No sound on Windows 7 x64 RC1

Discussion in 'Bug Reports' started by Temragon, Jun 12, 2009.

  1. Temragon

    Temragon Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2007
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    UPDATE: Sound works fine when using only 2gb. (Not a solution, though)

    Simple problem: It acts like the driver is not recieving any sound activity on any channel but AC97/Mic

    The driver is starting correctly, UAC is off, and kxmixer is set to Vista SP2 (Tried SP1 and vanilla too) compatibilty.

    Unlike Vista x64, which functionally works but will not load configs, this will load saved configs just fine.


    The issue is easily reproducable for me:

    DSP editor, two components.
    1x ProFX SRC
    1x Peak
    (Connected)

    Mic is plugged in.
    Music is playing on FXBus 2/3 (or 4/5, or 6/7. Master Mixer cannot be selected)

    AC97 Mic will show mic input.
    No other setting will show any activity on the Peak.
    Also tried FXBus, FXBusX, Prolog, and Prologlt - Only mic input showed any activity.




    Here's the configuration listed in the mixer's About option
    Code:
     
    ----Hardware / Software configuration---------------
    Driver Name:kX Audio Driver (Debug)
    Driver Date: Apr 24 2009 03:02:07
    Driver Version: 5.10.00.3546 - debug
    DB Name:none
    SB0102 10k1 [e880]
    PCI Information: 
    Device: 21102 Subsys: 80641102 ChipRev: 7
    Card has MPU device
    Card model is '5.1'
    Card HAS AC97 codec
        Codec name: EMicro UNKNOWN (4328)
        3D Extension: No 3D Stereo Enhancement
        Codec is 2.0 compliant
        Capabilities[140]     :
        DAC resolutions  : -16-bit- -18-bit-
        ADC resolutions  : -16-bit- -18-bit-
        Ext Capabilities [280]: -PCM surround DAC- -slot/DAC mappings-
    Port: e880 Irq: 0x7(7)
    Playback buffer: 20a0
    Record buffer: 4000
    Number of AC3 buffers: 4
    Tank memory: 256 kb
    GSIF buffer: 256 samples
    OS version: [2 6 0 Service Pack 2; 2 6 0 Service Pack 2; 156 148]
    ----------------------------------------------------
     
    
    Motherboard is a Asus P5Q.
    CPU is a Core 2 Quad Q6600
    8gb DDR2 Ram
     
    Last edited: Jun 16, 2009
  2. Tanaka5

    Tanaka5 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Re : No sound on Windows 7 x64 RC1

    Same problem for me, no sound at all and WinMM subsystem error.

    Any solutions ?

    Thanks
     
  3. xbvl3vosrs

    xbvl3vosrs New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    hum... I got the same situation.
    but no solutions Orz.

    the same Q6600 and Asus P5K , 4GB Ram.
     
  4. Temragon

    Temragon Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2007
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Re: Re : No sound on Windows 7 x64 RC1

    What motherboard and how much ram?

    Trying to see if we all have something in common.
     
  5. Tanaka5

    Tanaka5 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Re : No sound on Windows 7 x64 RC1

    Motherboard : Asus P5VD2-MX
    Ram : 2 Go DDR2-800 DDR2 SDRAM
     
  6. Temragon

    Temragon Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2007
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Re: Re : No sound on Windows 7 x64 RC1

    And your mic shows input (And can be wired to output, so you can hear it)?

    If so, the obvious connection is the Asus P5* boards. But what in particular.
     
  7. Tanaka5

    Tanaka5 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Re : No sound on Windows 7 x64 RC1

    Sorry but I don't understand what you said :oops:

    I have just installed the Kx 3538m, after the reboot, an error appear saying that it cannot initializing audio card. Nevertheless, my sound card is well detected. :rolleyes:
     
  8. Tyrsonswood

    Tyrsonswood HH's curmudgeon

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2008
    Messages:
    13,800
    Likes Received:
    1,599
    Trophy Points:
    138
    Are you running a 64 bit OS? 3538m is 32 bit, I doubt that's going to work.
     
  9. Temragon

    Temragon Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2007
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Re: Re : No sound on Windows 7 x64 RC1

    Tyrsonswood is right. You need to use the x64 beta version posted in the main forum, if you're on W7x64.

    This is a very specific problem, and I'm trying to nail it down so the dev can hopefully fix it, if it is a kx issue, or so I can rectify if it isn't. This is all that is keeping me from switching to 7.
     
  10. xbvl3vosrs

    xbvl3vosrs New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    hey Temragon,
    I think the reason is more than 2GB of memory, do you have time to try to adjust the memory to less then 2GB ?
     
  11. Tanaka5

    Tanaka5 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Re : No sound on Windows 7 x64 RC1

    I'm using a 32bit OS. I have tried 3538m and 3538l, but same problem for both of them.
     
  12. Temragon

    Temragon Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2007
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    I have four dimms with 2gb each. I can go down to one temporarily.

    But note it works on vista sp1 x64, which is my main os, with only the 10k1 master mixer issue.

    [Edit] Well that sucks. It works with 2gb.
    Must be something about 7's memory management that eugene didn't count for.

    This is only about the x64 driver (It's separate), you should start your own thread.
     
