Offical Show Your Rig Off

Discussion in 'Overclocking, Benching & Modding' started by ReV smokey255, Nov 17, 2004.

  1. Lelisevis

    Lelisevis Howlin at the moon

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2003
    Messages:
    1,629
    Likes Received:
    49
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Nice Rig Zaim. Running fairly similar specwise to me. Trouble i've got is the second GTS card. My OCZ 700W can't handle it all. I've pinpointed it as PSU as if I take out 3 hard-drives it's absolutely fine and runs 24/7, plug the hard-drives back in and I get unstable voltage warnings from the mobo when gaming or benching. Time for a new PSU methinks (I just need to convince the missus it's essential). I quite fancy a new case too while im at it:).
     
  2. Mousey

    Mousey HH's Official Rodent

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,902
    Likes Received:
    510
    Trophy Points:
    138
    somehow i don't think the missus gives half a left nut about your'e voltage warnings xD
    my parents couldn't give 2 and a half sweaty f*cks about my rig... as long as i'm paying for the parts lol
     
  3. Lelisevis

    Lelisevis Howlin at the moon

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2003
    Messages:
    1,629
    Likes Received:
    49
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yeah I need to put some sort of spin on it like 'listen honey i'd be able to wordprocess your wedding lists SOOO much quicker with a new PSU'. Lmao on second thoughts I might need to think this one through a bit more:rofl:.
     
  4. Mousey

    Mousey HH's Official Rodent

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,902
    Likes Received:
    510
    Trophy Points:
    138
    "Honey i can do the online shopping so much faster with a new PSU, it'll be safer as well because our details won't be left hovering in cyber space during a power failure from this one being overloaded" ?
    just a suggestion ;p
     
  5. Necrosis

    Necrosis Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2002
    Messages:
    8,794
    Likes Received:
    111
    Trophy Points:
    73
    Say it comes w/ a free kitten.
     
  6. Mousey

    Mousey HH's Official Rodent

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,902
    Likes Received:
    510
    Trophy Points:
    138
    why the hell didn't i think of that???
    Goddamn dude, genius :hmm:
     
  7. Lelisevis

    Lelisevis Howlin at the moon

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2003
    Messages:
    1,629
    Likes Received:
    49
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Damn it I failed.....I told her it came with some free pussy and she slapped my face.

    On a more serious note i've just ordered a thermaltake toughpower 850W. I 'll put some updated pics up when it arrives. I'd never touch an OCZ product again.
     
  8. Mousey

    Mousey HH's Official Rodent

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,902
    Likes Received:
    510
    Trophy Points:
    138
    lmfao, free pussy?!?!? WHERE?!?!!??! ;p
     
  9. BiGBrOwNPimpsta

    BiGBrOwNPimpsta HH's #1 Hustla and Pimp

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Messages:
    7,753
    Likes Received:
    62
    Trophy Points:
    58
    here's a crapload of pics so 1mbps warning (yes, not a 56k warning haha)

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Jun 26, 2007
  10. procupine14

    procupine14 Why is it Beeping!?!?!

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,396
    Likes Received:
    39
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Nice system
     
  11. >GSXR<mrbusa

    >GSXR<mrbusa MY BIKE vvv

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2004
    Messages:
    2,113
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Is there no way to move the soundcard from being directly under your GPU?
    I would also separate the hardrives or at least separate one of them.
    Nice system.
    For some reason I was expecting your living environment to be full of mirrors and have a big disco ball dangling from the ceiling.

    EDIT: I just looked at your boards layout. I would swap the TV card with the location of the soundcard. They really need to eliminate PCI all together and give us at least three 1x slots on the bottom of the boards.
    I will be running into the same issue when my other card arrives. I might just go with my onboard sound once I go Sli because I only use headphones now anyhow.
     
    Last edited: Jun 26, 2007
  12. Lelisevis

    Lelisevis Howlin at the moon

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2003
    Messages:
    1,629
    Likes Received:
    49
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm with you on that one, with 2 8800GTS in my system I don't have one other useable slot. It's beyond stupid for a high performance gaming mobo to not even have a slot for a soundcard. Onboard sound is almost unusable due to driver issues so im screwed.
     
  13. procupine14

    procupine14 Why is it Beeping!?!?!

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,396
    Likes Received:
    39
    Trophy Points:
    58
    really these days whats the point of even putting slots between the SLI slots on a high end gaming board. Most likely if its a high end board the GFX cards in there will take up two slots anyway
     
  14. BiGBrOwNPimpsta

    BiGBrOwNPimpsta HH's #1 Hustla and Pimp

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Messages:
    7,753
    Likes Received:
    62
    Trophy Points:
    58
    you are saying to move the sound card up because it will interfere with cooling the video card? and if they put more pci-x x1 slots, my pci cards would not be abled to be used haha. the market needs to upgrade to pci express god what is taking so long?

    i should of bought a 680i board, had SLi for a bit better layout
     
  15. Mousey

    Mousey HH's Official Rodent

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,902
    Likes Received:
    510
    Trophy Points:
    138
    the reason the market won't switch completely to pci-e yet is because manufacturers have seen there's still money to be made from AGP :)
    (even if it just from porting PCI-E cards but i'm happy with that)
     
  16. BiGBrOwNPimpsta

    BiGBrOwNPimpsta HH's #1 Hustla and Pimp

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Messages:
    7,753
    Likes Received:
    62
    Trophy Points:
    58
    AGP easily gets owned by pci express, so all games/graphics card manufacturers are using it now. but pci-x adoption over pci has been extremely slow. i dont know how much more it costs to produce but eh

    hows the wiring job you guys? fairly clean? sound is still awesome with my x-fi lol
     
  17. sbrehm72255

    sbrehm72255 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2003
    Messages:
    280
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I haven't updated my system pics in about a year now, so I figure it's about time as I've completely rebuilt the system over the past few months. I've still got a few more small updates to go (video and Quad C2), but they may take a while longer.


    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  18. BiGBrOwNPimpsta

    BiGBrOwNPimpsta HH's #1 Hustla and Pimp

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Messages:
    7,753
    Likes Received:
    62
    Trophy Points:
    58
    looks lik a 1950s robot
     
  19. sbrehm72255

    sbrehm72255 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2003
    Messages:
    280
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    As long as it keeps my system cool so I can get some of the top OC's for my CPU type, I'm happy.................:eek: And on top of that, I like the way it looks...........:evil: , if I didn't I wouldn't have built it, besides, the case was a free review sample.............:D
     
  20. Lowfat

    Lowfat Xtreme

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2003
    Messages:
    4,246
    Likes Received:
    72
    Trophy Points:
    0
    PCI-X will never replace PCI, as PCI-X is generally only used for the server market. If you meant PCIe, i agree it is going very slow :(
     

Share This Page

visited