Noob guide to 5.1 Surround

Discussion in '3-D Audio' started by beppy, Jan 27, 2006.

  1. beppy

    beppy New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2005
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi guys, I need some help, I really dont understand this DSP thing and dont want to learn it.
    Currently I have 5.1 setup with my X530. I want to get true surround sound, how it was meant to sound.

    When I went to the Efftects -> Surrounder menu and hit 5.1 Direct Path, I noticed the base went missing compared to the 2.1 default. I switched on Surround, and Bass redirection, but the base still doesn't sound up to par with the default.

    What should I do to use my 5.1 setup correctly.

    Also another thing i want to do is just to adjust the volume for my rear channels. I want to increase their volume because my rear speakers are a little further away and i cant really hear them.


    So to summarize i have 2 main questions:
    1. How to setup 5.1 properly (need exact steps on how to do it dont know dsp stuff)
    2. how to increase rear channel volume.

    Thanks in advance guys
     
  2. Maddogg6

    Maddogg6 Tail Razer

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2005
    Messages:
    4,027
    Likes Received:
    26
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Too bad you dont want to learn about the DSP - its the TRUE power of KX.

    If you have discreete output speakers (seperate connector for C/LFE; Front;Rear) Check the 'USE SUBWOOFER OUTPUT' in KX Surrounder.

    If not (Just Front and rear conectors on speakers) -set as 4.1 or Quadro in surrounder

    Also make sure windows SOUND AND AUDIO devices - speaker setup is set to 5.1 (this is what it should be set to no matter what you actually have connected)
     
  3. Russ

    Russ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2005
    Messages:
    5,722
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    48
    On the "Ins and Outs' page of kxmixer, you can adjust the volumes of the individual channels.
     
  4. beppy

    beppy New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2005
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    5.1 doesn't seem to work unless i have surround on. when i have 5.1 direct path, only 2 speakers work. I already chagne the windows configuration for 5.1 setup. And i'm using a divx x movie i downloaded to test out the 5.1. It has AC3 5 channel audio output in that file, but when i have direct path only 2 speakers work.

    i'll look into the subwoofer part later see if it fixes the base problem.
     
  5. Russ

    Russ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2005
    Messages:
    5,722
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Did you see the AC3 Decode popup message from kX when you played the file?
     
  6. beppy

    beppy New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2005
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    nope
     
  7. Maddogg6

    Maddogg6 Tail Razer

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2005
    Messages:
    4,027
    Likes Received:
    26
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Try it a few times - pop-ups seem to not *always* work for me (headphones, speakers - when I plug in a SPDIF input etc..) Even tho - it IS working. Ie - plug in headphones - speakers are muted, but no pop up happened.

    This seems to happen more if the sound device, and I load a DSP settings and then such changes are made. ??
     
  8. Russ

    Russ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2005
    Messages:
    5,722
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Just to clairfy, we are talking about the analog connections, right?
     
  9. Maddogg6

    Maddogg6 Tail Razer

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2005
    Messages:
    4,027
    Likes Received:
    26
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Not sure if this directed to me - but I cought it with analog out (FP headphone) and digital in (FP SPDIF IN) with Platinum drive bay thing.
     
  10. Russ

    Russ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2005
    Messages:
    5,722
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    48
    No, that was for the OP. I just want to verify that he is using the analog jacks and not the digital out (i.e. with a digital receiver), so that we can concentrate on one or the other.
     
  11. Maddogg6

    Maddogg6 Tail Razer

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2005
    Messages:
    4,027
    Likes Received:
    26
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Also - what question is this the aswer to?
     

Share This Page

visited