Official ATI 3DMARK03 thread!

Discussion in 'Overclocking, Benching & Modding' started by WyreTheWolf, Feb 11, 2003.

  1. HsuGotaQ

    HsuGotaQ Hydrogenated Dumbass

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    755
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I get 849 with a software bloated WinXP system on my AIW 8500 DV (5ns ram) o/c @ 250MHz/400MHz. I got 802 when my card was at the default speed of 230MHz/380MHz. I can't do any of the sound tests seemingly because of the KX drivers, but I really don't care about that because the kX drivers are a sh*t lot better than creatives. My 2 cents.
     
  2. MSX

    MSX Burning the frozen...

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2002
    Messages:
    1,165
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ok, so I ran it again. Clean windows, jsut installed the basics SP1, DX9, my drivers and 3dmark. That's it. Then I get a lower score. 4295... Not by much but still I find it a little odd. I rebooted again you know just to make sure, and closed all non needed processes and it went up by 2 marks...

    I find this odd to say the least. So I went back to my old partition and same bench and recieved 4304... So somethign tells me that 2003 does not have as stable as a marking system... given the bigger scale I'm not sure why this would be happening.

    While I do commend it for staying fairly stable even with processes running, as it's shown itself to run off the graphics card, I believe its a little while random. Anyone else have this happening to them? Inconsistant scores?

    MSX
     
  3. Candyman

    Candyman [DH] Lover!

    Joined:
    May 6, 2002
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    4574 here.

    Default driver setting and no overclock on the VPU.


    Specs are below.
     
  4. Renegade[CSR]

    Renegade[CSR] New Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2002
    Messages:
    396
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    4282 Default settings on my 9700 Pro

    4812 with clocks at 380/350

    Compare link for second score:http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k3=26207

    Specs:
    AMD Athlon XP 1700+@2000+ (1639 mhz)
    Radeon 9700 Pro
    640 MB Pc2100 DDR ram
    MSI K7T266a Pro2
     
  5. scobywhru

    scobywhru DriverHeaven Senile Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2002
    Messages:
    619
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    5010 With some Overclocking
    Athlon XP 4 1800+ @ 1.725ghz 150mhz FSB
    Radeon 9700 393mhz Clock 349mhz RAM DDR
     
  6. DriveEuro

    DriveEuro New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2002
    Messages:
    4,677
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Scobywhru...........is that a Radeon 9700Pro ....... or non pro?
     
  7. scobywhru

    scobywhru DriverHeaven Senile Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2002
    Messages:
    619
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Sorry Forgot to say that its a Pro ;)
     
  8. Dyre Straits

    Dyre Straits 10 Grandkids -2 Great-grandsons

    Joined:
    May 13, 2002
    Messages:
    19,153
    Likes Received:
    2,021
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Last edited: Feb 12, 2003
  9. Roadee

    Roadee Never forgotten

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2002
    Messages:
    2,198
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
  10. Dyre Straits

    Dyre Straits 10 Grandkids -2 Great-grandsons

    Joined:
    May 13, 2002
    Messages:
    19,153
    Likes Received:
    2,021
    Trophy Points:
    153

    Well, here's something very interesting: If I click your Score Link to Compare with mine, it appears that your system whips mine in nearly every important category. YET, I get 600 points overall better than you.

    Something's not right.


    Dyre Straits
     
  11. Dyre Straits

    Dyre Straits 10 Grandkids -2 Great-grandsons

    Joined:
    May 13, 2002
    Messages:
    19,153
    Likes Received:
    2,021
    Trophy Points:
    153
    I've gotten 2056 and 2068 respectively on the tests so far.

    HOWEVER, I have a gut feeling that something's amiss in the score calculation. When I compare my score with others of similar computer specs and GPU, theirs tend to outperform mine in every category except the Flight Sim. BUT, I've only seen the VERY FIRST flight sim test ONCE. On that one, my test score was more in line with what the others are getting.

    What I DO see when the test doesn't run is just a black screen but that produces a false HIGH score for the test.

    I think the benchmark has a bug as it stands right now.


    Dyre Straits
     
  12. digitalwanderer

    digitalwanderer Colour Commentator

    Joined:
    May 8, 2002
    Messages:
    5,619
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My turn.

    Bubbles with GF3 (240/530) 1069, Blue with 8500 (275/275) 849. :eek: What do you think I'd get if I swap cards around? Or try the GF4 in Bubbles that will be swinging thru here next week?

    EDITED BITS: For comparison, Bubbles was getting 7100 in 3dm2k1se & Blue about 5800 at the same settings.
     
  13. Alpha Male

    Alpha Male New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2002
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have noticed that with 3dmark03, the speed of your CPU doesn't matter that much except for game test 1.

    Game tests 2, 3 and 4 rely more on the vertex and pixel shaders of your graphics cards than on CPU speed.

    I have seen an Athlon 2000XP with a 9700pro get a score of 4500
    and have seen P4 3Ghz with a 9700pro get a score of 4800

    both of the above systems and graphic cards were not overclocked.

    but I have seen a lot of mid power CPUs like 2Ghz get a score of 5000 to 6000 when running with a radeon 9700pro that has been overclocked very high.
     
  14. Dyre Straits

    Dyre Straits 10 Grandkids -2 Great-grandsons

    Joined:
    May 13, 2002
    Messages:
    19,153
    Likes Received:
    2,021
    Trophy Points:
    153
    I have just confirmed my 'gut feeling' mentioned above.

    Once again I started the test and it failed to give me a screen of the first test. I ESCaped the test and restarted it.

    This time it DID run the test on the screen and my final score was 1151 -- much more like those with like systems are getting.

    So, there's definitely a 'bug' in this version in that, if the first test doesn't actually produce a screen it will give a 'false high score' for it.


    Dyre Straits
     
  15. Dane Sabbath

    Dane Sabbath ***** Viking

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2002
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  16. Rayder

    Rayder Mostly lurking lately....

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2002
    Messages:
    2,296
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    58
    I got a 1323. Specs are below. I couldn't get to the result browser to upload it though.
     
  17. dipstick

    dipstick New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2002
    Messages:
    3,609
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I've been able to push it up to 5238 but I still can't submit nothing. It's gonna be a long time before I run this one again, I don't really like it.
     
  18. Furious

    Furious I'm blind not deaf!!

    Joined:
    May 14, 2002
    Messages:
    260
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Got a lttle more with some tweaking. Up to 5141 now.
     
  19. DriveEuro

    DriveEuro New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2002
    Messages:
    4,677
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  20. Asmoday

    Asmoday Demonic

    Joined:
    May 18, 2002
    Messages:
    5,157
    Likes Received:
    41
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Here's my humble result.. 3dmark
     

Share This Page

visited