NEW: ProFx (3538) Update Incl. MX6 and AC97

Discussion in 'Effects and the DSP' started by Lex Nahumury, Mar 11, 2005.

  1. laserbeak

    laserbeak New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2003
    Messages:
    153
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    cool thanks russ
     
  2. Lex Nahumury

    Lex Nahumury DH Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2003
    Messages:
    1,944
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Your welcome Russ and Yep, I agree that would be cool.
    However, if it wasn't for those few loyal kX regulars around here, I probably would not even have taken the effort to release an updated ProFx Pack.
    Let alone adding/releasing new features & stuff.

    If you need any help with coding, i'm always willing to assist per e-mail, although I'm pretty sure you manage just fine as it is.

    Cheers,

    /Lex.

    PS:
    To all others who have taken the effort to post a simple "Thank you";
    Your welcome!
     
  3. Russ

    Russ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2005
    Messages:
    5,722
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    48
    In any case, It is not a major issue for me. I am perfectly happy that I can use the other ProFX plugins once again :)

    I understand how much time/research/work it can take to do some of this stuff, and I appreciate it.

    Thanks again,
    -Russ
     
  4. Tril

    Tril Triple screen racing ftw

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2004
    Messages:
    1,665
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Thank you Lex. We appreciate your work.
     
  5. silvertones

    silvertones New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2006
    Messages:
    283
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ah! Thanks all Russ, Lex. I'm with Russ I can get by fine using epilog. Its the other PROFX plugs that are really useful. And yes sometimes I get som sort of weird bleed over.
     
  6. thomasabarnes

    thomasabarnes Long Time ***** Friend

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    Messages:
    1,404
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    48
    I really like to use the ProFX plug ins!:)

    Thanks for the work and new releases, Lex.
     
  7. TheKezReturns

    TheKezReturns New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2005
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Lex, as always, you da man. Big ups to you. Thanks heaps mate.
     
  8. BuzzT

    BuzzT New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2006
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    @Lex: Thanks for this new release of PROFX. Really cool stuff. :)
     
  9. cbjaust

    cbjaust New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2003
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi,
    I really like the ProFX plug ins - They Rock.

    One thing I noticed with the kxlt in the presets drop down selection box is that 'First' is spelt 'Firts'. A minor point.

    Great Plug ins.
    Cheers
    cbjaust

    SB0092, kX 3538L, ProFx 3.08
     
  10. Russ

    Russ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2005
    Messages:
    5,722
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Are you sure that it is not a 'user' preset that you are seeing?

    I show ('built-in' presets):
    kX Standard
    Analog first
    Digital first

    all spelled correctly...
     
  11. cbjaust

    cbjaust New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2003
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I'm Sure

    Yes I am sure...see below,

    Click to view full-sized image!
    Hosted by UGBox Image Store

    I added two user presets and they are listed below the built-in presets with a separator in between.
     
    Last edited: Oct 2, 2006
  12. Russ

    Russ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2005
    Messages:
    5,722
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    48
  13. Maddogg6

    Maddogg6 Tail Razer

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2005
    Messages:
    4,027
    Likes Received:
    26
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Confirmed - its correct on my live - and wrong on my A2.
     
  14. Lex Nahumury

    Lex Nahumury DH Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2003
    Messages:
    1,944
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yep, confirmed ,for 10k2 only.
    Thanks for reporting this!

    /Lex
     
  15. cbjaust

    cbjaust New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2003
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    No Worries! Still great Plug ins, thanks again.
     
  16. Maddogg6

    Maddogg6 Tail Razer

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2005
    Messages:
    4,027
    Likes Received:
    26
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It seems theres a bug with DOO in KXlt in ProFx for 3538L (the version I installed seperate from KX, and Im not sure about the version that does come with KX)
    It may be card model specific - as I have the same model (CT4832 - a SBLive 'OEM' (4.0) ) as the person posted here:
    http://www.driverheaven.net/showthread.php?t=119117

    In summary.
    DOO doesnt turn off analog output if I use KXLt - but if I use Epilog - it does
     
  17. netguy

    netguy New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2006
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    thanks!
     
  18. Lex Nahumury

    Lex Nahumury DH Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2003
    Messages:
    1,944
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I've read that thread, but the 2 OPs eddie173 and stuff-x (both 1 time posters who havent even responded back yet) seem to experience a "stuck DOO toggle" leaving them with MUTED analog output.
    That's something totaly different then the question wether or not ProFX KXLT's DOO switch behaves exactly the same as KXMIXER+EPILOG.
    BTW: It still remains unclear to me if the OPs refer to ProFx KXLT or default kX setup or both.

    That is not entirely correct.
    On 10k1 CL cards, KXLT's DOO will (should) mute all relevant AC97 output signals in order to enable what kX calls “Digital Output Only” mode (Read: kX Help-> kX Signal Flow Diagram) which btw is a 'gimmick' IMO.
    'ANALOG REAR OUT' is indeed not muted because it is not on AC97 device but is a seprated Codec. I see no reason to mute it like Epilog does.

    So yes (as mentioned before);
    KXLT's DOO switch does not behave exactly the same as KXMIXER+EPILOG but as long as all available outputs (digital or/and analog) work properly I don't see any problem.

    Cheers,

    /Lex.
     
  19. Maddogg6

    Maddogg6 Tail Razer

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2005
    Messages:
    4,027
    Likes Received:
    26
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ahh - ok - me and russ (well, ok, Russ..) concluded different ac97 registers where changing with kxlt compared to epilog - but to be honest - I didnt know what to make of all out testing we did (he guided me - I made a batch file to spit out all the ac97 registers and I sent them to him with my observations)

    Whats weird is that no mention of an additional codec is found in my help about for that card.

    It must be another register muting the rear analog out...

    Well, its not a big problem for me as I prefer epilog for ease of using MM keys for volume/mute.. but whats weird is that even epilog stops working if I change the DSP but keep the same epilog as the default. (So we concurred it was a KX thing and not only profx - but if its known to not mute the rear - its not a bug.. But its good to know.)

    Then it *seems* after I read the ac97 registers - it will start working - but I would have to do more tests to confirm this.

    Thanks lex.
     
  20. Lex Nahumury

    Lex Nahumury DH Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2003
    Messages:
    1,944
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well, things are a bit complicated.
    DOO mode has everything to do with 10k1 cards using their AC97 device for both
    analog input and analog output.
    This can cause a feedback path between ac97 ins/outs in certain ac97 mixer configs.
    DOO is to prevent this situation and thus switches quite a few ac97 registers.
    If then, for some external reason , ac97 device registers settings are altered,
    weird stuff can happen.

    10k2 cards don't suffer from this because their ac97 device is only used for input,
    hence they have no 'DOO toggle' to mess with.

    No, rear out uses a seperate (non AC97) I2S Codec which IIRC is not mapped in addresspace
    so the muting is probably done in Epilog microcode.

    Cheers,

    /Lex
     

Share This Page

visited