Offical Show Your Rig Off

Discussion in 'Overclocking, Benching & Modding' started by ReV smokey255, Nov 17, 2004.

  1. blibbax

    blibbax nahm8

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2008
    Messages:
    6,210
    Likes Received:
    203
    Trophy Points:
    73
    No, the i5 isn't unlocked, but it has much better gaming performance out of the box, especially when you consider the price/performance implications of the FX's power consumption (especially when overclocked). You can give the i5 additional turbo bins, too, if you want it to keep up with a highly overclocked FX8150.

    The FX81** series CPUs are typically slower in games than the cheaper FX41** counterparts, or the Phenom II line.

    The following benchmarks compare the FX-8120, FX-4100 and i5-2400. It's a small (10%ish) step up from each of these to the 8150, 4170 and 3550, so I think it's a fair gauge.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    I agree about future upgrades, though. I imagine you will be happy with it at any rate - any modern $190 CPU is plenty for 99% of people.
     
  2. malmental

    malmental System Builder > Hardware Specialist

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2012
    Messages:
    1,589
    Likes Received:
    49
    Trophy Points:
    48
    no offense but you made a bad move getting a Bulldozer...
     
  3. mkk

    mkk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Messages:
    5,334
    Likes Received:
    152
    Trophy Points:
    73
    Today I got around to installing an extra drive and finalised the noise dampening to my main system, recently moved over to a Define R4 case.

    The system:
    [​IMG]

    The cable monster:
    [​IMG]

    Bottom intake before and after sealing it off. The idea is that since I was not going to put a fan there it's best to seal it off for to avoid leaking of noise or dust through that opening. I put a sheet of paper over the area before taping over with white gaffer tape. Using only tape would have made it much harder to remove if I would like to in the future. Tape is also enough material in this situation since whatever noise might go through is going downwards anyway.
    [​IMG] [​IMG]

    Since the 5.25" bay isn't used for anything I stuffed a good amount of open cell foam in there. Fine celled open foam can absorb some of the high pitched noises that mostly come from spinning harddrives and electronics whine. Not showing in the picture I also sealed off this bay behind the front panel with another paper/tape combo. That to avoid having dust find its way in there. Some dust gets everywhere eventually anyway, but it was easy enough to do.
    [​IMG]

    Some foam with adhesive backing that I had left from older builds, easy to put a bit here and there to absorb some of those high pitched noises. Just be careful to put such material so that it doesn't get in the way of anything. Measure - mockup - put in place.
    [​IMG]

    Even if these Fractal Design Define R4 side panels have a thick coating of a heavy bitumen mix, there was plenty of space left to add some foam over the harddrive area on top. There was not enough free space left on the back panel to do the same there, but every bit helps when those sounds bounce around in the case trying to find a way out.
    [​IMG]

    My little helper when it comes to taking photos with an inexpensive camera when there's not much light. Makes it easier for the camera to focus and avoids it having to overdo the flash all the time.
    [​IMG]
     
  4. sahara_mafia

    sahara_mafia member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2009
    Messages:
    3,960
    Likes Received:
    117
    Trophy Points:
    88
    nice work mkk
     
  5. malmental

    malmental System Builder > Hardware Specialist

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2012
    Messages:
    1,589
    Likes Received:
    49
    Trophy Points:
    48
    now here's the MYTH BUSTER..
    HEAT...
    I run my i5-3570K with a $25 CPU HS/F (cooler), I'm using a CM TX3 with dual 92mm fans.
    today it's almost 75F outside and around the same in the actual room.
    right now I'm idling @ 22C...
    my i5-2500K with CM Gemin II idled @ 28C.

    yes the CM Gemin II is a downflow (cools board and VRM) and the TX3 is a side-blowing cooler but I'm just making note of the temps...

    [​IMG]
     
  6. OmegaRED

    OmegaRED Relapsed Gamer

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2002
    Messages:
    5,704
    Likes Received:
    186
    Trophy Points:
    73
    Wow I didn't even recognize the R4 in white, that is really taking silence seriously. I like that! I take it you were pleased with the grommets for the hard drives. I wish Fractal had blocked the bottom fan slot like they did the top and side panel seems like a misstep on their part (perhaps you can buy the foam separately). I notice the vid card isn't exactly as powerful as the cpu, what's the purpose of this PC? I imagine with so many 2TB's there's some movies on there do you have it in the bedroom as a PC/HTPC?
     
  7. mkk

    mkk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Messages:
    5,334
    Likes Received:
    152
    Trophy Points:
    73
    Thanks guys.
    I was lucky to buy these four Samsung 2TB 5400 RPM drives before last years manufacturing issues, the last of them I pounced on when the news brake. So I have at least one more in there than I really need, which is about how it should be. ;) I spend almost all time doing everything, like gaming on this build (holding off graphics card upgrade until I start playing more demanding games) but since the drives are pretty quiet and I don't run a big network at home I felt I might as well put them into this main system. I have to other builds working, one of spare parts that went into my old Define R3 case, and a Mini-ITX toy-system that I've brought to the last few LAN parties. But I haven't had a need for networking them together, so I'm mostly on this one-for-all system. They're also not as super quiet as this system anyway. Once you've reached a certain level there's no going back there.