    Last edited: Jun 16, 2009
  13. krylko

    krylko New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have the same problem with Windows 7 x64 RC and the x64 release of kX. My configuration is as follows:
    MoBo: Gigabyte GA-MA-790X-UDP4
    CPU: AMD Phenom II X2 550 (unlocked to X4, shouldn't make any diff though)
    RAM: 4GB Corsair DDR2 1066MHz

    No sound on any out, except screeching/clicking/popping under Test. I can confirm that dropping back to 2GB of RAM works and I get normal sound. It is likely a memory management issue. Can't think of any workaround really. I guess it would be best for Eugene to try it out (if he has access to) on a Win 7 x64 RC machine with more than 2 gigs of RAM.

    BTW, thanks and kudos to Eugene for making a great evolutionary step in supporting x64 systems.
     
  14. Max M.

    Max M. h/h member-shmember

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Messages:
    2,690
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    63
  15. Temragon

    Temragon Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2007
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Re: Îòâåò: No sound on Windows 7 x64 RC1


    It's not specific, but it is likely two separate (or related, but still separate) issues.

    I can boot this computer into XP 32, and it ALL works (Master Mixer too) with 8gb (4gb effective) ram.

    I can boot it into Vista (x64, sp1) and everything BUT master mixer works (10k1 bug), 8gb ram total

    I can boot it into 7 RC1 (x64) and no system audio works if more than 2gb is in the mobo.


    No changes. No nothing. Just booting into different installations. My goal in these two threads is to narrow it down so it can be more easily fixed.
     
  16. Max M.

    Max M. h/h member-shmember

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Messages:
    2,690
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Îòâåò: No sound on Windows 7 x64 RC1

    It only depends on the only condition - if the memory given by OS to the driver lays below 2GB boundary or not. And that already depends on too many factors (OS, installed hardware/drivers, moon phases etc.) so it renders to be a pure matter of chance.

    kX just does nothing around >2GB problem - so it may work today in either OS but stop working there tomorrow when you change something (install newer video driver for example) and vice versa.

    >No changes. No nothing.

    Differrent OS -> different everything actually (installed drivers, internal hardware resource managment etc. etc. etc.).
    So no - it's nothing specific about 7 RC1 - it's just you're somewhat lucky with your XP/Vista installations.
    (for XP it has a bit better chances to work just because it almost always puts driver memory pools below 2GB limit)
     
    Last edited: Jun 17, 2009
  17. Temragon

    Temragon Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2007
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Re: Îòâåò: No sound on Windows 7 x64 RC1

    >so it renders to be a pure matter of chance.
    This machine hasn't had less than 4gb of ram since I built it. Since I built it, I've run XP and Vista x64 with the kx drivers (With a time on the Creative drivers between xp and this beta).

    Not ONCE has there been a random instance of this happening to me, and I've updated drivers in vista since installing the kx drivers.
    I'll give it to you, though, statistics are a funny thing.

    >Differrent OS -> different everything actually
    Really? I didn't know it magically installed different hardware when I rebooted.
    I wasn't referring to the software at all in that statement, so It's my fault for leaving you another loophole to attempt to set me straight from trying to help out here.

    Additionally, I'm using the same drivers [edit: as vista] for everything that windows doesn't provide for, and OTHER people have been able to use it fine on W7x64 reliably. So there we eliminate (mostly) the additional drivers, and the included drivers from being immediate and obvious suspects.


    TLDR: I can't say you're wrong, but I'm going to condense it to this: I'm seriously trying to trim down the cause of [longstanding or not] issues so they can be fixed. Do you want me to do that, or just pike off?


    Edit: If you want me to continue, then maybe you could suggest how I better go about this? I don't claim to know what's wrong, but I'm not entirely stupid so I may respond well [read: better than this] to constructive suggestions. I'd be glad to work with someone who pays attention to the difference between x86 and x64 in a x64-specific thread.
     
    Last edited: Jun 17, 2009
  18. Max M.

    Max M. h/h member-shmember

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Messages:
    2,690
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Îòâåò: No sound on Windows 7 x64 RC1

    well... i made my post.

    >Do you want me to do that, or just pike off?

    Neither. i just wanted to be sure that you know that Eugene is aware of the problem and he won't fix it in any way until he knows how to do that.
     
    Last edited: Jun 17, 2009
  19. Temragon

    Temragon Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2007
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Re: Îòâåò: No sound on Windows 7 x64 RC1

    If Eugene is aware of the problem and doesn't need any more information to fix it, I'll gladly leave it at that- He surely doesn't need any more clutter to look through.

    As far as my post, I'm sorry that I snapped at you, but I really was just trying to help [edit: because all I had seen on the forums was "what is the deal with 2gb" without any answers and no logical attempts to pin it down]. I'm grateful that he works on these drivers, they ace anything else out there under a couple thousand dollars.
     
  20. RPGWiZaRD

    RPGWiZaRD New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Now I don't have 4GB RAM but if I did I'd start looking around in the Win 7 registry for mem settings that might make it work like in Vista.

    HKLM/System/CurrentControlSet/Control/Session Manager/Memory Management might have some interesting settings. Of course backup your registry if you don't know what you're doing or maybe stay away in that case. :p
     
    Last edited: Jun 17, 2009

Share This Page

visited