NEW: ProFx AC97 Plugin

Discussion in 'Effects and the DSP' started by Lex Nahumury, Mar 4, 2005.

  1. Lex Nahumury

    Lex Nahumury DH Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2003
    Messages:
    1,944
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    http://members.home.nl/nahutec/kxplugins/profx_ac97.png

    Introduction;
    Besides saving DSP resources, the major goal of the ProFx plugins is
    to 'bypass' kX Mixer pages as much as possible so we can work at,
    and focus on one place;...the DSP window.
    [SRC] works fine, but when a ac97 source is selected, a user still
    has to go to kX Mixer's ac97 page to make some adjustments.

    All and all I think it's better to have 1 single plugin dealing with AC97 inputs;

    - User can now select Left/Right AC97 Recording Sources independantly.
    - on Audigy 1/2 cards, UDA device (second and better codec) can be
    'switched on' giving a total of 4 mono analog input signals.
    - AC97/UDA settings are conveniently stored in plugin's user presets.
    - All 'muso' relevant ac97 controls can be accessed from plugin's UI.

    Usage;
    Since current [SRC] also has ac97 inputs, you can not use it in conjunction with [AC97].
    That's why I wrote an alternative [SRC] version without ac97 inputs.
    It is included in the download.
    The rest is pretty straight forward.

    Installation;
    Download and unzip AC97.KXL and SRC.KXL.
    http://members.home.nl/nahutec/kxplugins/profx_ac97.zip
    Register them both. The new [SRC] overwrites the existing one.
    You can verify the newer [SRC] in that it has no ac97 capabilities.

    Compatibilty;
    Compiled for 3538.
    [AC97] should work fine with all CL 10k1 cards. (APS cards have no ac97 device)
    I have tested Philips UDA ADC succesfully on an Audigy 1 and 2 OEM,
    but I can't tell if it works on newer adg2 cards.
    As usual; this is a beta version. Use at own risk and only if you know what you are doing.
    Please report bugs and if it works (or not) on newer Audigy 2 cards.

    /LeMury

    PS:
    To all 'skin fans';
    I will skin the plug after it prooves itself to be functional/usefull.
    I wrote a kind of 'generic' and scalable skin so I probably do it with the rest.

    PPS:
    For those who don't know;
    There is absolutly no use in loading more the one instance of [AC97].
    (kinda like loading two Epilogs or two Prologs)
     
    Last edited: Mar 9, 2005
  2. townkat

    townkat New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2003
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Cool,

    This is only my opinion and may be not correct so pls do not mind on me.
    The normal src do the job anyway for me (i have SBLive!) so for Audigy owners adding UDA to SRC plugin should be better. All i wanted SRC to have was +20dB check as i tough it is analog but if it is digital gain it's not usefull since u can use separate gain plugin.

    An usefull plugin would be an in-out router like normal what-you-hear not what-you-can-record, this probably cant use DSP for calculations, it's a thing u can do with normal windows mixer (playback not recording) with standard drivers but it's not posible trough KX DSP.
     
  3. 2ndhannes

    2ndhannes New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2005
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi LeMury!

    The new src seems to work fine with my Audigy 2 ZS - big thanks!

    Bye,
    Hannes
     
  4. Samir

    Samir kX Lover

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2003
    Messages:
    520
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    LeMury:

    UDA = Philips ADC ???
     
  5. Lex Nahumury

    Lex Nahumury DH Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2003
    Messages:
    1,944
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Glad to hear that because I wrote [SRC]:cool: .
    No seriously;
    SRC is nice, but the fact that each SRC instance can 'share/carry/initialise' AC97
    is not good and bothered me from the start.
    There is only 1 AC97 device, so there should only be 1 plugin asserting this device.

    No I disagree, because to fully utilize UDA, user has to open kX Mixer->AC97 page and set some sliders too.

    Besides all that, there are a lot of users who requested seperate L/R ac97 rec source.
    This is not possible with current AC97 page.
    Anyway; The goal is to make things safer, easier and clearer to operate.

    Do you mean +20dB Mic Boost? If so, that is analog in AC97 device but very noisy.

    What exactly do you mean with "what-you-hear"?
    To me, "what-you-hear" is a mix of;
    All computer generated playback signals + All (analog+digital) Input signals.
    I don't see why this can't be done in kX DSP.
    If you mean only 'All ac97 Analog Input signals', then it is possible on sblive and audigy 1
    to program AC97 device to ouput directly to DAC bypassing everything. (ThroughAC97)

    /LeMury
     
  6. Lex Nahumury

    Lex Nahumury DH Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2003
    Messages:
    1,944
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ok, but does the [AC97] plugin work correctly on your 2ZS?

    /LeMury
     
  7. Lex Nahumury

    Lex Nahumury DH Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2003
    Messages:
    1,944
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes.

    /LeMury
    PS: what card do you have Samir?
    (I have sigs turned off)
     
  8. townkat

    townkat New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2003
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    "Glad to hear that because I wrote [SRC] ."
    I know :).thnx again for it, the big goal for me is not dsp usage but that i can only get what i need , not more (i belive this translates as screen space economy and less brain usage :)).

    "If you mean only 'All ac97 Analog Input signals', then it is possible on sblive and audigy 1
    to program AC97 device to ouput directly to DAC bypassing everything. (ThroughAC97)"
    Thats what i mean, its a feature that cant be controled with actual plugins (probably except kx mixer)

    "Do you mean +20dB Mic Boost? If so, that is analog in AC97 device but very noisy."
    Yep, thats what i mean, it should exist in src and appear or became active only when mic is selected (and dissapear or became inactive when other source is selected).

