I love the EQ P5. I can't wait until it is available in newer kX versions :)

    @everyone,
    I will probably remove my gate plugin from public release, as it should not be needed (I will still work on it for fun, but that is it for now). I will update the first post of this thread when I do so, and will probably just direct people to the ProFX thread.
     
    Last edited: Mar 27, 2006
  14. Lex Nahumury

    Lex Nahumury DH Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2003
    Messages:
    1,944
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    What??
    That wasn't the 'deal'..lol.
    I thought you wanted it as a reference or something.
    I wrote that thing a long time ago so I have no plans to
    add any 'multi-mediaish' feature or update it in any other way.
     
  15. Russ

    Russ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2005
    Messages:
    5,722
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ok, I just figured that it would not be used, if yours is available, works better, and uses less resources.
    I only made it for fun, and because I wanted one that works better than the bundled gate. I released it because I thought other people might be looking for the same thing. If you do not want to update it for 3538j, etc, than I will keep this one availalble (I wasn't going to remove it right away, anyway).

    BTW: I am not sure what you mean by 'multi-mediaish' features.
     
    Last edited: Mar 27, 2006
  16. Maddogg6

    Maddogg6 Tail Razer

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2005
    Messages:
    4,027
    Likes Received:
    26
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Bummer... sorry if I was any influence on this decision....
     
  17. Russ

    Russ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2005
    Messages:
    5,722
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    48
    No, that has nothing to do with it. I find your testing helpful, as it is difficult to test everything myself. I just did not think anyone would need/use it any longer (and I only have so much space on my website, etc, so I figured I would remove it if noone was gong to use it).
     
  18. Lex Nahumury

    Lex Nahumury DH Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2003
    Messages:
    1,944
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    (hmm,..good question)
    I guess; anything I wouldn't use myself:cool: .
    yup me too.
     
  19. Russ

    Russ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2005
    Messages:
    5,722
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Geez, guys, it is not like I am removing all my plugins and leaving kX, or anything. I just did not think anyone would use this one (and they probably won't unless they have no choice. That may change when I am able to improve it, but until then...).
     
  20. Lex Nahumury

    Lex Nahumury DH Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2003
    Messages:
    1,944
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ah, an old idea just poped up.

    There might be another usefull related application.
    An 'Auto-Ducker'.
    You know, when a Main signal is present a 'ducker' will attenuate some other signal.
    Used in broadcasting when dj speaks, music 'ducks'.
    In reverb, delay Fx. I.e. when dry guitar signal is playing, wet reverb or delay 'ducks'
    to prevent 'chaotic sound cluttering' or whatever it's called.
     

Share This Page

visited