NO NET? NO SANITY!! >< dammit. weird PROBLEM

Discussion in 'Hardware Discussion & Support' started by ptsigas, Dec 5, 2010.

  1. ptsigas

    ptsigas New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hey guys how yall doing

    anyhoot I been trying to troubleshoot a PC that cannot connect to the internet whatsoever.

    a few days ago this problem did not exist...but now its been here for 2 nights!!

    alright ill explain and start things off with which mobo it has.

    ASUS M4A785-M
    win7 ult
    onboard sound+LAN (realtek)

    alright everything is uptodate including the OS packs/updates hot fixes.


    pretty much its showing a NO CONNECTION available on the taskbar.

    1.i inspected the physical hardware and i see no issues (spills...burns nothing).

    2.I made sure that the adapter was enabled (it was)
    drivers...fully uptodate.

    3.its registered in device manager (with no errors or warnings)

    4.no IRQ issues.

    5.i connected the PC directly to the ISP MODEM (reset modem, did nothing.)

    6. system restore (incase someone messed with a setting of some sort) - that did not help.

    7. installed a Dlink Ethernet card (win7 had updated drivers) while disabling the onbaord lan to avoid any sort of conflict. This did not help whatsoever.

    8. tried different Cat5 cables, that are used with other pcs, to no avail.

    **I'm thinking its an OS issue. so im going to do a repair install (trying to avoid reformat if possible)

    im also wondering why the heck it shows as ENABLED in the network connections window...yet when i try and IPCONFIG /all it doesnt pop up (the Dlink NOR the realtek (pre-disabled) appeared).

    its not the router cause this PC and the other pc have no issues connecting via router.

    ps3 is always connected with NO interruptions (wireless)


    I checked BIOS - its there...but again NO connecting whatsoever.

    i questioned my sis and dad (their PC that has the issue) if they made ANY changes to the pc...but they are not adapt with the computer. just basic users.


    I have done what I could and my conclusion is Software related (operating 7)
    the UTTER last resort would be a new MOBO (we bought this brand new and it had NO issues prior to a few days ago.)

    the pC is plugged into a power bar....we had no storms or any kind of power out, not even a hiccup!


    everything else runs great - no virus' detected (using AVG, fully updated and registered)...

    OH yes it does not even attempt to renew IP if i select it to (just says NO connection available!)

    oh yes DHCP ENABLED - i dont have port forwarding, static or anything else like that. its all set for random.


    any insight advice and suggestions is appreciated. all in all thanks for reading and GAME ON!
     
  2. mkk

    mkk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Messages:
    5,334
    Likes Received:
    152
    Trophy Points:
    73
    Now there's a bag of christmas nuts alright. The only time I've seen something similar is when the TCP/IP stack in Windows has gone awry. Now the last time I was repairing that manually was with WinXP and then there was a set of registry keys involved, but there are some general manouvers for resetting/reinstalling it.
    This guide seems right for Vista and Windows 7:
    Repair TCP/IP Stack in Windows Vista | Owen Consulting - IT & Web support for Small Businesses
    Though last I did it (with WinXP) it was more like this guide:
    Reseting Windows Winsock Tcp/IP Stack
    I'd give it a try in your situation. :I
     
  3. ptsigas

    ptsigas New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    hey thanks for the reply! gonna try this out and give you the scoop!

    yeah damn i dont know if i mentioned this but Tcp/ip is NOT present for some reason...only ip v4 and v6 but i doubt those are the protocols used to connect.

    ill give the first suggestion a try and the second if needed~!

    yeah a bag of nuts alright....all with WORMS IN THEM!! >< hehe ill get backto ya !
     
  4. ptsigas

    ptsigas New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ok i followed the steps of the first link- it did reset and all that but the tcpip did not appear. so now im going to try the second link! and get back to ya!
     
  5. ptsigas

    ptsigas New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i tried the manual removal method via registry but when i got to the step that says to 'have disk' and select tcp ip to install...well that does not show up on the list.

    the AVG software they have running on that pc expired..the same day this issue happened..

    i just uninstalled the AVG FILTER in the adapter properties and instead of network connections reading "no connection available" it just has a yellow alert stating there is unknown network...

    but for some reason i cant find this tcp ip business to install!

    i tried another suggestion off another forum - to no luck.

    all of it ofcourse is greatly appreciated!

    final step - the dreaded REFORMAT!! woooO!!! only issue is right now im dead tired. gonna get this going after the gym in the morning.

    anyhoot ill keep post. take care!
     
  6. Neshi

    Neshi HH's cuddly Blue Bear

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2005
    Messages:
    5,225
    Likes Received:
    441
    Trophy Points:
    108
    you haven't got a system restore to a specific time of when you are sure everything worked how its supposed to?
    I'd try that before a reformat..
     

Share This Page

visited