    " to fully utilize UDA, user has to open kX Mixer->AC97 page and set some sliders too."
    I dont have UDA on my card but why not adding the sliders to SRC and make them available (visible or active) only when UDA is selected.

    "Besides all that, there are a lot of users who requested seperate L/R ac97 rec source."
    I know, i read that post, this is an usefull thing but then add 2 Combo-boxes to SRC (left/right) and a gang (stereo link) checkbox (checked by default of corse :)).

    cya
     
  9. Lex Nahumury

    Lex Nahumury DH Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2003
    Messages:
    1,944
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes, but that still does not solve the 'multiple ac97 instances issue' I mentioned.

    /LeMury
     
  10. townkat

    townkat New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2003
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    "Yes, but that still does not solve the 'multiple ac97 instances issue' I mentioned."
    Ohh, sorry i forgot, if AC97 or UDA is already used just make it inactive or invisible in combobox (inactive (gray) is better that invisible here so u know is used and not hardware unavailable) and load AC97/UDA code only when its not already in use, but this can be done only if u know how to detect if UDA or AC97 is already used (in other plugin...), cause i dont know how to do this or if it is posible to do it.
     
  11. Lex Nahumury

    Lex Nahumury DH Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2003
    Messages:
    1,944
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yep,..that is exactly the 'problem'..!
    But even if there is some form of 'plug to plug' notification, which SRC's ac97 instance must be disabled or greyed out???
    First, last, second, middle??
    Like I said; it's not good to have multiple ac97 accessing plugins active.

    /LeMury
     
  12. townkat

    townkat New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2003
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    not the instance should be gray-out but the text that make it selectable in combobox.
    Let's say i have 2 SRC plugins added in kx dsp. Well, i open 1'st plugin and select "AC97 mic" in combobox, then i open the second SRC plugin, and, when i clik in combobox to see the sources available all AC97 sources are not displayed, or are grayed-out (inactive) so they cannot be selected..
    So, the question
    "which SRC's ac97 instance must be disabled or greyed out???"
    became
    "which SRC's ac97 instance must disable or greyed out some options from its source combobox ???"
    and the answer is
    all except the first one where the AC97/UDA is selected
     
  13. thomasabarnes

    thomasabarnes Long Time ***** Friend

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    Messages:
    1,404
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Hi LeMury:

    Thanks man, for the new plugin! I tried it out, and it's working beautifully with recording Mic and Line In sources onto separate tracks. This was right on time for some kX users. I may even need to use it one day. There's a guy who asked about being able to record Mic and Line In on separate tracks, and I had mentioned that he could get a Y adapter, connect it to Line in and connect his guitar to one female connector and his mic to the other, but now you have solved this problem. Man I'm beginning to think youre a genius.:) Thanks for your help and work.
     
  14. Lex Nahumury

    Lex Nahumury DH Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2003
    Messages:
    1,944
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I understood you the first time. Ofcourse I did not mean disable the whole src instance....(duh).
    Only it's ac97 part of course.

    Nah, that's not elegant.
    If user would accidently select the wrong SRC instance, all other SRCs ac97 parts get disabled in one blow. User will have to reload all SRCs, or I have to program yet another reset button.
    To messy!
    Besides, adding the plug 2 plug notification would also be quite messy and not worth the effort.

    No, I can't be confinced. Current SRC's AC97 implementation is (although well meant) a design flaw on my part.

    /LeMury
     
    Last edited: Mar 4, 2005
  15. Lex Nahumury

    Lex Nahumury DH Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2003
    Messages:
    1,944
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks Thomas but the 'Y adapter" solution was and still is the best solution
    if user has some external gear like a mixer console or diff. preamps.
    That is:
    Mic->Preamp->L LineIn--\_____LINE_IN
    Git->Preamp->R LineIn--/

    /LeMury
     
  16. townkat

    townkat New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2003
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    hmm.. now i understand wht u dont like...i agree with you on this part but ther should be some solution for this too. :). I will think more and if any ideea comes to my head i'll post here.
     
  17. Lex Nahumury

    Lex Nahumury DH Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2003
    Messages:
    1,944
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ok.Btw; Reason for releasing a separate [AC97] plugin is also (if not only) to make kX (DSP) more understandable for new non-tech users.

    There are to many post about people getting send back and forth between
    kX Mixer and the DSP Window just to get their Mic to work or be able to hear their guitar.

    /LeMury
     
  18. radiocolonel.it

    radiocolonel.it New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2005
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Great Job

    ... It works great with my SB live 5.1 (SB0102) and CT4832.
    It's what i was looking for!!! I needed to record both voice and guitar at the same time on two different tracks and there was no way to do it before. This DSP is a really flexible tool! Congratulions for your job LeMury!!!
     
  19. John Lodge

    John Lodge New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Sb0400

    Works with the Audigy 2 Value.

    Of course the output to speakers with this card still does not work yet with the 3538 beta.

    But AC97 input and output to a Windows Application (it is not an ASIO aware app that I am using) worked and continues to do so.

    The UDA switch works whereas the switch on the kmixer ac97 page did not.

    Good work!!
     
  20. Lex Nahumury

    Lex Nahumury DH Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2003
    Messages:
    1,944
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Good! Thx for reporting this.
     

Share This Page

visited