    A good number of years ago I got me a big CM Stacker 810 server-size case that I thought would pretty much be the one main case for many years to come. But as it was all aluminium even down to the frame itself, it ended up schooling me good on vibrational noise and resonance. :p The key as always with a quiet build is certainly to get parts that aren't too bad to begin with, and then dampen whatever is left to deal with as close to the source as possible. The best pre-installed drive grommets are the ones in certain Antec models like the P180, being made of thick and soft silicone. I found the grommets in Fractal Define's R3 case to be not quite as good but good enough for less heavily vibrating 5400 RPM drives. At least as long as one does not turn the fastening screws too tightly, compressing the softness factor out of the grommets. With that in mind when moving over to the Define R4 (which has slightly thicker grommets btw) I opted to use only two screws per drive and turn them just until I felt a solid resistance. This system will neither be shipped or travel to a LAN anyway. Also it felt to me like this new drive cage is also sturdier, in spite of being removable. Every bit helps.

    But even with vibrations solved I wouldn't put 7200 RPM drives in this system, for their inherent high pitched motor noise.
     
  8. Trusteft

    Trusteft HH's Asteroids' Dominator

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2004
    Messages:
    22,340
    Likes Received:
    2,488
    Trophy Points:
    153
    mkk, all that foam basically kills any airflow towards the HDDs. Are you not worried about the temperature of the HDDs?
     
  9. OmegaRED

    OmegaRED Relapsed Gamer

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2002
    Messages:
    5,704
    Likes Received:
    186
    Trophy Points:
    73
    Theres 2 140mm fan positions at the front of the case to cool the drives, I'm guessing those aren't blocked as that would cook the drives.
     
  10. blibbax

    blibbax nahm8

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2008
    Messages:
    6,210
    Likes Received:
    203
    Trophy Points:
    73
    Most drives will actually operate fairly well in a totally enclosed space afaik.
     
  11. mkk

    mkk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Messages:
    5,334
    Likes Received:
    152
    Trophy Points:
    73
    The case has a big centered intake in the front where the two 140mm fans draw air into the case, and the drives are the first thing in that path. They're actually unnecessarily well cooled, but that's where the intake is anyway.
    [​IMG]
    Image borrowed from LegitReviews.
     
  12. Nicu Balmus

    Nicu Balmus Сказочный долбоёб

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Messages:
    410
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    28
    I know...It's horrible...
    [​IMG]

    I'm a student and I don't have the money for a new case and other PC components...some of the components died. I had 3 HDDs, 1 SSD, 1 videocard, 1 good PSU (all died) and the newer case (Antec 900) I gave it to my sister :)

    All this components died due my home's electrical system short circuit when was a storm. That's really sad for me...:(
     
    Last edited: Oct 27, 2012
  13. mkk

    mkk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Messages:
    5,334
    Likes Received:
    152
    Trophy Points:
    73
    That's unfortunate. By the way, that motherboard isn't running lying down straight onto the metal of the side panel, right? Just checking. :)
     
  14. sahara_mafia

    sahara_mafia member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2009
    Messages:
    3,960
    Likes Received:
    117
    Trophy Points:
    88
    if ur stuff died that means ur earthing is not proper or is wrong some where
    being a student is no excuse coz u need to be creative bro
    i was there in early years i took a wood board and mounted every thing on it
    and psu do not die i have repaired a tone of psu it is just the fuse that is blown it is rare case where a capacitor or mos fat need to be changed and the psu will be working good as new
     
  15. BWX

    BWX get out and ride

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2002
    Messages:
    19,684
    Likes Received:
    62
    Trophy Points:
    73
    LOL now I know what you meant in the other thread.. haha.. Didn't get an email update and never checked back in this threed till today.

    So yeah.. I've been looking at a lot of different benchmarks, etc.. Seems lke for many many games, when maxed out at 1080p with aa and af and ultra filtering, etc, the cpu isn't even the bottleneck. I guess that's why I'm running F1 2012 with 16xFXAA and forced 16xAF all maxed out 1080p with v-sync, with no slow-downs or stuttering.. at stock speeds because it has more to do with the video card, and my GTX 670 is fast as F$%^. ..but I guess eventually I'll run a game that's a CPU hog and optimized for other than AMD FX 8 core CPU and I'll see a difference.

    I loaded up Crysis2 and it's running that all maxed out, Far cry 2, same.. Just starting to run benchmarks and thinking about OC'ing, etc.

    http://www.3dmark.com/3dm11/4786413

    Seems to be doing "ok".. for now.


     
  16. blibbax

    blibbax nahm8

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2008
    Messages:
    6,210
    Likes Received:
    203
    Trophy Points:
    73
    I don't think you'll get to a situation where the FX is unacceptable where an i5 would have been acceptable for a few years, unless you run a lot of mods or similar. But that's an argument in favour of Pentium dual cores, not FXs :p
     
  17. BWX

    BWX get out and ride

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2002
    Messages:
    19,684
    Likes Received:
    62
    Trophy Points:
    73
    Yeah and by that time I'll probably upgrade mobo/ram/CPU/video card again anyway, but maybe just the CPU if that's possible at the time, and if that's the only problem.

    I have to get some pics of my rig though..
     
  18. CDsDontBurn

    CDsDontBurn AMD & Petrol Heads Mod

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    25,596
    Likes Received:
    476
    Trophy Points:
    123
    I'll be posting my stuff up in here in about a month or so. :D
     
  19. malmental

    malmental System Builder > Hardware Specialist

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2012
    Messages:
    1,589
    Likes Received:
    49
    Trophy Points:
    48
    I have to tighten up my cable management before I take pics again.
    they are decent now but I have seen some rigs that gave me modding and cabling ideas.
     
  20. stanley3

    stanley3 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1

Share This Page

visited