Newbee to linux

Discussion in 'Windows & Other OS Discussion & Support' started by edperks, May 29, 2003.

  1. edperks

    edperks Life is Good

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    782
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Just got a copy of mandrake 8.0 today at a auction was wondering if it will install ok with XP home I have a 5 gig partion made an was wondering if it has some kind of boot loader that will modify XP boot.ini or will I have to modify it manually.

    EDIT: I was told that mandrake 8.0 is upgradeable to 9.x is this true


    Thanks
     
  2. UberLord

    UberLord A Legend in Underwear

    Joined:
    May 8, 2002
    Messages:
    5,255
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Actually it will install it's own boot loader into the MBR by default, leaving your boot.ini intact. It will also give you the choice of which OS to load. Windows NT/XP's boot loader via boot.ini isn't all that great for non windows stuff (suprise, suprise)

    Haven't tried it myself, but as a general rule of thumb I always clean format and install refresh for any new OS. It's a long winded approach as Linux releases are generally more frequent than Windows, but you always end up with a nice clean environment for customising. I like this as I generally swap out some RedHat packages with different ones I prefer - when I install a newer RedHat I have a look at their defaults and then if I still don't like em then I swap em out again.

    This means that I'm constantly finding new software which I previously would have overlooked as I was happy with my existing stuff.

    But then, some peeps (like my Dad) just like to use the same old software from circa 1995 in Windows XP (ie he still uses Office 95 !!!)
     
  3. edperks

    edperks Life is Good

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    782
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Thanks!! When I get home from work today I will install and let you know how everything went.

    Thanks Again!!
     
  4. UberLord

    UberLord A Legend in Underwear

    Joined:
    May 8, 2002
    Messages:
    5,255
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Good luck and welcome to the Wonderful World Of Linux :)
     
  5. craig588

    craig588 Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    3,510
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Wait, Lunix costs money now? :confused:
     
  6. UberLord

    UberLord A Legend in Underwear

    Joined:
    May 8, 2002
    Messages:
    5,255
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    No, you can freely download it.

    However, some companies do sell versions of Linux with various levels of support - which costs money.
    Also, there's the burn-to-cd costs, P&P costs, etc.

    I assume ed is getting a boxed linux
     
  7. craig588

    craig588 Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    3,510
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Oh, I get it now. I have seen those distributions of lunix in stores, for some reason I thought they were also free. :lol:
     
  8. EvilTypeGuy

    EvilTypeGuy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2003
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Don't confuse Linux with Lunix

    Don't confuse Linux with Lunix they are two different opreating systems :)

    This is Lunix:

    http://lng.sourceforge.net/

    An operating system for Commodore computers :)
     
  9. craig588

    craig588 Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    3,510
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Opps, I didn't notice I was spelling it that way.
     
  10. edperks

    edperks Life is Good

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    782
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    28
    The version I got a the auction has 2 disks they have Linux central on them the first disks say install disk and second is extension It is version 8.0 X86. I just got home from work so I going to give it a try I will post soon as I get it up and running.

    Wish me luck!!
     
  11. edperks

    edperks Life is Good

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    782
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Well It looks like Im going to have to put another drive in to get it ti install My boot drive is NTFS and I dont think it can mount it. I treid but it said something about type 2 EXT. I have some other drives around here somewhereI will use one of them.
     
  12. UberLord

    UberLord A Legend in Underwear

    Joined:
    May 8, 2002
    Messages:
    5,255
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Mandrake 8 supports NTFS out of the box - well, read only that is.

    Whats the problem exactly?
     
  13. edperks

    edperks Life is Good

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    782
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Well I tried, I did get it installed on the new drive but when the interface comes up asking for username and password it says invalid everytime. I know exactly what I told it my username and password was, I use the same for everything. But it just tells me Invalid. That enough for tonight have some work to do. I will work on it this weekend.

    Thanks for your concerns UberLord !!
     
  14. UberLord

    UberLord A Legend in Underwear

    Joined:
    May 8, 2002
    Messages:
    5,255
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Did you have caps lock on by any chance?
     
  15. edperks

    edperks Life is Good

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    782
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Actually I tried it both ways thinking maybe it was case sensitive.
     
  16. UberLord

    UberLord A Legend in Underwear

    Joined:
    May 8, 2002
    Messages:
    5,255
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Both username and password ARE case sensitive - unlike windows where only the password is case sensitive
     
  17. DocterDee

    DocterDee New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2002
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Wanna install Linux as a second OS (WinXP) Can somebody explain me "Version(?) is the best for me Newbie :) and where can i load it.
     
  18. bld155

    bld155 lost Alaskan in the lower 48

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2002
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    use the numbers/letter and not the number pad to type in user name and pass
     
  19. UberLord

    UberLord A Legend in Underwear

    Joined:
    May 8, 2002
    Messages:
    5,255
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I would try RedHat 9 as it's very simple to install and imo the best all round distro imo
    You can download it from http://www.redhat.com
     
  20. The_Neon_Cowboy

    The_Neon_Cowboy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2002
    Messages:
    16,076
    Likes Received:
    28
    Trophy Points:
    73
    mandrake 8.0 is upgradeable to 9.x

    yea linux is free .. it was developed under a gnu its "freeware" ... you can downlaad it / share it with out paying 1 cent lol

    lol what you pay for at the store box models is for support and for etra programs


    look on your installion cd ... there sould be something for booting into linux from windows...ther is also bootmagic 8.0 it works to
     

Share This Page

visited